Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2003 / 14 Elul, 5763

High Holiday Prayers — for my enemies

By Jeff Dunetz


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


‘Getting even’ with the evil ones the Jewish way


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | I sometimes see an old Yiddish curse on Jewish joke websites. It is loosely translated as "May you lose all the teeth in your mount except one, and may you get a toothache in that one tooth" It always makes me smile to read it, even thought I know it really goes against Jewish teaching. You see, the Rabbis teach us that we do not curse bad people, we are supposed to pray that they see the error of their ways and do "teshuvah" which means to apologize and change the way they lead their lives.

With Rosh Hashanah just around the corner, there is no better time to pray to G-d for the people who are responsible for so much bloodshed in recent history. We should be asking G-d to soften the hearts of the people whose hands are stained with the blood of the Twin Tower victims, the groups behind the dead children on the streets of Jerusalem, who are to blame for horrible acts of terror in Russia and Iraq.

Of course I am talking about organizations such as the UN and the EU, groups such as the NY Times and the BBC.

Donate to JWR

Over the last 20 years Yassir Arafat has slowly edged himself into the legitimate world community. Each time that he was allowed to inch closer to political recognition without giving up his terrorist ways the message the world community was sending to the PLO was clear, terrorism is a legitimate means of political expression. It's like raising children, when you reward bad behavior, you get more bad behavior. Other terrorists, seeing the gains Arafat has made through terrorism, have learned and followed suit.

The United Nations might not have realized it at the time, but when they first invited the Terrorist PLO Chairman to speak before the General Assembly, they were signing a death warrant for over a hundred UN workers in Iraq years later.

Sure it was Al Qaeda operatives who flew the planes into the World Trade Center, but I will be praying that the people who taught them that terrorism was OK, people such as the first president Bush and President Clinton. Some of the blood spilled on that horrible day is on their hands. This holiday season I pray that they will finally understand that every time that there was contact with the Palestinian Authority under Arafat, every time the pressured Israel to negotiate with terrorists, they were moving those planes closer to the Twin Towers.

I also pray for companies such as Viacom, which owns Nickelodeon, and Disney. These companies do so much good work, trying to make children happy. It is such a shame that those companies also own networks that have been responsible for the deaths of so many kids. Networks such as Viacom's CBS or Disney's ABC. Every time one of these networks calls a terrorist a militant, every time they draw a moral equivalence between a homicide bomber targeting children and an assassination of a senior member of Hamas they are legitimizing terror and causing the deaths of more children in the holy land, Palestinian and Israeli.

I have a special prayer in my heart for France once a world leader, a country that taught much of Europe about democracy. Now it is a country that exports a cynical support of terror and anti-Semitism. There is so much blood on their hands. The French government does not even try to differentiate between good and bad terrorism, they don't recognize that terrorism exists at all.

They have taught the terrorist very well. President Jacques Chirac's diplomatic adviser, Maurice Gourdault-Montagne, even went so far as making this astonishing statement to the Israeli ambassador to France: "If we find that Hamas and Islamic Jihad are indeed terror groups opposed to peace, we may have to change the EU's stand. This is remarkable, not only for its assumption that France control's the EU's position, but also its disgusting cynicism. Indeed, France knows that Hamas and Islamic Jihad have claimed responsibility for one civilian-murdering bombing after another. ." (NY Post 9/5/03).

This week Hamas sent two young Palestinians into Israel to kill themselves and as many young Jews that they could. At this writing 14 young people have been killed, countless others injured. The orders came from Hamas but the learning came from others.

With the High Holiday's so close, there is a lot for which to pray.... I pray that G-d will draw me closer to Torah, so that I can be a better person. I also pray that the people who have caused so much pain, finally recognize that they must stop teaching that terrorism is acceptable. Only then can we begin to realize the prayer that is said repeatedly during each service:

Oseh Shalom bimromav hu ya-aseh shalom alenu v'al Kol Yisrael, v'imru amen"

May the One who brings peace to the universe bring peace to us and to all Israel, and let us say: Amen.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Jeff Dunetz is a 20-year marketing veteran, and a freelance writer. He is married and the father of two kids who ask lots of questions about being Jewish that he can't answer. Jeff has been active in Jewish organizations since his USY days. Presently he is a Member of the Board of Trustees of the Dix Hills (Long Island) Jewish Center. To comment, please click here.

© 2003, Jeff Dunetz