Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

There was a plan: A real-life cloak and dagger tale that can finally be told

By Hillel Halkin


Shadowy figure behind glass from Bigstock



(Reprinted from our April 15, 2004 issue)

JewishWorldReview.com | It happened, as far as I can reconstruct it from memory, in January 1994. At the time, I was the correspondent in Israel of the New York weekly Forward and had an assistant, Abby Wisse.

One day Abby called me with an odd story. She had gotten a telephone call from an American Jew who refused to give his name. He would only say that he lived in a settlement in the territories and had an astounding document to show her. It had been given to him by a friend who worked in the Foreign Ministry and it contained the secret plan for the implementation of the Oslo Agreement, which had been signed several months previously — a plan that revealed the Rabin government's true intentions. These were, contrary to everything that was being said publicly, to establish a Palestinian state, withdraw to the 1967 borders, evacuate all the settlements, and return all of east Jerusalem to Arab rule. It was all in the document, which the anonymous caller wanted us to publish in order to bare the shocking truth.

Quite sensibly, Abby asked him why he was coming to the Forward with it. Why not The New York Times or some other big-time newspaper?

"I've tried The Times," the caller told her. He had gone to other prominent dailies too. None of them would touch the story, because, since he could not divulge his Foreign Ministry source, there was no way for them to corroborate it. The Forward was a last resort.

That much honesty appealed to me. I told Abby to arrange for the two of us to meet the man in a hotel in Jerusalem. The rules we agreed on were simple. He would bring us a copy of the document and we would read it in his presence and ask him anything about it that we wanted, except for his name or his friend's. After that we could do what we wished, but we were not to contact him again.


Real cloak-and-dagger! We even rented a hotel room to avoid having to sit in a lobby. At the appointed time the caller showed up. He was a young man of about 30 with a skullcap and an earnest demeanor. Without many words, he handed us the document. It was lengthy and labeled "top secret" and it was just what he had said it was: a detailed plan for surrendering everything gained in the 1967 war in return for peace with a PLO state. Where in the Foreign Ministry, I asked, did it come from?

It came, the young man said, from the desk of a very high official. This high official, however, did not know it had been taken from him. The young man's friend had purloined it and photographed it clandestinely. He had done so because he was worried sick by its contents and felt duty-bound to leak them. Not wishing to put himself at risk, he had asked the young man to contact the press for him.

"But this is literally unbelievable," I said. "No government of Israel could do the things that this document speaks of doing. No government could get away with it. The public would never let it."

In 1994 that seemed self-evident.

The young man stuck to his guns. Unbelievable or not, the document was authentic.

Could he prove it to us?

No, he said, he couldn't. We would just have to take his word for it. Or not take it. He had done what he could. Now the decision was up to us.

And with that he vanished into the night.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Abby and I stayed in the room to talk it over. The young man had made a good impression; he was obviously sincere and had answered our questions frankly, confessing his ignorance of things he didn't know, such as the high official's identity. I didn't believe he was trying to deceive us. Yet the document was unbelievable. Perhaps he had been deceived himself, used as a tool by a right-wing manipulation in the campaign against Oslo. We consulted with the Forward's editors in New York and it was decided to run the story as an anecdotal one, telling it as it happened without making any claims for its truth.

It was published in that form. I don't recall there being any reaction to it. The Forward didn't have many readers, and those who read it must have felt, as Abby and I did, that there was something fishy about it.

Today, I have no doubt that the document we were shown that night was authentic. I don't mean that it was indeed the secret plan of the Rabin government or even of its foreign minister, who at the time was Shimon Peres. Most likely it was a position paper prepared with his close aides by someone high up in the ministry with his own views of what course the Oslo process should take — a paper that had fallen into the hands of the friend of our anonymous caller.

That's my guess. And it's my guess, too, that the "very high official" was Yossi Beilin, then Peres' deputy.

Yasser Arafat and the PLO leadership have often been blamed by their Palestinian critics for the fact that, knowing in 1993 that a clear majority of Israelis was against Palestinian statehood, against a withdrawal to the 1967 borders, against an evacuation of the settlements, and against a re-division of Jerusalem, they nevertheless agreed to a "peace process" that did not promise them any of these things.

But if someone high up in the Foreign Ministry was whispering to them all along, "Don't worry, it will take a bit of time, Israeli public opinion needs to be molded, but in the end you'll get it all, just trust me," their behavior seems more rational — as does their anger when the years went by with no sign of this coming to pass.

Beilin hasn't changed. It's we who have. What was unbelievable in 1994 has become all too believable now. He was right about us. We're public opinion and we've been molded. Like clay in the potter's hands.

We want your comments! Please let us know what you think by clicking here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspirational material. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



© 2004, Hillel Halkin

Quantcast