Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Can you move your Office to a new PC?

By Steve Alexander






JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) QUESTION: I recently purchased a new PC for my daughter, and I'd like to move Microsoft Office 2007 from her old PC to her new one. I have the product key (a number code needed to install Microsoft software), but I can't find a way to download Office 2007. As an alternative, I still have the software key and licensing rights to install Microsoft Office 2010 Professional on another PC, but I can't find where to download it, either. What can I do?

—Brad Kaus, Eagan, Minn.

ANSWER: The most practical solution is to download Microsoft Office 2010 Professional at http://tinyurl.com/kkprrr6. This is a trial version that works for only 30 days unless it's unlocked with a software key, which you have.

You also can download Office 2007 from Microsoft by entering your product key at http://tinyurl.com/cus2at. But because Microsoft no longer provides updates for Office 2007, reusing it is less desirable.

There also is a potential licensing problem in reusing Office 2007. If the software came preinstalled on the old PC, it can't be moved to a new one.

Q: I wrote on a desktop PC for years, but now need a light, portable computer with a reliable, good-feeling keyboard for when I'm not at my desk. I've looked at laptops, notebooks and tablets with attachable keyboards, but I'm not sure what to buy. I primarily use the computer for email, Internet research and intensive writing. Also, I know nothing about Windows 8 or other technical issues. Do you have any suggestions?

—Marc Mogil, Sunny Isles Beach, Fla.

A: For accuracy and reliability, you need a physical keyboard, not a virtual keyboard on a tablet screen or one of the flimsy add-on keyboards sold for use with tablet computers. While a desktop computer offers the best keyboard (the keys are large and spaced far enough apart that you're unlikely to hit one key when you mean to hit another), the keyboard on a larger laptop also works well for typing once you get used to it.


I'd avoid Windows 8, which can be difficult to use. Dell still sells Windows 7 laptops; see "Windows 7 Deals" on Dell's website, at http://tinyurl.com/os2j4ud.

Q: You recently suggested four free Windows PC security programs. Can you direct me to that column? I just bought a tablet computer, and didn't think about adding security software.

—Claudia Flatland, Menomonie, Wis.

A: The column can be found at http://tinyurl.com/ptlgn9t. But those PC programs won't work on tablets, which use different operating system software.

For Google Android tablet security software, see the offerings on the Google Play website, at http://tinyurl.com/jvksqsw. For Apple iPad software, go to the iTunes store and search for "iPad security app."

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Buying the latest gadget poses risk
How long will a backup drive keep working?; more
Social media and small business legal guide
A good drive can help transfer data between computers; more
Brokering a truce between McAfee, Malwarebytes; no need to subject yourself to Windows 8
Problem with my wireless PC mouse; Skype less of a threat than it seems
When pop-up ads go wild, it may be a virus
IPhone quirks can be costly for your contact list; more on alternatives to having a wired telephone line
Options for ditching your phone line
Why Wi-Fi is speedier than Internet
Watching TV via Internet, Wi-Fi and dish
Blocked eventhough not a spammer; Documents icon disappeared from Windows Vista PC Desktop; more
How to get info removed from Google
Which TV system for digital age?
The mystery of the disappearing email; reader didn't follow directions
Readers react to discount phone furor
Turning back your PC's clock from Windows 8 to Windows 7; de-hijacking your browser
T-Mobile customer was counting on discounted phone
Making files play nice with Media Player; Syncing online and local Outlook
Cellphone won't stream live sports anymore; Hotmail v. Outlook
Getting video calling to work on Facebook; Adobe Digital Editions e-reader
Wilderness Internet is costly, slow; Windows Vista Service Pack 2 problems
She can't send e-mail but still receives it; laptop loses wifi connection when asleep
Push to talk aboard ship; retrieve deleted text messages from an iPhone, when on and off
Using email to send iPad text messages; photo recovery program for camera card that has become corrupt
How to avoid getting more spam e-mail
How to solve PC problems from afar; import old e-mails into the Thunderbird e-mail program
Apple iPad ready to travel
How to add software to a diskless PC
Connecting a new PC to an older printer



© 2013,Star Tribune (Minneapolis) Distributed by MCT Information Services

Quantcast