Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Aug 13, 2012 / 25 Menachem-Av, 5772

Speech Romney should give on Bain

By Deroy Murdock




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Mitt Romney cannot run from his record at Bain Capital. So, he might as well give this speech:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

You have heard plenty about my previous life as a rich businessman. Yes, I made some $250 million in free enterprise and am proud I did – just as Berry Gordy is proud that he produced millions at Motown and Steve Jobs was proud he yielded billions at Apple. Like these respected and wealthy entrepreneurs, I added value, delivered products and services that people wanted and created thousands of careers along the way.

At Bain Capital, my team and I took small and sometimes struggling companies, injected cash and – eight times out of 10 – made them blossom. Among our triumphs:

• Bain seeded Staples with $650,000. Its 1,500 stores now employ 88,000 people who generated $25 billion in revenues last year.

• Bain helped Sports Authority boom from 10 stores to almost 700 outlets and 15,000 employees.

• Brookstone reportedly was in "dire straits" before Bain's 1991 investment. It then opened 104 new shops, hired 741 people, and tripled net sales from $95 million to $270 million by 1999.

Atop private money, we added our management expertise to help our portfolio companies refine, manufacture and sell their market offerings. When we succeeded, we enjoyed the fruits of our labors. When we failed, we internalized our losses.

Contrast our venture capitalism with President Barack Obama's "venture socialism," as Sen. Jim DeMint, R-S.C., calls it. Obama has "invested" $34.7 billion in grants, loans and loan guarantees for "green" companies. The Energy Department boasts that this money has created 60,000 jobs. That equals $578,333 per position. This is nine times the private-sector cost.

Even worse, at least 10 of these companies took your tax dollars and then went broke. Beyond Solyndra and the $528 million it flushed down a solar toilet, consider these Obama-led bankruptcies:

• Raser Technologies got a $33 million stimulus grant. Its geothermal ambitions turned to steam, and it went bankrupt in April 2011.

• Ener1 received a $118.5 million government grant to make electric-car batteries. It lost power last Jan. 26.

• Aptera scored a $150 million federal loan to make three-wheeled electric cars. It drove into a ditch last Dec. 2.

Your taxes sponsored at least six similar Obama-backed bankruptcies.

Using my Bain skills, I hope to turn around another distressed enterprise: the American economy.

The growing and uplifting economy that most of us remember can rise again. The key is to starve and sedate the federal government that expanded for decades, became fat under President George W. Bush and then, under Obama, grew morbidly obese and openly hostile to job creators.

How, specifically, can we reverse this damage? For starters:

• An optional, 15 percent flat income tax would put today's flaccid 1.5 percent growth on steroids. So would cutting America's uncompetitive 35 percent corporate tax rate to 15 percent. Capping dividend and capital gains taxes at 15 percent also would electrify business investment and expansion.

• A moratorium on new regulations and a critical review of Dodd-Frank, Sarbanes-Oxley and other impenetrable laws would loosen and remove the red tape strangling American companies. Repealing and replacing Obamacare would be a powerful remedy.

• Freeze federal spending for one year, and then cut it 1 percent every year thereafter. Obama's 49.7 percent increase in U.S. national debt (from $10.63 trillion at his inaugural to $15.91 trillion today) bought America nothing. Enough!

I have a secret weapon to make this plan succeed: the American people.

We can inspire the world again with our products, inventions and ideas. First, we must pry Uncle Sam's unaffordable, dream-crushing boots from the necks of enterprising men and women. I have maximum confidence that when Washington once again is the home of our servants and not the mansion of our masters, this republic's emancipated citizens will reconstitute the economy, the society and the nation that we love, remember and miss so much.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Deroy Murdock is a columnist with Scripps Howard News Service and a media fellow with the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University.



Previously:

07/20/12: Obama's green projects bleeding red

07/13/12: EPA, why fine oil firms over fantasy biofuel?

07/06/12: How about remembering Mexican victims of 'Fast and Furious'?

06/29/12: Health-care victory will give Obama headaches

06/22/12: Mitt Romney, get on bus

06/18/12: The 'racist' Florida vote purge obeys federal law

06/08/12: Scott Walker's win should propel big reforms, stiffen pols' spines

06/01/12: Regulators regulate, and that's a problem

05/25/12: WWII hero Karski to receive U.S. Medal of Freedom

05/18/12: Not the behavior of normal Americans

05/18/12: Spacemen to NASA: Cool it on global warming

05/04/12: Libs want to plunge the penthouse

04/27/12: Obama and company are pushing hard on the pedal for deadlier cars

04/20/12: We don't need no stinkin' budget?

04/14/12: New Reasons to Hate Obamacare

04/06/12: Team Obama plays energy policy for laughs

03/30/12: Twitchy Dems need to let workers put tax-cut money in retirement funds

03/23/12: Why not $100-an-hour minimum wage?

03/15/12: The real (high) cost of Obama's health care act

03/09/12: Race-baiting Dems oppose voter ID

03/02/12: Forget kids --- today's debt hurts adults

02/24/12: Dems arise against Obamacare

02/17/12: The voting dead are understated

02/10/12: Holder takes on 'racist' photo-ID cards: Prejudice is widespread --- even Obama backed them

02/03/12: On tax plans, Gingrich trumps Romney

01/27/12: Photo IDs can protect elections, let dead rest

01/20/12: Romney runs hot and cold on global warming

01/13/12: Economic freedom declines in U.S.

01/06/12: Time to yank off Mitt's mask

12/23/11: Boehner hands Dems a gift

12/15/11: The U.S. could learn much from Hong Kong

12/09/11:$687 billion is available to Congress free of strings

12/02/11: Obama criticizes Wall Street but takes money from it

11/18/11: Puerto Rico shows Washington the way

11/11/11: Take heed, America: In Ohio even left-wing unionists voted to repeal ObamaCare

10/28/11: Thanks, Netanyahu, for surge of hardened terrorists

10/24/11:The Obama Spend-O-Rama

10/17/11: Cain stakes his viable claim just by showing up

10/07/11: Green jobs are national scandal

10/04/11: Obama proudly declares class war

09/23/11: Obama wrong about ‘Do-Nothing’ Congress

09/16/11: Obama needs Ryan's vision on jobs

09/09/11: Reaganomics trounces Obamanomics

09/02/11: Labor leaders to Obama: Stop killing jobs

08/26/11: Pro-market Perry vaults over Romney in GOP race

08/19/11: Some rich Americans will not rest until Washington boosts their taxes

08/12/11: Hope, change and free birth control for all

08/05/11: Debt deal does virtually nothing

07/21/11: Dems pro-choice on abortion but little else

07/15/11: Debt deception: If only Dems were honest and GOPers were courageous

07/08/11: Congress' war on light bulb blows up





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles