Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 23, 2011 / 24 Elul, 5771

Still hope for coal to help us

By Jay Ambrose




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In my lifetime, I have had the good luck to visit the Empire State Building, the Eiffel Tower, the Palace of Versailles, Big Ben at the Palace of Westminster, the Vatican and, just recently, the Campbell County Recreation Center in Gillette, Wyo.

It's a $55 million exercise castle in a 33,000-population city reached after driving miles through flat, brown, empty plains with relatively few signs of human presence. That is, until you start closing in on Gillette. Then you see a train that never ends, or almost doesn't, a mile-long, coal-carrying, sleek-looking, 135-car colossus.

What gives? A friendly woman at a Wyoming information center explains that this region contains more coal than anyplace else in the country, producing 40 percent of all that Americans consume. Little, old trains won't get it to where it's needed.

Thus educated, my wife and I are soon enjoying the company of my lately relocated sister, her husband and then her son, his wife, a blue-eyed baby named Brycen and not least, Patrick, the smartest 4-year-old grand nephew in the United States.
At various points during the visit, it's see-Gillette time, and on one drive my sister tells me how an unskilled worker can make $50,000 to $60,000 a year in the mining business, and I say, "Wow." On another drive as we approach a metallic, new-age rec center I say "Wow" again and then I repeat it inside: "Wow!"

I've been to rec centers hither and yon, but never before to 190,000 square feet of high-ceilinged architectural dazzle with a 42-foot climbing tower, a six-lane, 1,000-spectator running track, a pool for fun and working out, another for swimming laps, tennis courts, gyms -- there's much more, and it's incredible. I'm not poking fun. The facility has plenty of health-inducing use, though it also struck me as symbolizing exceptional prosperity.

During quick tours of Gillette, you bump into multiple other examples of what it means to thrive. Growing from several thousand citizens in 1960, the city is ranked number two in economic strength of communities between 10,000 and 50,000. Coal mostly did the deed, its creation beginning 60 million years ago in what's now the Montana-Wyoming Powder River Basin. Swamp plants soaked up sun, died and became watery, mushy peat before ground pressure and other factors converted it into combustible black rock -- coal.

It happened to be low-sulfur coal, and in the 1970s, the government got tough on high-sulfur coal, helping the basin coal business to begin booming. Next thing you know, Wyoming was distributing 420 million tons a year, much of it heading East to generate electricity. That means 65 of those near-interminable trains take off daily to help keep our society humming.

At present use rates, there is said to be 200 years worth of black gold in them, thar plains, but it does not follow that the industry has a sure grip on the future. Part of the problem is market competition from natural gas. There's another related biggie.

While this coal is low in sulfur, all coal is high in carbon, and the government believes carbon is the root of all evil. It has therefore made it hugely expensive for utilities to burn while aiming to replace fossil-fuel jobs with so-called green jobs.

Wyoming coal firms are looking to anti-carbon technologies and exports to Asia for rescue, but the Environmental Protection Agency keeps issuing punitive regulations threatening to render the business an extinguished species. It's done in the name of halting global warming but will do no such thing in the absence of a meaningful international treaty unlikely to be achieved before the next ice age, and that's only if you believe the alarmist talk.

While there is no imminent threat of the Gillette rec center becoming a state-of-the-art homeless shelter, city officials are wisely seeking to diversify the local economy, a task that would not be quite as pressing if the fevered federal government took a couple of aspirin and went to bed for a while.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jay Ambrose, formerly Washington director of editorial policy for Scripps Howard newspapers and the editor of dailies in El Paso, Texas, and Denver, is a columnist living in Colorado.


Previously:

09/21/11: Obama's Madoff ploy

09/19/11: U.S. can't afford to wait until it happens

09/14/11: Defending -- and strengthening -- gung ho collectivism

09/12/11: A pipeline to better times

09/08/11: Obama just keeps destroying jobs

09/06/11: Ultra-feminists thwarting justice

08/31/11: Corporations are people? Yes, Count the ways

08/26/11: What an earthquake tells us about debt

08/25/11: The tyranny of scientific consensus

08/23/11: Fracking hardly a public health threat

08/17/11: Why Obamacare won't control births

08/15/11: Balanced budget amendment unbalanced idea

08/10/11: Kerry's war on citizen speech

08/05/11: Upside to the compromise leaving the door open for obnoxious maneuvers

08/03/11: The people who may save America

07/29/11: On making deals, Obama is no LBJ

07/27/11: The threat behind the debt

07/23/11: Mean opposition to means-testing

07/20/11: Leftist babble makes debt crisis even worse

07/18/11: Time to raise demagoguery ceiling

07/13/11: Obama treating treaties badly

07/08/11: Is decline of U.S. exaggerated?

07/05/11: Not math deficiency, but demagoguery



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles