Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 28, 2011 29 Elul, 5771

Millionaire Asks for Higher Taxes

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The president sat on a stool, one leg extended out onto the floor. He looked relaxed, yet attentive to each person who asked him a question at his town hall Monday.

A man wearing glasses and seated in the back row of the audience on a folding chair stood and spoke into a microphone. He appeared to be in his 40s.

"I don't have job; I am unemployed by choice," the man said, explaining that he had helped start a company, had become quite successful and then retired. "Would you please raise my taxes?"

I waited for the boos to start. I waited for shoes to be hurled his way. I waited for somebody to call for his extradition to Texas, where he could be quickly put to death.

Instead, the room erupted into applause.

But why? The town hall was being held in Silicon Valley, in the community of Mountain View, Calif., where Google, Symantec and Intuit are headquartered and where the median family income was $105,079 in 2007.

But there is a funny thing about money: Those who have a lot of it still don't want to give it up. Nobody wants to pay higher taxes.

Or so we have been led to believe. But the man with the glasses and the people applauding him didn't think increasing taxes on the rich was such a bad idea.

"I'd like very much to have a country that continues to invest in things like Pell grants (allowing kids to go to college), infrastructure and job-training programs that made it possible for me to get to where I am," the man said. "And it kills me to see Congress want to continue the tax cuts. Stay strong."

Stay strong? The man wants the president to stay strong? Doesn't the man read the polls?

The president is so weak that he is leading Texas Gov. Rick Perry by only 5 percentage points in the latest CNN poll, and nobody is sure Perry could even find the Oval Office, let alone be employed in it.

And the reason, we are told, is that people hate taxes, and Barack Obama wants to raise taxes on millionaires.

The Republicans believe we can grow the economy by cutting taxes, which will free people to spend money. We must also slash spending while maintaining Social Security, Medicare, the military, etc.

Obama has a different plan: Get rid of those programs that don't work but raise taxes a small amount on the wealthiest Americans, people like him, who can afford it. (Obama became a millionaire by virtue of his books.)

After the man with the glasses was done with his question, Obama smiled a small smile and asked him about himself. Obama did this with virtually every questioner, if only to ask where they lived. (Some questions were conveyed electronically by LinkedIn, which sponsored the town hall, and they came from all parts of the nation.)

"What was that start-up?" Obama asked the man about the company that allowed him to retire so young.

"It's a search engine," the man said in a slightly embarrassed voice. (According to Mark Knoller of CBS News, the man was Doug Edwards, former director of consumer marketing and brand management for Google.)

"Worked out pretty well, huh?" the president asked, and the audience laughed.

"So often the tax debate is framed as class warfare," Obama continued, explaining that if, as the man was suggesting, we spread the wealth around a little, everybody would benefit.

"I went to school on scholarship," Obama said. "Michelle, her dad was an (operating) engineer in a water reclamation district. He never owned his own home, but he paid his bills. He had multiple sclerosis but never missed a day of work, never went to college, but sent Michelle to college. We benefit from somebody, somewhere making investments in us. I do not care who you are. That's true of all of us. I appreciate the fact you realize we're all in this together."

There were other questions, and they came mostly from people who had worked hard all their lives, had been laid off, and now in their 50s and 60s were struggling to find a job to pay their bills.

Another man stood. For 22 years, he had worked in information technology, and now he was laid off, thrown on the scrap heap and struggling to find a new job.

"What would be your statement of encouragement for those out of work today?" the man asked.

On the face of it, it seemed a naive question. But all the man wanted, all the man and those millions like him wanted, were just a few words from their president that things would work out, that things would be OK in the end.

And Obama realized that.

"You're going to be successful," the president said firmly to the man. "It's not your fault. It's the fault of the economy. The encouraging thing for you is that when the economy gets back on track, you will be successful."

The audience was silent. Obama was offering just the barest scrap of hope. Because that is all he could offer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate