Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 5, 2013/ 30 Elul, 5773

Our infected intelligence system

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Despite having, by far, the world's largest and most lavishly funded "intelligence community," we suffered a massive intelligence failure on 9/11/2001 and repeated embarrassment since. The attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon "could have and should have been prevented," Adm. Michael McConnell, then director of national intelligence, told Congress in 2007.

We went to war in Iraq in large part because of the mistaken belief Saddam Hussein's WMD programs were far more robust than in fact they were. We failed to stop the "underwear bomber" in 2009 (even though his father had warned us he was dangerous) or the Boston Marathon bombers this year (even though the Russians had warned us they were dangerous).

Our intel community was surprised by the "Arab Spring," the subsequent Arab winter and the attack on our consulate in Benghazi on 9/11/2012.

How come?

In large part because we have the world's largest and most lavishly funded intelligence community. But before we go there, let's review what it takes to prevent nasty surprises.

Information must be collected on the capabilities and intentions of potential enemies, and analyzed. Could they hurt us? How? Do they want to?

Spy satellites and communications intercepts are great for determining capabilities, but divining intent often requires having our spies recruit people in the target country who know what locals are thinking. Historically, the U.S. has been excellent at technical intelligence, lousy at human intelligence and poor in protecting our secrets and catching their spies.

Some people are better at connecting dots than others. Our record in analysis is spotty. We have some first-rate analysts, more who are not. Intelligence analysis would be better if analysts were paid better, permitted to mix more with academic experts and had more opportunities for career advancement.

When an alarming picture emerges from connected dots, timely and appropriate action must be taken. If it isn't, politicians often describe the result as "intelligence failure" even though it's usually the politicians or their appointees who decide whether and how to respond.

Before the original 9/11, enough dots had been collected by U.S. intelligence agencies -- we have 17 -- to identify most of the bad guys and to indicate what they were up to. "It was an issue of connecting information that was available," Adm. McConnell told the House Judiciary Committee. But analysts couldn't connect the dots because each had access to too few of them.

The CIA had information on terrorists attending flight schools in the United States that it did not share with the FBI until after 9/11, noted the 9/11 Commission and an internal CIA review.

The National Security Agency "knew a great deal about the 9/11 threats and al-Qaida, electronically tracking various people and organizations for years," said former NSA senior executive Thomas Drake. "The problem is, it wasn't sharing all of the data. If it had ... more than likely, NSA could have stopped, I say stopped 9/11."

"What happened on 9/11 was not a failure in the system, it was a system designed for failure," Federal Aviation Administration security expert Bogdan Dzakovic told the 9/11 Commission. FAA leaders "knew the terrorist threat was rising, but gambled nothing would happen if we kept the vulnerability secret."

The "intelligence failure" on 9/11 was a bureaucratic failure. Knowledge is power, which the heads of the various agencies weren't willing to share with rivals.

The first 9/11 happened because our intelligence agencies "were too parochial, compartmented and stove-piped to share information laterally, and because the growth in agencies has for years been in headquarters bureausclerosis, not in line analysts and field agents," a former special forces soldier who blogs as "Weapons Man" wrote after 9/11/2012.

Nothing much has changed. The CIA and Homeland Security had info on Boston's Tsarnaev brothers the FBI claims it never got.

Nothing much has changed because no one has been held accountable. Instead, the bureaucrats responsible for the greatest intel failure since Pearl Harbor were given lots more money and vast new powers. The only ones to suffer have been whistleblowers like Mr. Drake.

"We have far more intelligence officers than before 9/11/01," Weapons Man wrote. "They are far more concentrated in the National Capital Area. They are vastly more lavishly funded. And they are even more likely to miss or bungle intel on a future surprise attack. And for the exact same reasons, because we never addressed the true cause of the 9/11/01 failure."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2013, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast