Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2013/ 3 Elul, 5773

What I did on my summer vacation

By Diana West




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What did I do on my summer vacation?

I stayed home. The family went to the country this week but not me. I stayed behind to deal with a white-hot controversy.

About what?

Me.

Thus, I am now engaged in the painstaking job of rebutting an explosion of falsehoods and distortions about me and my new book, "American Betrayal: The Secret Assault on Our Nation's Character." These attacks began appearing on the Internet last week at several neoconservative websites: first and mainly Frontpage Magazine (FPM), Pajamas Media and The American Thinker.

Close to 10 pieces have appeared (more promised), all of them emanations of a 7,900-word book review at FPM that reviewer Ronald Radosh described as a "take-down" in one of his own three follow-up pieces. Two writers who followed suit admitted in print that they hadn't read the book.

It is important to note that this lengthy "take-down" comes after an earlier, positive review of "American Betrayal" appeared at FPM. Controversial books spark different reactions, of course, but instead of leaving the original, positive review posted and commissioning a new review from a different perspective, FPM editor David Horowitz -- noted free speech advocate -- pulled the positive review off the website.

The recent spate of attacks advance one notion in particular. They impugn my credibility as a writer based on allegations (which I am currently rebutting) against my accuracy, integrity and even sanity. Clearly, they want to kill this book. Thus, they depict me as inaccurate and dishonest. Fortunately, I have a nearly 30-year reputation as a journalist, columnist and published author to stand on as I mount what is, in fact, a defense of my livelihood.

As some readers know, I published "American Betrayal" earlier this summer with endorsements from noted historians Amity Shlaes and M. Stanton Evans. My book's publisher is St. Martin's Press, which also published my first book, "The Death of the Grown-Up: How America's Arrested Development Is Bringing Down Western Civilization."

Since my research took me to places in our history that shocked me, I knew the new book would be a controversial. Its thesis challenges consensus and cherished mythology about our 20th-century past by a rather novel mechanism. The book projects the dirty backstory of the Soviet-directed intelligence war against the U.S. -- waged by confirmed Soviet agents and agents of influence inside the U.S. policymaking chain from the 1930s onward -- onto center stage and into our familiar pageant of history.


What takes shape, I argue, is a story of betrayal -- American betrayal. By the book's end, many of our heroes don't look so heroic anymore; some of our "villains" end up looking like heroes.

Take Franklin Delano Roosevelt. FDR's reputation as a wartime leader and Depression-fighter earns him a place in the presidential pantheon near the top, not to mention his lavish monument by the Tidal Basin near the Washington Mall.

The historical record -- as extracted from Soviet archives -- proves, however, that FDR's administration was riddled with Soviet agents. Not just one Alger Hiss, who got his hands near the helm of U.S. policy at the State Department. Not just one Harry Dexter White, who managed to do the same via the Treasury Department. The records show there were hundreds of Kremlin-minded operators in government and other institutions who were not only trying to steal secrets but, more important, trying to influence U.S. policy. These operators even include, I argue (based on an extensive dossier of evidence and expert opinion that I invite readers to evaluate for themselves), FDR's top wartime adviser Harry Hopkins.

What "American Betrayal" also argues -- in a narrative anchored to 900-plus endnotes -- is that this makes us due for a massive historical revision.

This is not only a matter of re-examining the past. Coming to terms with what is a strategic "occupation" of the halls of power in Washington by agents of Soviet influence has crucial lessons for what we are undergoing today. There are striking similarities today as vectors of the Muslim Brotherhood and other sharia supremacist groups now seek to influence policymaking in Washington in the post-9/11 era.

These lessons of history apply today to legislators entrusted to defend our constitutional liberties. Remember what happened to Rep. Michele Bachmann and four other House conservatives last summer when they raised questions about Muslim Brotherhood influence in the Washington policymaking chain. Bachmann in particular was crucified, including by the Republican leadership, as the second coming of that devil-figure in American history, Sen. Joseph McCarthy. With rare exception, no one since has dared to raise questions about this still-unaddressed potential national security threat.

To be sure, McCarthy wasn't the only U.S. senator or representative to investigate Communist influence operations and espionage in the federal government in the mid-20th century. Yet having been sold to us as the worst American ever, he has come to symbolize all attempts to bring Kremlin-directed dirty work into the open. McCarthy's radioactive image today effectively stops all thinking about, all investigating and all addressing of malign influence operations and ideological assaults against the country today.

Will Americans one day live in a United States that is a borderless amalgam of Big Brother/Big Government socialism and sharia? Will they look back and scoff at Bachmann's mini-"Muslim Brotherhood Scare"? That's certainly the conventional attitude now, despite the evidence. Meanwhile, we still look back on and scoff at a supposedly imaginary "Red Scare" of 60 years ago, despite massive evidence that the threat was real -- and, as I argue in "American Betrayal," quite successful.

It's time to connect the dots.

All I ask is that readers judge my book for themselves.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DIANA'S LATEST BOOK ...
at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.) by clicking HERE.

Comment by clicking here.


Archives


Up


© 2009, Diana West

Quantcast