CONTROVERSY!


Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 18, 2007 / 6 Tishrei 5768

Are the High Holy Days About Guilt?

By Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

People manipulate, the Divine does not!


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I can remember sitting in shul as a child on during the High Holy Days feeling glum. Why all this concentration on sins anyway? Why rub it in? We're human after all. Of course we're going to sin; so what? I thought it was kind of mean-spirited to make people spend not one but two holidays thinking about our wrongdoings. It just seemed like I, personally, committed a lot of sins that I couldn't somehow escape from. I never looked forward to Yom Kippur in those days. It was not a time for reflection, for cleansing, for new beginnings, for reconnecting with myself like it is now. It was a time for piling on the guilt. Luckily, Succos came shortly afterwards or I could have stayed in a funk for a while.


I was reminded of those days recently when a man told me of his intimate relationship with guilt. His mother introduced the concept and made sure he learned it well. (By the way, he's not Jewish. Or Catholic, either. So much for those myths.) This was a grown man with adult children whose mother would ask him why he never visited her any more when he was there visiting. She also wanted to know why his son, who had traveled to that city, would only visit her on the last day of his trip. (Answer: because if he came to her first, she would play on his guilt for leaving her "so quickly" in order to visit with his friends.) Wanting something for himself other than what Mother wanted was forbidden. Further, thinking something for himself was forbidden too. The father couldn't win, the son couldn't win, and neither could any of the other children, grandchildren, daughters-in-law, or sons-in-law. She took every conversation as an opportunity to generate misery.


It happened that years ago, for no apparent reason, this mother turned on one of her daughters-in-law: She accused her of something she did not do and of intending something she did not intend. When her daughter-in-law protested in front of her husband, the mother-in-law denied the whole conversation. And what did her son do? Did he protest? Did he come to his wife's defense? Did he tell his wife his mother was awful? What did he do?


The answer is: nothing. He did nothing at all because he was immobilized by guilt. As I said, his mother taught him well. He panicked at the thought of how wrong it would be to criticize his mother. Within his own mind, he could not bring himself to condemn her. Now, I ask you: How far do we have to take the 5th Commandment? I'll go one more: Does using guilt to manipulate someone even fall under the privileges of parenthood? And last: Is this what our holidays, starting with the month of Elul are all about? Is G-d that nasty mother trying to control us through guilt?


When he told me his story and asked me what to do, my head jumped to a moment, several years ago, when a woman, crying, told me that she had recently extricated herself from a long-term incestuous relationship with her father — and she felt guilty. Such is the power of guilt. It really works, but that doesn't make it right.


With this latter illustration making, I hope, eminently clear that using guilt to manipulate is wrong and that, no, the privilege of being honored does not give parents license to abuse their children, whether young or adult, the position of G-d vis--vis His creations comes into sharp focus: G-d could not possibly be an abusive parent.


G-d, after all, does not need to manipulate us. We should feel guilty if we did something wrong and that guilt should wake us up to do t'shuva. T'shuva is the recognition of wrongdoing and the strong desire never to repeat that mistake. It is also the resolve to take steps to put that desire into practice, combined with the appropriate apologies. If that is done properly, the guilt serves no further purpose and should then dissipate.


Beware any lingering guilt! If you notice some in your heart, then maybe someone has been manipulating you. People will do such things; G-d does not. Allow your guilt, if you feel any, to be your alarm clock to wake up and take action, enjoying the opportunity the Days of Awe gives to right some wrongs. After that, rejoice in the New Year guilt-free.


May you all have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspirational material. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn is an Orthodox Marriage & Family Therapist. To comment, please click here. To visit her website, please click here.

04/14/03: Confessions of a religious feminist
04/16/03: Kindliness and Blood: A Passover Thought
03/25/03: Arguing: It's a Jewish thing

© 2007, Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn