Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sep. 21, 2005 / 17 Elul, 5765

Spaced out

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Imagine what FEMA would be like if it had a $100-billion budget, really cool uniforms and the power to blow things up on national television. Congratulations—you just invented NASA.

NASA is FEMA with rockets. Who in the world would want to give them $104 billion?

The answer, as usual, is George W. Bush. This guy is like a lottery winner on a bender—he can't give away money fast enough. Unfortunately, it's not his money. It's ours.

When he's not spending $200 billion of our dough to transform the Middle East (good idea) or dumping another $200 billion to eradicate poverty from the Gulf Coast (yeah, right), he's digging into taxpayers' pockets for $104 billion for the geniuses who run America's space program (are you out of your tiny little mind?)

NASA, in its proud tradition of pressing toward ever-new frontiers, has come up with a new American mission for a new American century, a far-flung vision of a future beyond imagination. Give us $104 billion, says NASA administrator Michael Griffin, and we will boldly go where no man has gone before….the MOON! And it will only take us 13 years to get there!

If this was a movie, somebody on the set would be shouting "Get me re-write!"

Maybe the pocket-protector crowd at Houston Control are too busy to get to the multiplex themselves, but they need to put The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 on their Netflix home page. Going to the moon is so passe', we've even made a hit movie about not getting there.

When President Kennedy committed America to "achieving the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the earth," the reasons were clear: to do something great that would reflect the greatness of our nation, and to kick the commies right in the technocrats. We got there first because we're the best.

In the heat of the Cold War, that NASA mission made sense.

So why are we going back to the moon today? Well, according to NASA, one reason is to "scour the moon for water, hydrogen and ice" that could be used on a future mission to Mars. That's right: $100 billion to look for water. On the moon.

The irony of that argument will not be lost on the folks of New Orleans, who might suggest that a more productive search for water could be conducted in their second-story apartments.

Look, I'm no scientist. And normally I'd be the first to say, "Hey, who am I to question these scientists?" But we're not talking about scientists. We're talking about government employees.

We're talking about NASA, where they accidentally slammed a Mars explorer into the surface of the Red Planet because they forgot to convert kilometers into miles. We're talking about bright boys who sent up the $100 million Hubble telescope fitted with a defective lens (oops!), performed an amazing repair mission that has turned Hubble into a national treasure (hooray!) but now that it's doing amazing science, want to abandon it in space (D'oh!).

And we should never forget that these are the government employees responsible for wasting the lives of 14 brave astronauts, all killed in service to one of the dumbest, most inefficient and scientifically-useless boondoggles in world history, the space shuttle program. Not a single scientifically-significant act has been performed on the shuttle that could not have been done more cheaply and safely using an unmanned vehicle In fact, NASA's handing of the space shuttle has been so inept that, in July of this year, the entire program was grounded…while the shuttle Discovery was still in space.

Houston, we really have a problem…

So let's get to the real reason why the shuttle program is still around, and the real reason we're going to blow $104 billion over the next 13 years to go back to the moon: government jobs.

When asked if America should set aside space exploration for the moment because of budget pressures from the Katrina disaster, NASA administrator Griffin quickly pointed out that many of government jobs created by the space program are in the Gulf region.

And there it is. NASA's manned-space program is a huge government-jobs scam that takes billions of dollars from taxpayers and gives back the occasional video of astronauts listening to rock music on the space shuttle, an insignificant bit of scientific research and, all too often, dead people. Couldn't we just put everyone at NASA on welfare? It would cost less and nobody would get hurt.

Meanwhile, hasn't anyone at NASA noticed that, even assuming everything goes right with the new moon mission, we're still going backwards? They want to go to the moon in 13 years. The first time we went, it only took us 10, and we'd never done it before!

Then again, math has never been NASA's strong suit. For example, there have been 114 shuttle flights, and two of them have blown up. However, NASA claims that the existing failure rate of the space shuttle program is just 1-in-220.

114 flights. Two failures. Do the math.

Unless you work for NASA, in which case you should ask someone to do the math for you.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." Listen to "Michael Graham, Unleashed" weekdays at www.rightalk.com. To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2005, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles