Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 22, 2011 / 23 Elul, 5771

A trip to the dentist cleans out your wallet

By Dan K. Thomasson




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Have you been to the dentist lately for anything more serious than just a cleaning and a checkup? Chances are if you are one of millions of Americans out of work or in low-paying jobs you probably took any major tooth problem to your friendly emergency room. By that time, it most likely is too late to make the next step an easy one.

So why did you wait? Perhaps a better question is why I asked that in the first place knowing the obvious answer.

The ache in your tooth or gums may be nearly as tolerable as the pain caused to your pocket book in remedying it. And most dentists want their money, or at least much of it, upfront.

Don't misunderstand. Dentists are nice people, but the amount they charge in their free- market economy is over the top.

For instance, I normally have a cleaning and examination every six months. For some time, I have declined the X-rays, which can add a hefty charge to the already hefty cost.

Then there is the radiation risk. With X-rays the charge can be $200-$300 for a cleaning and a two minute exam by the dentist. Still, it was a big mistake not to get radiated.

In between visits, I recently experienced some discomfort and made an extra semi-emergency appointment. By the time I got there, things had settled down and after five minutes of examination that included quickly reviewing X-rays taken three years ago, my longtime dentist said since I was no longer in pain, I should make an appointment in a week. His cashier/ receptionist said, "$100 please."

When I went back, he took X-rays and discovered a variety of problems with the most serious, a capped tooth that was going bad.

He quickly sent me to a specialist who seems to do nothing except perform the dreaded root canal.

That was 8 in the morning and by noon, I was back in my primary dentist's office $1,450 lighter.

Then came the next bad news. I needed a new cap. The old one was no longer viable. The charge to recap this far upper molar, was $1,550, "but I'm going to give you a break." That announcement came after I had complained dramatically. He spent the next 30 minutes X-raying and preparing the tooth for the cap that he said he would expedite.

When he escorted me to the money person this time, he told her quietly not to charge me for the prep, just the crown, which I didn't yet have, noting that he had cut the price by $400. "He really gave you a deal," the money changer said, reaching for my credit card. "That will be $1,550, please."

"Huh!"

By that time, I had been shuttling between dental chairs for eight hours and it didn't sink in that the preparation for seating the cap was extra. All I wanted to do was shut my mouth ... for once. Shortly after leaving, it occurred to me to protest his claim of generosity. His bill would have been $1,950 apparently. Even without the alleged savings, the charge for the day for fixing one tooth was $3,000.

Jesse James used a gun. The weapon of choice for these guys is a high-speed drill. They turn each hour's worth of work into astronomy where the sky is clearly the limit.

While I had my eyes closed and tried to block out the sound of the drill, I worked in vain to compute the approximate hourly amount earned and how that came out at the end of the year. When I got to the root canal doctor, he had another person he was also tending, so I can tell you he made nearly three grand in less than two hours.

So how anyone on limited income can afford regular dental care is a mystery to me. Most insurance plans strictly cover checkups and cleaning once or twice a year. Beyond that, the premiums rise too high for the average person. Medicare doesn't cover dental care.

They charge so much because they can. There are no pressures to control the costs as there are on doctors. Want a license to print money? Go to dental school.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


09/06/11: College rankings a useless exercise

08/31/11: Thankful a mother isn't alive to see this hungry mess

08/30/11: ‘Supercommittee’ should meet in secret

08/22/11: Is college still worth it? Some majors are

08/15/11: Pray for miracle from debt committee

08/09/11: S&P mixes credit ratings with politics

08/08/11: Politics again takes precedence over common sense

08/04/11: In modern society, a distinct pattern of senselessness

07/29/11: A debt solution: Throw the rascals out, all of them

07/21/11: Campaign finance reform --- you're kidding, right!?

07/08/11: Casey Anthony jury did its job

07/05/11: Nailing a prominent figure or institution should come at a heavy risk — and an even greater price if proven a hoax





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles