Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review September 24, 2012/ 8 Tishrei, 5773

Time, like sand, spills too easily

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The funny thing about writing a book is that everyone asks you, "When's it being published?" and then it's published and you go on tour telling people it's published and next thing you know, everyone is sick of you.

If I already have exceeded that point, my sincere apologies, even though it's only five days since the new book (called "The Time Keeper") came out. But before I thankfully fall off the publicity wagon, I do want to say why I chose the theme of this novel.

Because, books aside, I believe this is a preeminent issue of our lives.

Everyone wants more time.

Few of us appreciate it.

Think about your average day. It likely begins with an alarm clock. Then the radio tells you the time. You slip on your watch. You turn on your cell phone. The morning TV has the time on the screen. Your car dashboard has a clock. You arrive at work either early or late.

And then the hour-counting begins.

No one has enough time. Everyone wants to be more efficient. Time flies. Time's a wasting. Twitter and Facebook are like espresso beans to our communication. Don't waste time. Time fades away.

Yet for all our increased efficiency, no one is satisfied, and everyone keeps trying to live longer (presumably so that they can text more). We chase time; we never catch it.

I have certainly lived this way. I now regret much of it. I am trying, in my middle years, to undo the pattern. When you lose loved ones, when your family members grow sick and feeble, you can't help but wonder what you are doing with your time. And why we spend so many days counting the hours instead of making the hours count.

In my book research, I tried to learn when "telling time" actually began. No one person gets credit for being the first -- the way Edison gets the light bulb or 2Marconi1 gets the wireless.

But somebody did it. Somebody started counting the years. And once we started counting them, we started counting them down.

And everything changed.

In "The Time Keeper," I imagined the first person to ever measure time, a young, curious boy who puts a stick in the sand and marks its shadow in the sun. He becomes the mythical Father Time, and is banished to a cave as penance for his creation. When he returns to Earth, in our time, he must convince a man who wants to freeze himself to avoid death that this is not the way life is supposed to unfold.

"There is a reason G0d limits our days," he explains.

What is the reason?

"To make each one precious."

And this point often escapes us. We want to live forever, but if we did, nothing would mater. We'd never have to decide between things. It's the limit to our days that forces us to chose how we will spend the hours -- and often determines a good life from a sad one.

I learned this past week about the drowning death of a friend's child. The boy was not yet three years old. It was unspeakably horrible.

And yet the emotion that child has evoked -- the sympathy, the love, the renewed dedication to family -- prove that his brief time was not wasted.

I also spoke this past week to a retiring auto dealer named Howard Cooper, who decided, after 47 successful years in business in Ann Arbor, to reward his employees with $1,000 for every year they worked. With 89 employees, some who had been there decades, you can imagine the bill. Yet for all of them, time paid off handsomely. And Cooper, 83, showed true appreciation for his abundant years.

There's an old expression, "Life is what happens while you're busy making plans." As the ink formally dries on a new book, I'm hoping it leads its writer to do less of the planning and more of the living.




Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2012, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles