Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2013/ 7 Tishrei, 5774

Just Say No, Mr. President

By Roger Simon



JewishWorldReview.com | I can still summon from memory the black-and-white film of the B-52s, soaring like enormous birds of prey, opening their belly doors and dropping their tons of bombs upon the people beneath.

We did not own a color TV, but I could see the ripples as the explosions tore the air and earth, and I could imagine how the balls of flame must have looked.

The B-52s, which soon may be used to fire Tomahawk missiles into Syria, were so powerful — their payloads so obliterating — that we had to avoid their use in certain areas of Vietnam because "their potency approached that of a tactical nuclear weapon," wrote war correspondent Neil Sheehan.

Less powerful — but, in a way, more terrible — were the fighter bombers dropping napalm. Napalm canisters were designed to tumble so that their jellied gasoline would splash in long, blazing lines.

The most famous victim of napalm was Kim Phuc, 9 years old, who ran naked down a road, her mouth a gash of pain as she screamed, "Nong qua, nong qua." Too hot, too hot.

Water boils at about 200 degrees. Napalm burns at about 2,000 degrees.

Kim Phuc survived her terrible burns. She lives in Canada today. Her bombing, by our South Vietnamese allies (though U.S. forces used plenty of napalm themselves), was a "mistake." The pilot said Kim looked like an enemy soldier. This made it legal.

It is still legal to drop napalm on soldiers.

Whether dying from sarin is worse than dying from napalm I could not tell you. Had Syrian President Bashar Assad used napalm instead of poison gas, he probably would have crossed no American "red line."



I do not doubt that Assad has murdered children in a terrible fashion.

But I do doubt that our B-52s can bomb him into being a better person.

Our Tomahawk missiles, roughly 3,000 pounds each, are "smart," but not all that smart. We can guide them against military targets, but we cannot guarantee that they won't kill civilians.

So Assad soon could have his own pictures of dead children and white-shrouded figures, but these killed by the good guys, these killed by us.

We have said our attack, if it takes place, will be extremely restricted.

Secretary of State John Kerry said Monday our strike will be an "unbelievably small, limited kind of effort." In other words, it will be a "feel-good" attack, one that allows us to say that we struck a blow against the use of poison gas, that we struck a blow for righteousness.

Others tell me this is not so. Others tell me the president has rejected a "pinprick" response and instead will send missiles crashing into Syria day after day, with our B-52s stopping only to refuel, pick up more missiles and select new targets.

We have a stockpile of about 4,000 Tomahawks in our arsenal. They cost roughly $1 million each. The sequestration has cut back on our meals for schoolchildren, but it won't cut back on our use of Tomahawks. Priorities are priorities.

"The United States is not being the world's policeman," Kerry has said.

On the contrary. The United States is very definitely being the world's policeman. We must bomb far-off countries, not because our national interests are at stake — they are not — but because it is our burden to do so. If we do not bomb, who else will? (Yes, a few other countries will join us, but they will not act if we do not act.)

There used to be something called Vietnam syndrome. It was the belief that Americans had become gun-shy when it came to getting involved in the civil wars of other nations.

Eventually, we got over it. We bombed here and there; we invaded here and there. We were no longer "chicken."

But even when our intentions were good — invading Afghanistan to disrupt and destroy al-Qaida for launching the 9/11 attacks against us — getting in proved so much easier than getting out. We are still in Afghanistan nearly 12 years later, propping up a corrupt regime that lacks popular support. (The same problem we had in Vietnam.)

In Iraq, we lost more than 4,000 U.S. service members. An estimated 100,000 Iraqi civilians were killed. Children were among them. And all for a lie, all for a fantasy. All for weapons of mass destruction that did not exist.

There is now the possibility, floated by Russia, that Syria would give up its chemical weapons to international control. President Barack Obama called this a "potentially positive development" Monday but also said it may just be a stalling tactic, which would not prevent an eventual strike.

"There is a certain weariness, given Afghanistan," Obama did admit recently. "There is a certain suspicion of any military action post-Iraq."

We are weary, Mr. President.

We are suspicious, Mr. President.

Listen to America, Mr. President. And just say no.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.

Roger Simon Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast