Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Security you can see in Israel

By Truman Brody-Boyd



A 16 year-old returns from the Jewish State with a fresh perspective --- and a message to the administration


JewishWorldReview.com | We live in an age where Big Brother is, in fact, watching. I'm 16 and have grown up surrounded by super advanced technology. Smart phones can tell you what caused the beginning of the yellow fever outbreak in the United States during the 1800s in seconds. My laptop can show me a video someone in Sweden uploaded minutes ago. An IMessage group text can help me get with friends I want to hang with and meet them in a matter of minutes, using my phone's GPS to find the location of the nearest Pizza Hut (which has an app that gives me the address).

So, I don't mind the security when it doesn't hinder me physically. The phone call monitors or the security cameras don't slow me down, they don't make me change the way I live or the things I carry in my bag. Because I've grown up with all of this around me, I'm used to it and don't notice it. But the older generations certainly do, and the NSA scandal has shaken them up. Most above the age of 30 or 40 have been cautious about the oncoming of all this technology.

But when I traveled to Israel in July, American security measures were put into perspective.

Even flying to get to Israel requires more security than regular TSA checks, and Americans think those are awful. If you fly EL AL, the Israeli airline, before you even check in you get screened. A representative from the airline interviews you about your luggage. If they suspect it's been tampered with or suspect that you're lying, you must get your bag screened and -- occasionally -- unpacked. Then, as you board, carry-on luggage is randomly selected to be put with the checked bags.

American security seem reasonable yet?



In Israel, IDF soldiers are everywhere. Always in uniform, the men and women of the Israeli Defense Forces are always ready to go into action, even in the city of Tel Aviv. It would be like seeing fully equipped U.S. soldiers wandering around downtown Miami. Many have packs on, filled with gear necessary to fight. But the most shocking thing by far: Almost all the soldiers are carrying their assault rifles. Even in Tel Aviv, probably the safest place in Israel, droves of IDF soldiers with guns slung across their backs roam the streets. Yes, American cities have armed policemen, but Tel Aviv has both its policemen and the IDF soldiers.

American security seem reasonable yet?

Even with armed soldiers everywhere, there's still more security in Israel. To get into large bus stations, any train station, museums, college campuses, and malls, your bags are checked. In addition, you're either patted down or passed through a metal detector. Any place that has a high density of people that might be an attractive target for a bomber has some level of security. Even soldiers of the IDF are screened.

American security seem reasonable yet?

Of course, there are also the many security checkpoints that you must past through upon entering or exiting the West Bank, along with the high walls lining the road. I've experienced these firsthand, and I noticed something about the wall. It seemed a lot like the walls our suburban neighborhoods use to separate themselves from noisy highways — but the Israeli walls have guard towers. There are always armed soldiers in the towers and at the checkpoints, usually in full combat gear. Some have bomb dogs with them as well.

American security seem reasonable yet?

You may be thinking now that Israel is some restrictive society where people are hindered in their everyday lives. But this isn't so. The Israelis have grown up in a land where they must always be on their toes, ready to fight for what they believe at a moment's notice. They understand the necessity for all the security, and almost all are thankful for it. When waiting in the security lines, the only grumbling and discontent I heard was from other tourists like me. For example, I was in line for a security screening to enter a mall that had a subway station I was trying to get to. I heard an American tourist in front of me remark, "These checks are ridiculous. I have to add five minutes into the traveling time to go anywhere." The young Israelis trying to get into the mall didn't mind the wait, and it's probably for the same reason I don't mind the monitoring of my phone. We've grown up with it.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Israel is forced to have security measures as extreme as these to ensure the safety of the population. Many of these measures are a result of the Second Intifada, a terror campaign that occurred in Israel during 2000-05 and caused the death of about 1,000 Israelis. Since the introduction of these security measures, terror bombings in Israel have decreased dramatically.

The way the United States monitors us isn't something you notice daily or weekly. Before the discussion of privacy heated up in the past few weeks, we didn't notice the security measures much at all. They circumvent the human aspect of security and go into the technology we've become so accustomed to. In Israel, the security measures that are taken can affect you daily, even hourly. While I'm sure Israel is tapping the occasional phone line or two, they're also on the ground every day, focusing on the human element, screening everyone regardless of race, religion, origin, or employment. Even a 16-year-old kid, traveling alone in Israel, visiting the nation for the first time, gets screened at every turn, and for me that was not a problem. I prefer the security I can see.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring reading material that will uplift you. Sign up today for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2013, Truman Brody-Boyd



Quantcast