Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 30, 2011 / 30 Menachem-Av, 5771

‘Mancession’ opportunity

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It sounds good to me.

You see, the recession that began in December 2007 hit male-dominated industries, such as construction, harder than female-dominated industries.

The male unemployment rate hit 10.4 percent in November 2010, whereas the female unemployment rate hovered at 8 percent.

This "mancession" has resulted in some interesting domestic changes for some guys, according to a University of Kansas study featured in U.S. News & World Report.

More men have taken on housework and full-time child-rearing as their wives have gone off to work.

It is true that older men from the John Wayne era would never have felt comfortable doing housework while their wives went off to earn dough, but times are changing.

The fellows cited in the study aren't happy about staying home, either. They are depressed about being out of work.

Then again, they see no shame in caring for their kids and doing the laundry. They are simply doing what they must to survive this nasty recession.

But, as I said, what they are doing suddenly sounds pretty good to me.

I've been working a long time now. During this recession, I have been working harder than ever, and I know I am lucky to have good revenue coming in.

But I am tired and ready for a change.

Why, if the right woman came along, with the right six-figure job, I just might chuck it all to settle down and stay home with our kids.

I'll gladly watch soap operas and Dr. Phil and clap enthusiastically the first time junior uses the potty to go "No. 2."

I'll teach our children everything I know. They may never get an "A" in art class, but I assure you they will never lose at beer pong.

I'll keep the house clean and free of dust -- which, apparently, is a mix of fine particles that settle on furniture. I'll hire a maid to do that -- and when I get caught, I'll deny it.

I know that in this recession, a woman with a big enough salary has her pick of mates. Why choose a 40-something writer rather than a 25-year-old tennis pro, you say?

Well, it is true that the svelte look I had in my 20s can be better described as "big-boned," but our catastrophic economy is no time for pretty boys.

Today's high-paid woman should be looking for an experienced, refined fellow, whose qualities, like a good bourbon, have improved with time.

Consider: I no longer need to date every pretty woman I meet. I have done that. I am exhausted. I will be more loyal than a Labrador.

Unlike younger men, who know nothing about the art of romance, I will hold the car door open for my high-paid wife. I'll whisper sweet nothings into her ear, even if I don't mean them.

I'll remember important dates, such as anniversaries -- thanks to Google Calendar.

I'll charm the heck out of her, too. Unlike younger men, I have had 20 years to perfect my excuses and half-truths.

I'll have a charming answer to every question, even the granddaddy of them all: "Does this outfit make me look fat?"

Look, ladies, difficult times call for difficult actions. A mancession is on and it doesn't look like it is going to get better anytime soon.

If you are lucky enough to have a six-figure income, you need to do your part and help out fellows who have been getting banged up by this economy.

So long as you cover our country-club memberships and truck payments, we'll treat you like gold.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles