Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sep 30, 2013 / 26 Tishrei, 5774

Going nuts at a down-south pace

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I took a car trip through the South last week. Driving along a two-lane Alabama road, my companion and I passed something called a Pecan Farm. We decided to stop in.

I have never been to a Pecan Farm, or, for that matter, any farm for nuts, although as kids we thought that was the "funny farm." Upon entering, my companion (who lives and works in New York) shot me a glance.

Inside was a tidy combination of candy store/curio shop/café/ice cream counter, highlighted by inspirational books, knickknacks, and things having to do with pecans, such as pralines, salted pecans, crushed pecans and pecan pies.

We took our place in line, anxious to taste the goods. There was one woman ahead of us. Ten minutes later, we were still in line.

Alas, we had made an assumption northern people should never make while traveling through the South (and by "South" I mean any place other than the Atlanta airport).

Pace.

People from up north expect pace. They have internal timers. A bus or subway should come within 10 minutes — or we get antsy. A waitress should show up at your table within three minutes — or we get antsy. A line should move at least one person every minute — or we get antsy.

There is no antsy in the South.

Ants, but no antsy.

SOUTH PREFERS FLOW
Instead of pace, the South has — as I was reminded while we stood in line at the Pecan Farm, eyeing the cinnamon-dipped delicacies, drool spilling over our lips — flow.

Sometimes, this flow involves you; often, it does not. You may be patiently waiting, but the woman behind the counter is intent on swatting that fly by the oven, or adding a column of figures, or trying to get an earring unclasped. It's part of the flow. You don't interrupt it. It is polite and accompanied by, "I'll be right with you," which translates into, "Why don't you take a lap around town and see if we're still open when you come back?"

Your time will come. But not until the flow comes your way.

In our case, the woman ahead of us desired to first pay for lunch, followed by searching for her credit card , followed by the sudden impulse, "How about some strawberry-pecan ice cream?" followed by the woman behind the counter going to the back room.

Meanwhile, to my left, sat a middle-aged southern woman and an older woman in a hat who appeared to be her mother. They were intently reading a menu.

"Pecan chicken salad," the daughter said.

"Mm-hmm," the mother replied.

"Or a regular salad."

"Mm-hmm."

"Tomorrow, they have corn soup."

"Oh, yes. Mm-hmm."

Why they would concern themselves with tomorrow's soup, I don't know. Maybe that's when they expected to be served.



A DIFFERENT KIND OF PACE
As we waited, two other customers entered and stood behind us. This had no effect on the one woman behind the counter, nor did the customers seem to mind. If a line forms up north and the pace isn't quick enough, you hear sighing, annoyed groans, maybe a mumbled, "This is ridiculous."

There was none of that at the Pecan Farm. Time passed. Drool dripped. When the woman happened to pass by the cash register, she made eye contact with a regular customer, lined up behind us.

"Haaa-ey," he said, in a long drawl.

"Haaa-ey," she said.

"You're slammed, huh?"

"Yeah."

Nobody moved any faster. But it was nice to hear "slammed" applied to a line of four people.

"Tomato soup," cooed the daughter.

"Oh, that sounds good," the mother replied.

Eventually, our turn came, along with our birthdays and world peace, and we ordered some pecans, which, although sitting on plates in the counter below us, had to, for some reason, be gathered from jars across the store. I noticed several Christmas trees, decorated.

"You think they're early?" I whispered.

"Might be from last year," my friend said.

The thing is, because we had to, we slowed our rhythm, too. After all, we weren't falling behind. No one else was going faster. We exhaled deeply and by the time we left the Pecan Farm, we'd been taken down a notch.

The pecans, by the way, were delicious. They reflected time and effort in their roasting and seasoning. And I came home having learned an important life lesson:

Pace is a relative term.

And the almond is being disrespected.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2013, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast