Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Aug 6, 2012 / 18 Menachem-Av, 5772

'100 Houses:' Help board up danger

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | They were homes once, but they are homes no longer. They are hollow dangers. Hiding places. Drug houses.

They are lurching shadows that stare down our city's children as they walk to school. There's a real home; there's a shell of a house. There's a neighbor; there's two shells of houses. A child wonders who just ducked behind a smashed window, or why that doorway is wide open.

The child is scared -- with good reason.

And we need to stop it.

On Aug. 25, I am helping organize an event called "100 Houses" to make those streets a bit less frightening for kids. The goal is ambitious, but simple:

Board up 100 houses in a single day.

That's right, 100 houses.

We can do this. In a way, we must. Because The Abandoned Home has become a terrible symbol of Detroit. Left behind by someone who couldn't pay the mortgage. Bid farewell by someone who couldn't deal with the city. These places, like animal carcasses, are quickly stripped of anything valuable -- right down to the pipes -- and then begin their steady slide into the muck. The windows and doors are soon gone, smashed or destroyed by people wanting to use the place for shelter, hiding, prostitution, drugs.

When one house like that goes down, it affects the block. When many go down, it affects the neighborhood. Families leave. They walk away.

And what's the result?

Another abandoned house.

Several times over the last few weeks, we rode and walked the streets of the chosen "100 Houses" neighborhood, around Osborn High School, by 7 Mile and Hoover. There is an elementary school in the area and several parks as well. We charted the structures we plan to board up. On streets like Dresden, Waltham, Goulburn, Alcoy. Two-story houses. One-story houses. Wood. Brick. With porches. Without porches.

Most were once fine homes. Now they are bent, broken, peeling, knocked full of holes.

"What are you all gonna do?" we were asked by teenagers and middle-aged men, who wandered over in curiosity.

"We're going to board these up," we answered.

"About time," came the frequent response.

And it is. Look. We're not kidding ourselves that this is a permanent solution. That will come when these structures are knocked down or refurbished and occupied by hopeful citizens rebuilding their neighborhoods.

But if we don't patch up the blocks that still hold families, there may not be neighborhoods to rebuild. The city doesn't have the money. It won't for some time. There are an estimated 40,000 abandoned structures in the city, and, according to a Free Press analysis, more than 5,000 within a quarter-mile of schools.

The state Legislature and governor have allocated $10 million to knock down hundreds. Good, but not enough.

Mayor Dave Bing has plans to raze 1,500. Good, but not enough.

So we need to kick in. Human capital can best make our city human again.

That's you and me. Here is the number to volunteer for the "100 Houses:" 1-866-992-GIVE.

Are you up for boarding up?

Already, several generous and civic-minded companies have jumped on board "100 Houses." Bolyard Lumber in Birmingham is providing all the wood. Belfor, a property restoration company headquartered in Livonia, is cutting the wood and providing men, equipment and dumpsters. Mosher & Associates in Birmingham is bringing crew and clearing the brush and overgrowth that makes these properties even scarier. Home Depot has offered to help. Blight Busters, Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries and other community groups are pitching in.

We are looking for volunteers. You needn't be an expert, just willing to help. The event will start at 8 a.m., and finish, hopefully, early afternoon. We will gather at Osborn parking lot and move to the assigned houses. All materials will be provided. You need only bring the spirit -- unless you happen to be a master carpenter, in which case, call even faster.

The number: 1-866-992-GIVE. Or go to 2atimetohelp.org.1

No, we won't fix the city in a day. But there will be 100 fewer dark and shadowy dangers to kids who head back to school in a few weeks. You start with 100, you see where it takes you. Maybe someplace great.

At the very least, in the right direction.

See you on the 25th.




Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2012, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles