Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 21, 2007 / 9 Tishrei 5768

Second looks, second thoughts

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Anyone who is permanently settled in his opinions probably doesn't use technology that much. Because, as we who have struggled with computers and their related gear know, there's always something, or so it seems, to make one think twice about most products.


Some second thoughts, then, after extended consideration of various items.


KODAK PRINTER STILL SHINES, BUT ... I lauded the $299 Kodak Easy Share 5500 all-in-one printer a month ago, and overall, it's still a good machine. For example, I still like the way it scans documents for easy use by my computer. And the quick photo-printing feature, utilizing a small drawer for 4-by-6-inch print paper, is nice.


At the same time, printing regular documents turns out to be a bit slower than I'd expected, something that became evident over a longer period of use. Print quality is fine, but one's patience can be strained.


Worse still, at least in an office, there seems to be a problem with the printer giving off a hum of some kind that my Lucent/Avaya phone can pick up. It's annoying and it's about to make me pack up the EasyShare, gritting my teeth about the lack of a scanner. Kodak needs to rethink the shielding it uses on its electronic components to keep the noise down, or, better, eliminate it.


Of course, other multifunction printer makers may have the same problem. In just walking around the building where I work, I see more than a few "home office" printers being used at corporate desks. If they interfere with telephones and the like, that could become an issue.


LAPTOPS BEST FOR SCHOOL ... At least that's my thinking. Playing with both the Fujitsu T-2010 and Apple's ultra-smart MacBook, each under $1,600 in decent configurations, I remain convinced that giving a notebook computer to a high school or college student is probably a very smart move. These notebooks are portable, of course, but they are also very powerful.


The Fujitsu T-2010 can take a small degree of punishment — the keyboard is said to be spill resistant — and offers a digitized "tablet" screen for note taking. It also includes Microsoft Windows Vista, which isn't everyone's favorite operating system, but which also seems to be OK here. I just like the product, and I think a student would be able to make pretty good use of it, too.


Even more practical, in some ways, is Apple's MacBook. There's no "tablet" feature here, but the optical media drive is built-in, which is a great help in many circumstances, such as loading software, burning photo CDs, and so on. The Mac OS is exceptional, and should be nicely augmented by Mac OS X Leopard in about a month's time. (Unlike Vista, this upgrade should cause few tears for existing users.)


The MacBook is a super portable and a very good value, thanks to recent processor upgrades and other boosts to its performance. It almost makes me want to go back to homeroom again.


GETTING AN ILIFE ... Further in the Mac realm, I'm still enamored of Apple's ILife 08 software, particularly IPhoto. It's one of the best ways to organize and manipulate digital snaps on a computer, and the folks in Windows land will have a ways to go to match it's ease of use.


The best feature, for me, is that the software will separate each download into a separate "event," by which you can then organize photos. The events can be named, tagged with keywords and easily searched. There may be something as good on the Windows side -- a contender arrived last week -- but I've not seen it yet. Meanwhile, I would submit that programs such as ILife are yet another reason to make the switch.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles