Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 2, 2010/ 23 Elul, 5770

War Weary Americans vs. Implacable Islamists

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Whenever I've asked the following question, even when I have posed it to some of my more liberal acquaintances, I've gotten the same initially puzzled look--followed by the same unanimous answer. The question: assume, during our initial defeat of the Taliban in Afghanistan, we had been fortunate enough to kill or capture Osama Bin Laden. Would the war on terror be over? While my survey is admittedly anecdotal, I have yet to meet a person who answered "yes" to the question. Why not? Perhaps even the dimmest--or farthest left--among us intuitively understand That Which Must Remain Unsaid: we are in an ongoing, global war against Islamo-fascist terrorists.

For many Americans, this is the most inconvenient of inconvenient realities. Still blinded by Bush Derangment Syndrome, there are those who, as noted above, understand this, but can't bring themselves to admit that Iraq was simply another front in a war with many of them. Instead, Iraq is a template for expressing many things, of which a major one is nostalgia: aging protesters are able to re-live the "Vietnam days" of their youth, with all their attendant anger and vitriol. For these aging hippies, the desire to "go home again" trumps all.

I've learned it does no good to remind these people that their "success" in getting America to abandon the Southeast Asian Peninsula to the Communists resulted in millions of people being "re-educated," imprisoned, tortured and killed. It does no good to remind them that one million Vietnamese ended up as "boat people" seeking refuge from their Communist oppressors.

For such people, anti-war principles are far more important than the pragmatism of mass extermination.

And so it remains today. So much so, that even the "good war" in Afghanistan can now be attacked with the same vigor previously reserved for the "bad war" in Iraq. And while one can certainly make a case that much of our military strategy is mired in a PC mindset, which I outlined in a previous column ("Politically Correct Warfare"), only the truly delusional believe a complete cessation of hostilities against Islamic jihadists would result in peace.

Again, this is nothing new. Those who favor the theoretical view of human nature over the realistic one are firmly convinced that we are nothing more than a grand idea or clever phrase away from harmony with those who yearn for our destruction. And once again, the United States is attempting to broker a peace between Israelis and Palestinians, one which will not be "derailed" by Tuesday's brutal execution of four Jews, including a pregnant women, for which the terrorist group Hamas took "credit."

The non-derailers could certainly make the case that the crime is an isolated incident that shouldn't deter such talks. Yet one has to wonder what they make of the 3,000 Palestinians who rallied in Gaza to celebrate the attack. Perhaps the architect of the Ground Zero mosque, Imam Feisal Abdul Rauf, who has steadfastly refused to condemn Hamas, might be asked what he thinks of such behavior.

If there is one over-arching theme that emerges from the American left regarding Iraq, it could best be labeled as "collective amnesia." It is a condition succinctly epitomized by the immortal words of John Kerry, who once told America he was "for" $87 billion in funds for Iraq before he voted "against" them. Even a cursory search of the internet will reveal a mother lode of leading Democrat hypocrites and their quotes regarding the absolute need to remove Saddam Hussein from power. Perhaps a lot of them remember the "good old days" when such quotes could be buried forever by compliant newspeople who had no competition from the alternative media.

Those days are gone.

And while it is easy to blame Democrats and their fellow travelers in a hopelessly compromised media for turning the American public against that war--and now the war in Afghanistan as well--the Bush administration cannot remain blameless with regard to Iraq. It was George W. Bush's responsibility to make the case--continually--for putting American soldiers in harm's way. It is exactly for such exhortations that the presidential "bully pulpit" exists. Bush's failure to use that bully pulpit created a rhetorical vacuum, one which Democrats, led by the odious Harry "the war is lost" Reid, were more than willing to fill.

So here we are. Combat operations in Iraq have theoretically ceased--even as recent news reports indicate radical Islamists are setting up camp in Africa. Even as Iran pursues its nuclear ambitions. Even as Pakistan and Afghanistan remain seething cauldrons, and Saudi Arabia keeps churning out dedicated Wahabbists.

A majority of Americans? Tired of the whole thing, wishing it would "end already." It is worth noting that our collective patience, which has decreased steadily since the days when Americans understood that our post-WWll occupation of Germany and Japan would last as "long as it takes" is not unnoticed by our enemies. They know, like too few Americans, that we were not defeated in Vietnam.

We were outlasted.

Will history repeat itself? A majority of Americans are certainly weary of war. I count myself as one of them. Nobody in their right mind relishes conflict without end. But it is worth remembering that our weariness is measured against almost nine years of failure by Islamic radicals to reprise the atrocity of 9/11. Perhaps it is part of the human condition to think such an attack was an anomaly, or that we have the situation "under control." Perhaps it truly is beyond some people to imagine what their current mindset would be if either the Christmas Day or Times Square bombers would have achieved the same success as their fellow jihadist at Fort Hood.

Make no mistake: Islamic jihadists are in it for "as long as it takes." They will not be deterred by whining hippies, media malfeasance, or the "enlightened thinking" of intellectual elitists. And if there were ever a war where we can not afford to be outlasted, it is this one.

No matter where we fight it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


08/31/10:
A ‘Dream’ Debased
08/25/10: American ‘Bigots’ Versus Media Propagandists
08/23/10: Recovery Bummer
08/19/10: An Unholy Alliance of Radicals
08/16/10: You've Lost America, Mr. President
08/13/10: The Twin Towers of Progressive Disconnect
08/11/10: A Far Better ‘National Discussion’
08/09/10: It's ‘Only’ One Dead Nun
08/06/10: Incremental Tyranny
08/04/10: Ground Zero Mosque: Context Counts
08/02/10: The Arizona Ruling: a Gift for November
07/29/10: The United Cities of America
07/26/10: JournoList: ‘Coordinated’ Ideological Bankruptcy
07/20/10: Go For Broke Or Get Out of the Way
07/14/10: You're a Liberal/Progressive if You Believe…
07/12/10: $33-an-hour--For Sleeping On the Job
07/08/10: Extortionist Government
07/06/10: ‘Commerce Clause’ Totalitarians
07/01/10: Another Public School Travesty in MA
06/30/10: Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles