Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 29, 2011 / 29 Menachem-Av, 5771

One Thing Steve Jobs Couldn't Change: Our Mortality

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Wall Street Journal headline read: "Jobs' Legacy: Changing How We Live."

Well. Yes and no.

No doubt Steve Jobs, who announced his resignation this past week, had an impact on the world. The man who shaped Apple into the most influential company of our time also changed global technology forever.

Go anywhere on the planet. See a kid with an iPod. A businessman with an iPad. Teenagers with iPhones. A row of Apple computers in a classroom. All of it began somewhere in Jobs' amazing mind.

The music business was revamped because of Apple. The computer business was revamped because of Apple. The cellular phone business, the book business, the on-line shopping business, the app business -- all have been forged, molded, rewritten or turned on their ears by Apple.

And Jobs was involved with all of it.

So, yes, considering how those things affect our day-to-day existence, you have to say Jobs changed "how we live."

On the other hand, he quit because he's sick.

And in that way, nothing's changed since the dawn of time.

Jobs is a harsh yet humbling reminder that we can never overpower our mortality. History is rife with men who seemed to build their way past the grave. Pharaoh. Alexander the Great. Countless emperors and kings.

In the end, no matter how large their tombs or how jeweled their coffins, they left the world as they entered it.

Jobs has built the modern day equivalent of the Pyramids, he has wealth beyond measure and creations that will go down in history. Yet he is only 56, a relatively young man by today's standards. And while details of his illness are a bigger secret than the insides of the next iPhone, he has previously struggled through pancreatic cancer and a liver transplant. He has had several health-related leaves of absence.

Now he steps aside permanently from the role that was his birthright. His mind is still up to the task.

His body is not.

"I have always said if there ever came a day when I could no longer meet my duties and expectations as Apple's CEO, I would be the first to let you know," Jobs wrote in his resignation letter. "Unfortunately, that day has come."

And with that, a man who thinks beyond most of his contemporaries may face his mortality before them.

We live in heady times. Think about the powerful men who have been felled in the last 10 years. The iconic -- from Walter Cronkite to Michael Jackson -- took their last breaths, despite being considered the best in their fields. The villainous -- like Osama bin Laden or Saddam Hussein -- are gone from the world, despite their desires to control it. The ironfisted -- like Tunisia's Zine El Abidine Ben Ali or Egypt's Hosni Murbarak -- have lost their grip, despite the decades they held it.

No amount of power is permanent. No list of accomplishments is a shield. No bright light of fame can throw a larger shadow than the one that overtakes you in the end.

Steve Jobs changed so many things, from tiny music players to complex operating systems, things that improved the efficiency of our lives, the speed of our lives, the entertainment, communication and wow factor of our lives.

But he did not change "how we live" -- not in the big picture. We're still born, we still die and we're still here for a limited yet unknown period. Some of us smoke and drink and live to be 90. Some of us exercise, watch our weight and get a terminal illness at 35.

I once read where Jobs told a reporter that he was saddened when his business took him away from his children for more than a day or two. It was a rare glimpse into a closely guarded private life. Yet it spoke to something I imagine he feels even more strongly today.

We are still, no matter what our accomplishments, only human. And the ultimate operating system is still a mystery.




Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles