Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 15, 2009/ 26 Elul 5769

Over-‘fed’ mind

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't recall exactly when it began but I wish it would stop: I think about the federal government all the time now.


There is no way to avoid it.


Every time I turn on the tube, President Obama is on — or there are people talking about what he is trying to do.


Every time I go to a cookout or party, the conversation always turns to politics and worries about what our political class is trying to do.


Every time I do anything — fill up at a gas station or flush a commode — the federal government is shadowing me; its policies affect everything from the price of gasoline to how much water a commode can use.


Sure, I know we live in a republic. I know we must pay attention and actively direct the actions of our politicians.


But I can't remember the activities in Washington ever taking up so much of my life.


I am nostalgic for the '80s in that regard. I was in my 20s then. I had a decent job, a new car, an active social life. There were times I went whole weeks not thinking about the federal government.


In the early '90s the first war in Iraq consumed my attention. But pretty soon there was gridlock in Washington, which left me free to not worry about the federal government for days at a time.


In the mid-'90s, when I was in my 30s, there were a few periods in which the federal government consumed me. Bill and Hillary attempted a government takeover of the health care system then and, boy, did Americans tune in.


Americans didn't like what they were seeing, so they voted Democrats out of Congress in droves. They turned to Republicans, who, for a spell, believed in small government and fiscal restraint.


Our divided government soon produced some good policies and an annual surplus, and I recall going whole weeks in the '90s not thinking much about Washington.


Since then there have been some trying and controversial times that demanded our attention. The vote-recount fiasco during the 2000 election was a doozy and kept me up nights.


The tragedy of 9/11 is still overpowering to me. I lived in the Washington area at the time. I stood on the 10th floor of an office building and watched smoke billow into the sky as the Pentagon burned 10 miles away.


The wars in Afghanistan and Iraq gave our country many sleepless nights and both consumed me. Now, the situation in Afghanistan is a source of worry all over again.


In more recent years, we suffered the tech-stock crash, the housing bubble, the housing collapse, the stock market collapse, the meltdown of our financial system and a nasty recession.


To be sure, such issues focused lots of attention on Washington.


When the new administration came to town last January, many people — even folks who voted against Obama — were hoping he'd give us a fresh start and take a reasonable, logical, thinking man's approach to resolving our economic woes.


That's the man he portrayed himself to be during the campaign. But he's been governing as a different fellow so far.


As many Americans are worried about the rising unemployment numbers and the sluggish economy, Obama's preoccupation is health care?


Worse, he's made it fairly clear that his intent is to transform health care through government might into something many of us will not recognize — he doesn't appear to be interested in many creative ideas that can fix what is broken without breaking what works.


Despite sinking poll numbers, he appears determined to push this dog through — even though it would add billions to the massive debt and deficits we are already unable to afford.


That is why I and millions of other Americans are forced to think and worry about Washington and the federal government — and think of ways to thwart the spending madness.


All I know is this: I dream of a future in which I can get through a whole day not thinking about the federal government. Not even once.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2009, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles