Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 9, 2013/ 12 Tishrei, 5774

Our moral leader? Obama's actions undermine his stance

By Star Parker




JewishWorldReview.com | Whether we are talking about respect for a nation or for an individual, nothing undermines respect more than duplicity -- saying one thing and acting differently.

I think it is a big reason why President Barack Obama's Tuesday speech to the nation, in which he attempted to explain why he has proposed military action in Syria, fell so flat.

The president cast his rationale for taking action in moral terms; he said a targeted strike against Syria would warn against the future use of poison gas, which killed 1,429 people in an Aug. 21 attack. But the very dubious moral record that this president has established, both regarding the sanctity of life and traditional moral principles, seriously undermines his credibility for moral leadership.

Obama called President Bashar Assad's use of poisonous gas against "a thousand people -- including hundreds of children" a "crime against humanity."

He argued that "when, with modest effort and risk, we can stop children from being gassed to death, and thereby make our own children safer in the long run, I believe we should act. That's what makes America different."

But, sadly, under this president's leadership, America is not different. And this credibility gap badly hurts our country's moral credibility at home and abroad.

Earlier this year, Obama became the first sitting president to address Planned Parenthood, the largest abortion provider in America. He concluded his remarks to that group the same way he concluded his address to the nation about Syria, saying, "God bless you."

How can a president who appeals for God's blessing for America's largest abortion provider possibly be credible in justifying American military force abroad because of moral outrage?

If the use of chemicals to destroy children is what bothers this president, why does it not bother him that a growing percentage of abortions done in our nation are chemically induced using drugs? The most common is RU486, which became legal in 2000.

In 2008, according to a report in the New England Journal of Medicine, 32 percent of the early-term abortions performed in Planned Parenthood clinics, for which our president seeks God's blessing, were done using these abortion-inducing drugs.

Abortion-inducing drugs are included along with contraception that employers are mandated to provide free to employees under "Obamacare," the health reform law formally known as the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

In June, a bill was introduced in the House of Representatives -- sponsored by Rep. Trent Franks, R-Ariz., with 184 co-sponsors -- that would make abortion illegal after 20 weeks (five months). The legislation is called the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act.

The bill includes this language: "By 8 weeks after fertilization, the unborn child reacts to touch. After 20 weeks, the unborn child reacts to stimuli that would be recognized as painful if applied to an adult human, for example, by recoiling."

The Obama administration wasted no time in issuing a statement noting opposition to this legislation and indicating, "If the president were presented with this legislation, his senior advisers would recommend that he veto this bill."

Perhaps abstract arguments can take place regarding the status of the unborn child in very early stages of pregnancy. But after five months, as the pregnancy enters the third trimester, the living, human status of the unborn child is clear and obvious. It takes a true moral callousness to deny this.

This president not only sits by and allows wanton murder of unborn children. He supports and endorses it, using dubious arguments about women's health and "reproductive rights."

The light of liberty cannot shine if it is not fueled by the light of consistent moral principle.

That light has been flickering in recent years. Children born and unborn, have been innocent victims in our own country. When this is happening at home, how can we expect to exercise moral judgment or command moral credibility and respect abroad?

We can't. And we need to wake up that this is the core problem from which we suffer today.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Star Parker is an author and president of CURE, Center for Urban Renewal and Education.



Previously:


09/02/13 To build black wealth, change policies
08/26/13 March on Washington 2013 brings liberal distortion
08/19/13 Pastors must take back civil rights movement
08/12/13 Somehow those who brought us tthe ObamaCare nightmare are the moderates?
08/05/13 History will record that those who refused to 'compromise' today were not only stubborn but visionaries
07/29/13 A magnificent economic miracle has occurred during Obama's presidency
07/22/13 Free to succeed or: Stop picking on Wal-Mart!
07/15/13 Ex-Dem can express what GOP, U.S. need
07/08/13 Confused country: That place called America
07/01/13 Same-sex marriage is war on religion
06/24/13 Abortion: We're still having a hard time with words
06/17/13 Why 2 black Republicans switched parties
06/10/13 Kill Social Security before it kills our seniors
06/03/13 This Lady Liberty hails from New England much to libs' dismay
05/27/13 Suffering indignities from the party I embraced 25 years ago
05/20/13 The ultimate 'pro-choice' irony
05/13/13 Mark Sanford, welcome back to Washington
05/06/13 Planned Parenthood targets black women
04/29/13 Killer instincts: Seniors beware
04/22/13 Philadelphia abortion monster isn't an exception
04/15/13 Making Ben Carson cry 'Uncle' . . . Tom
04/08/13 Gang of 8 illegal alien proposal makes a bad situation even worse
04/01/13 Ending the enforcement of government-funded brainwashing
03/25/13 Pay attention, America, to the pathology for which low-income minority Americans are paying the dearest price
03/18/13 Let Israel trip open President Obama's eyes
03/11/13 The problem are the nuts, not the 'gun nuts'
03/04/13 P reserve gun rights, save black rights
02/25/13 Is the last line of Republican resistance to ObamaCare disintegrating?
02/18/13 Presidential Medal of Freedom winner owes Obama no apology
02/11/13 Does the Republican Party have a future?
02/04/13 Push for gun control misplaces blame
01/28/13 How the GOP can help destroy America
01/21/13 Are MLK's Christian values welcome today?
01/14/13 Roe v. Wade, 40 years later
01/07/13 D.C. is de-tached . . . from reality
12/31/12 Blacks are NRA's natural constituency
12/24/12The lesson of Newtown isn't guns. It's that there are social truths as well as individual truths
12/17/12 We must fight to restore America
12/07/12 Wonderful, innovative, compassionate --- and irresponsibly wrong
12/03/12 The Republican Hispanic challenge
11/26/12 A society in decline: Our definition of marriage should follow process, not principle?
11/19/12 Leadership is about identifying the truth, believing it and telling it in a way that people can grasp
11/11/12 How conservatives can win over blacks and Latinos
11/05/12 Racial divide has worsened under Obama
10/29/12 How trillions are poured down a black hole
10/21/12 Missouri Senate race model for the nation
10/15/12 On the road to 'death panels'
10/08/12 Why the Obama bubble still hasn't burst
10/01/12 To promote freedom abroad, practice it here
09/24/12 A time for truth, not word games
08/20/12 America ready for Paul Ryan's adult conversation
08/13/12 Our economic crisis is a values crisis
08/06/12 Black pastors press Democrats on gay marriage
07/30/12 Is Christianity now un-American?
07/23/12 Entrepreneurs, not politicians, build the nation's prosperity
07/16/12 The new American food stamp plantation
07/09/12 In search of conservative leadership
07/02/12 Light v. darkness in racial politics
06/25/12 Republicans missing chance on education
06/11/12: Raise levels of personal responsibility, not the minimum wage
06/11/12: Free societies soon won't be free if its citizens see freedom as something that should be of responsibility
06/04/12: Americans have become decidedly more pro-life
05/28/12: Booker's comments about Bain, capitalism should not surprise
05/21/12: Obama forcing blacks to make hard choices
05/14/12: Fairness? The struggle in our public spaces is about competing worldviews, not neutrality
05/07/12: Morality and economy are separate universes?
04/30/12: How to keep the poor poor
04/23/12: Obama's real 'stay-at-home mom' problem
04/16/12: Obama makes foul call for economic 'fairness'
04/09/12: GOP's black, Hispanic problem
04/02/12: A wakeup call to a nation still sleeping through a crisis
03/26/12: Supremes to confront new, energetic efforts to undermine the principles upon which this nation stands
03/19/12: Republican race is just getting started
03/12/12: Contraception flap 'defines deviancy down'
03/05/12: Breitbart's final message to the Left
02/27/12: Support for Santorum will grow despite attacks
02/20/12: Libs' recent victories fuel Santorum surge
02/06/12: Memo to Mitt: Whole nation is on government plantation
01/30/12: Obama's vision puts America last
01/23/12: Court ruling on ultrasound law worth celebrating
01/16/12: Capitalism on trial
01/09/12: NAACP plantation masters play race card again
01/02/12: Youths' support for Ron Paul is misplaced
12/26/11: In search of an ambiguous conservative leader
12/19/11: Thank U.S. troops, notably wounded warriors
12/12/11: Land of the envious and home of the victim
12/05/11: Payroll tax ‘cut’ is another welfare scam
11/28/11: Pray every day that America does not lose its way
11/21/11: We're ignoring the Constitution
11/14/11: The central issue of our time will define the 2012 presidential election
11/07/11: Separation of . . . morality and economy?
10/31/11: Every American should listen to Paul Ryan
10/24/11: Disrespect for life and disrespect for property go hand in hand
10/17/11:The right argument for Cain
10/10/11: Occupy Wall Street: More from the culture of narcissism
10/03/11: Why so many blacks continue to fail
09/26/11: So many GOP debates, so few candidate revelations
09/19/11: The the last vestige of the triumph of hope over experience is throwing itself a party. They'll be passing out palms-up portions of pity, but few solutions
09/12/11: I'll defend Perry on Social Security Ponzi scheme
09/05/11: Marco Rubio's Courageous speech
08/28/11: The Steve Jobs/Martin Luther King Jr. Connection
08/19/11: Blacks' dilemma with Obama





© 2013, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast