Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 1, 2009 / 1 Elul 5769

Illegal Aliens Now in Federal and State Prisons and Municipal Jails Should Be Deported To Their Countries of Origin Immediately

By Ed Koch




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I have a proposal which I hope the Obama administration will consider and implement.

Immediately, or as soon as possible, the United States should deport all illegal aliens who are now in our federal and state prisons, and in our municipal jails, to their countries of origin.

In 2005, the Government Accountability Office (GAO) issued a report on the number of illegal aliens incarcerated in the United States. The report stated, "They were arrested for a total of about 700,000 criminal offenses, averaging about 13 offenses per illegal alien. One arrest incident may include multiple offenses, a fact that explains why there are nearly one and half times more offenses than arrests.

Almost all of these illegal aliens were arrested for more than 1 offense. Slightly more than half of the 55,322 illegal aliens had between 2 and 10 offenses. About 45 percent of all offenses were drug or immigration offenses. About 15 percent were property-related offenses such as burglary, larceny-theft, motor vehicle theft and property damage. About 12 percent were for violent offenses such as murder, robbery, assault, and sex-related crimes. The balance was for such other offenses as traffic violations, including driving under the influence; fraud - including forgery and counterfeiting; weapons violations; and obstruction of justice. Eighty percent of all arrests occurred in three states - California, Texas and Arizona. Specifically, about 58 percent of all arrests occurred in California, 14 percent in Texas, and 8 percent in Arizona."

The GAO reported that the number of convicted criminal aliens incarcerated in federal prison on December 27, 2003 was 46,063 and the number incarcerated in state prisons and local jails was 262,105.

According to the Colorado Alliance for Immigration Reform, "Today, criminal aliens account for about 30 percent of the inmates in federal prisons and 15-25 percent in many local jails. Incarceration costs to the taxpayers were estimated by the Justice Department in 2002 to be $891 million for federal prison inmates and $624 million for inmates in state prisons [annually]." Every year, about 600,000 of those incarcerated, not limited to illegal aliens, are released and within three years, two-thirds become recidivists and are back in prison.

My proposal would make many of these people the problems of their countries of origin. Those countries would be given the authority to put whomever was turned over to them back in prison or fine them or place them on probation or otherwise free them. Since many of these people are drug offenders, and Mexico and several other Latin American countries have changed their laws and decriminalized the personal use and possession of hard drugs like cocaine and heroin, many of those turned over to them who received harsh Rockefeller drug laws sentences of four to 16 years may qualify in Mexico and elsewhere for instant release.

Why should we care?

In the Netherlands, they legally sell marijuana in coffee shops. Each country today makes its own rules, irrespective of international treaties governing the issue. Our approach to controlling drug use is certainly not a phenomenal success that would allow us to lecture the rest of the world on how to control substance abuse.

Of course, a determination would have to be made on not releasing those who were convicted of acts of terror against the United States, who remain a danger to us. Even there we have released to friendly countries those we considered terrorists and seen them released in their own country, rather than serving out their prison terms in their country of origin.

Of course, there would need to be special U.S. courts provided where applications could be heard from those believing that they should not be expelled because of special circumstances and mitigating factors such as family, particularly American-born children and American spouses in the U.S.

There should be provision for hearings and right of appeal to a federal circuit court. I suggest the rules of evidence be softened so as to allow hearsay evidence to make it easier for the individual being expelled to their own country to make their case for the application of compassion or simply to correct facts.

If it is possible to do this by administrative action and as quickly as possible, I would hope President Obama would take that course. If it is not solely within his power, then the President should ask the Congress to provide him with the powers needed.

The State of California has been ordered by a federal circuit court to reduce its prison population by 40,000 inmates within two years. If it does not, California may face the situation when it will be forbidden by federal court order from imprisoning any new persons until it has reduced its prison population by that number. We know that California has just seen a prison riot which injured hundreds of inmates - mostly by the acts of other inmates - and attributed by many commentators to overcrowding and racism exhibited by the inmates towards one another.

If the Congress cannot by law place the state prison systems into this program, then allow states the option of participating.

Perhaps there are states who will not want to participate and would prefer keeping the illegal aliens in their state prisons and jails, ultimately to be freed and allowed to return to society, but I doubt it. I don't expect to see those who believe in the concept of open borders join me in supporting this proposal. Those who believe that illegal aliens are simply migrants with the right to come and go across borders as they choose and those who are opposed to our building a security fence on our borders to help control those borders and those who believe the Secretary of Homeland Security, Janet Napolitano is currently too harsh in arresting illegal aliens in their workplaces, will oppose those proposals as well.

Nevertheless, I believe the proposal is reasonable and practical. Why didn't people think of it a long time ago? They probably did and the country wasn't ready for it. Today, we are.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2009, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles