Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 27, 2013/ 21 Elul, 5773

If President Obama Had a Son He Might Look Like . . .

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The three teenagers in rural Oklahoma said they were bored. They needed something to do that would be fun. They were sitting on a porch when a jogger ran by. That's when they got in a car and caught up with him on a country road. When they got close enough, one of the boys, a 16 year old, aimed his gun and shot the jogger in the back. He hit the ground bleeding. And that's where he died. His name was Chris Lane, a 22-year old Australian who was a college baseball player here on a scholarship.

If Barack Obama had a son he might look like the alleged shooter, Chancey Luna (in the center) — or maybe the 15 year old, James Edwards (on the left) who was also in the car. Michael Jones, 17, drove the car; he's white.

But you'll never hear the president utter those words. It's one thing to identify with a black teenager shot and killed by a white man (who was actually only half white; his mother is Hispanic). But it's quite another to link yourself, in any way, to a black kid who killed someone simply because he had nothing better to do.

And there's no reason Barack Obama should say his imaginary son would look like the shooter. But then, there was no good reason for the president to say if he had a son he would look like Trayvon Martin. But he did, needlessly implying that it's dangerous being a black kid in America when white people with guns are around.

When he heard about the shooting, Jesse Jackson tweeted that this was an example of "senseless violence" that should be "frowned upon."

Frowned upon? That's the best that he could come up with? When Trayvon Martin was shot to death Jackson said "blacks are under attack" in America, and "Killing us is big business," and Trayvon was "shot down in cold blood by a vigilante." Never mind that there was a fight right before Zimmerman shot Trayvon Martin. Murky details like that didn't matter to Jackson or other members of the civil rights business. Now we hear that the Oklahoma shooting should be "frowned upon." Where is the moral outrage Jackson was able to muster for Trayvon Martin? Later, after he came under fire for his lame response to the murder in Oklahoma, Jackson issued a statement calling on all Americans to "resist all forms of violence in our society." Thanks for not much.



But at least he said something. The rest of the civil rights establishment has been silent. The Missouri NAACP wanted a rodeo clown investigated by the Department of Justice for making fun of President Obama. On the Oklahoma shooting, silence. For black elites to speak out against violence committed by young black men apparently is tantamount to treason.

So far the president has been silent too. The murder in Oklahoma will not get the attention that the Trayvon Martin case received — not from the president and not from the media or the civil rights industry. Why not? Because in Oklahoma the alleged shooter is black and the victim is white. And that makes all the difference in the world.

It's true that there is no evidence that the teenagers targeted Chris Lane because he was white. But there is a tweet, allegedly sent by the youngest of the three that said:"90% of white ppl are nasty. #HATE THEM."

Imagine if a white kid put out a tweet like that and then was picked up for killing a young black man.

But who knows, maybe they would have shot a black jogger if that's who was out running that day. Maybe. But there was no evidence either that George Zimmerman shot Trayvon Martin because he was black. That didn't stop the president from chiming in.

Maybe that's because Mr. Obama sensed Trayvon was shot because he was "guilty" of walking while black. After all, we got a similar message from the civil rights industry, which painted a picture of an America where white people were out hunting down young black men. White liberal journalists on television listened to this nonsense and didn't say a word. They played the part of potted plants.

Who knows, maybe the president would have had something to say if the jogger was black and was shot dead by a couple of white thugs who were out for some kicks. Al Sharpton and the rest of the black civil rights industry certainly would have had something to say.

And Sharpton finally did have something to say. "I protest when I'm called in and when there's an injustice.," he said on his MSNBC show days after the murder. "The three were arrested, there was nothing to protest. The system worked there, and racial? Not only did the police not say it was racial, one of the three were white," Sharpton said

But the police in Florida said the Trayvon Martin case wasn't racial either. But that didn't stop Sharpton. And one of the three thugs in Oklahoma was white? So what? Zimmerman mentored black kids and that didn't stop Sharpton from screaming racism.

Which brings us to the president, who still hasn't chimed in. But there's still time. And here's what President Obama still can say. He could use the tragedy to make some long overdue points. Here's what, in my most optimistic moments, I would like to hear President Obama tell the nation:


Recently I talked to the American people about what it's like being a young black man in this country. I said women clutch their purses on the elevator when a young black man gets on. I said people lock their car doors at a red light when a black kid gets too close. I said young black men are followed when they walk into a store.

I implied that their only "crime" was being black.

What I should have added is that there's a good reason for all of that. People — and not just white people — are suspicious of young black men because young black men give them plenty of reason to be suspicious.

I did note that black kids commit too much crime. But I should have gone further. Much further. I should have said there's something very wrong in black America when nearly three out of four black babies won't have a father around when they're growing up.

I should have said public schools are free yet black kids drop out at astronomical rates. I should have said, let's stop blaming "crumbling schools" and everything else for their failure. If you drop out — it's your fault. That's what I should have said. And I should have made very clear that without an education you won't get a good job. You'll live in poverty. And too many of you will try to find your manhood in a gun and wind up in prison.

And please Rev. Sharpton and the other members of the African-American elite -- please don't blame a racist judicial system for any of that. You have been silent — just as I have — about the real problems plaguing black America -- for way too long.

We are all co-conspirators. Almost every murder in New York City is committed by a person "of color." And how do we respond: We scream about the racist cops who are profiling our poor, innocent black children.

Enough!




Let me say it before you do: I'm delusional. Still, it would be nice to hear something like that from the president. After all, there's no one in the entire country who could make the case better. But when I told a friend about this he laughed.

Anyone who says anything like that, he told me, would be seen either as a racist — if he's white — or an Uncle Tom — if he's black. So no one, he said, will get any traction with that message.

Unfortunately, he's right.

Then there's John McWhorter, a black intellectual with guts, who wrote a piece in Time about the Oklahoma shooting. It ran under the headline: Don't Ignore Race in Christopher Lane's Murder. "[I]t's just fake to pretend that the association of young black men with violence comes out of thin air," he writes. "Young black men murder 14 times more than young white men. If the kinds of things I just mentioned were regularly done by whites, it'd be trumpeted as justification for being scared to death of them." Black leaders from President Obama on down should take note.

As for the three teenagers in Oklahoma, they've all been charged as adults. They may spend the rest of their lives in prison. Let's hope so.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


08/20/13: Do We Really Want Another Coronation in 2016?
08/12/13: Wanna Know What's Wrong With Journalism?
08/06/13: CNN Finds Benghazi Terrorist Suspect; FBI Doesn't
07/30/13: Don't Blame Me --- Blame Those Phony Scandals
07/23/13: What President Obama Left Out of His Talk on Race
07/17/13: Do We Need Affirmative Action for Conservative Journalists?
07/15/13: Zimmerman is Not Guilty . . . What About the Media?
07/09/13: Should We Ever Punish Journalists for Publishing Secret Information?
06/25/13: Re-Defining Racial Discrimination in America
06/18/13: Freedom in an Age of Terrorism
06/11/13: Which is More Honest: Roller Derby or the Obama Administration?
05/30/13: Did Eric Holder Lie to Congress?
05/23/13: How Do We Know Fox reporter Isn't a Commie Spy?
05/21/13: How High Does the IRS Scandal Go?
05/14/13: When Is a Scandal Not A Scandal?
05/09/13: Jodi Arias, Cable TV, and a Nation Fascinated by Shiny Objects
05/03/13: Global Warming May Lead to Sex --- for Money
04/30/13: Of Red Lines, Game Changers and U.S. Credibility
04/23/13: The Boston Marathon Bombings and the Importance of Getting the Story Right
04/15/13: Media Ignore Mass Murder Trial
04/09/13: Obama Compliments a Woman; Feminists Offended
04/04/13: When the Government Goes Bankrupt
03/18/13: Don't Blame Him --- He's Only the President
03/12/13: Sun Still Rises After Sequester So Prez Comes Up With Plan B To Insure Hardship
03/11/13: A President We Can't Be Proud Of
03/05/13: New Poll: Nation on Wrong Track . . . So Which Party Gets the Blame?
02/26/13: A President Who Is Rooting for Chaos
02/22/13: Obama: The World Is About to End . . . (Or Not)
02/19/13: Rubio Reaches for Water --- Crime of the Century
02/13/13: Drones, Double Standards and the So-Called Mainstream Media
02/06/13: One Small Step for Man, One Giant Step for Nut Jobs
01/30/13: Obama and Fox: Here We Go Again
01/25/13: CBS News Political Director to Barack Obama: Destroy the GOP
01/21/13: Just a Thought . . .
01/15/13: Al Gore is No Run of the Mill Hypocrite
01/14/13: The High Cost of Obama's America
01/08/13: Another Reason Libs Make Me Laugh
01/07/13: Al Gore Hates Oil But Loves Oil Money
12/31/12: Memo to GOP: Make Obama Own the Mess He's Created
12/24/12: GOP In More Trouble Than They Probably Know
12/18/12: Taking on Guns Will Be the Easy Part
12/17/12: When Obama's Words Mean Nothing
12/10/12: Do You Believe in Magic?
12/04/12: Obama and the Dolts Deserve Each Other
11/27/12: When the Ends Justify the Meanness
11/20/12: Our Mesmerizer-in-Chief
11/19/12: This Pretty Much Sums It Up . . .
11/12/12: Santa Claus and the GOP Civil War
11/07/12: Obama Wins . . . and Loses
11/01/12: Out on a Limb, Predicting A Big Victory For . . .
11/01/12: Should Mitt Talk to Bill?
10/30/12: Really Dumb Conservatives . . .
10/23/12: Debate #3: How Much Does Foreign Policy Matter If You Can't Find a Job?
10/22/12: When Conservatives Are As Dopey as Liberals . . .
10/19/12: Journalists' Who Don't Even Try to Hide Their Bias
10/17/12: Obama Stopped the Bleeding --- But Was That Enough to Change the Momentum?
10/15/12: No Winner in the Debate --- But Maybe a Loser
10/08/12: The October Surprise
10/04/12: Civil War in the GOP Could Go Nuclear on Nov 7
10/01/12: Even If He Wins, Obama Will Lose
09/27/12: Obama Picks Up a Crucial Demographic
09/26/12: If Obama Thinks He Inherited a Mess Four Years Ago . . .
09/24/12: A Good Way to Kill Free Speech
08/30/12: Facts I Have Uncovered About the Real Mitt Romney
08/23/12: Hope and Change, R.I.P.s
08/16/12: Who's Smarter: Joe Biden or Yogi Berra?
08/13/12: His Silence Makes Him Complicit
08/07/12: Did You Know that Harry Reid Got Rich Pimping Out HOs?
08/02/12: Like Birds on a Telephone Wire
07/30/12: What Me Worry? YES!
07/26/27: The Mystery Continues --- A Tale of Two Polls
07/16/27: We've Set a Low Bar for 'Courage'
07/11/27: Will Class Warfare Work?
07/09/27: A Brave New World
07/02/27: Now the Fun Really Starts
06/19/27: You Can't Make This Stuff Up . . .
06/19/12: I Would Have Fired Him Before He Got Back to the Office
06/12/12: Time to Crush the Myth about Gender Pay Inequality
06/06/12: The Desperate Campaign of Barack Obama
06/01/12: Hey Fatso! Listen Up!
05/25/12: Going After the Stupid Vote
05/22/12: The X Factor(s)!
05/15/12: Obama Has a Halo; Newsweek Has No Shame
05/10/12: Authoritarians on Campus
05/08/12: Obama's Path to Victory: Divide and Conquer
05/01/12: President Cool Meets Reality
04/25/12: Why Media Bias Matters
04/17/12: NYT: At It Again
04/13/12: Kissing up to the Rev. Al
04/10/12: This Just In: War Breaks Out --- Thank You, Lord
04/03/12: In Cold Blood?
03/27/12: Trayvon Martin and Media Hypocrisy
03/26/12: Time to Go, Rick
03/22/12: Obama's Mantra: Don't Blame Me
03/19/12: The U.N. Human Rights Council --- and other Jokes
03/13/12: Bias in the News: Blame it on Their Zip Code
03/06/12: Thank Heaven for Rich People --- a Second Look
02/29/12: Some Free Advice for the Republican Field
02/28/12: Do We Have a Right to Lie?
02/16/12: Can Obama Win Re-Election by Promising Free Stuff?
02/06/12: The 5 Stages of Mitt
02/02/12: Florida Has Spoken; Cue the Fat Lady
01/30/12: The Other Global Warming Story
01/26/12: They See Racists Everywhere . . .
01/24/12: The Arrogant and Clueless Mainstream Media
01/23/12: Gingrich Wins SC --- Media Help Big Time
01/18/12: A New Entry for 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
01/12/12: The Dream Ticket Could Be a Conservative Nightmare
01/11/12: Now 'Anybody But Romney' Has a Name
12/30/11: I Have a Confession to Make . . .
12/27/11: Know When to Hold 'em and Know When to Fold 'em
12/20/11: NBC News, the KKK and the State of Journalism
12/19/11: Mitt and Newt: Two Rich Guys Arguing Over Money
12/13/11: Donald Trump Is the Greatest; Just Ask Him
12/12/11: Rob Peter to Pay Paul: Bad Economics! Good Politics?
12/07/11: Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either
12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast