Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 25, 2011 / 25 Menachem-Av, 5771

When in an earthquake, block traffic

By Dale McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My first earthquake terrified me and then immediately came as a great relief.

I was a Peace Corps volunteer in a two-room high school in Africa's Great Rift Valley. Any map will show you that the Valley is almost the perfect representation of what an earthquake-prone area looks like. The school had only a headmaster and two teachers, me and my friend, who had graduated in chemistry and taught science.

One day a government truck dropped off, without explanation, two large boxes. They turned out to contain science teaching materials but they were meant for schools two to four times the size of ours. But government ministries never make mistakes so we were left with a surplus of really cool stuff, including phosphorous, magnesium, some other stuff that I didn't know about and a large container of pure alcohol.

Taking only what we needed, we spent the evening drinking fresh pineapple juice lightly diluted with alcohol and setting off explosions in the front yard. For many of our students it was the high point of their science education.

That night, we packed away and locked up everything, making double certain that the phosphorous was stored immersed in water in a secure leak proof container.

In the middle of the night, there was a loud rumbling and the house was shaken back and forth and up and down. I kept a death grip on the bed, which was hopping up and down around the room.

"Oh, god," I thought. "We've blown up the school." The earthquake, which I imagine was fairly severe, did no discernible damage because in that part of Africa there wasn't much to damage. And all the science stuff was safe and accounted for, if you didn't count too carefully.

My second earthquake was Tuesday. It was a 5.8 magnitude temblor in southern Virginia that in Washington, D.C., lasted a few seconds, enough to knock some pictures off the wall, dump supplies off the shelf and spill everybody's drinks at the sidewalk cafes.

There were miniscule cracks in the capstone of the Washington Monument and, more seriously, some fallen finials from the bell tower and a cracked flying buttress at the Washington Cathedral. Some brick walls partially collapsed in the suburbs but brick walls are always partially collapsing in the suburbs, most often when an addled driver steps on the wrong pedal.

The first solid warning of the quake was a full 15 minutes notice given by the red ruffed lemurs at the National Zoo, which started "alarm calling" to one another. If you're moving to earthquake country, you might want to pack a couple of red ruffed lemurs, which are kind of cute as well as alert.

The Capitol, White House and congressional office buildings were quickly and efficiently evacuated, which always evokes this response in Washington veterans: "Hey, aren't you guys supposed to stay at your posts?" None of them is going down with the ship; they're not even going to get close to it.

Our office building evacuated quickly and orderly. My own personal office didn't evacuate at all because I couldn't see walking down 10 flights of stairs on arthritic knees. Besides, there was no way they were going to pin this earthquake on me. We're not allowed to keep explosives and liquor in our offices.

Looking out my window, I could see the sidewalks packed with evacuees looking up expectantly at their buildings. This is exactly what you're not to do because in a real earthquake the building would begin shedding roof parapets, stone cladding and plate glass.

By working through the earthquake, I planned to finish my work and slip out early but foolishly I had forgotten Washingtonians' automatic reaction to disruptions: They hop in their cars and go clog the nearest intersection, needlessly tying up traffic for hours.

For many commuters, that was the real disaster.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

08/23/11 A case for discretion in deportation arrests

08/22/11 Tough times or not, parents shell out for school

08/18/11 Being unpleasant for fun, profit, promotion

08/17/11 Time to prepare for the end game in Libya

08/16/11: ‘Super Committee’ starts facing reality

08/15/11: World's fastest plane disappears even faster

08/12/11: British cops track rioters through security cameras

08/11/11: Relax. There is no Death Star

08/10/11: House pages run final errands

08/09/11: U.S. treading water on job creation

08/08/11: Uncle Sam, the world's permanent guest

08/05/11: Most 9/11 victims not on federal death records

08/04/11: Russian PM calls U.S. a ‘parasite.’ He should be so lucky

08/03/11: Congress goes from one bind to another

08/02/11: D.B. Cooper may no longer be a mystery

08/01/11: Libya's latest weapon against NATO --- lawsuits

07/29/11: He'll always be known as Hot Wheels Handler

07/25/11: Recruiting children to save a dying town

07/22/11: Bachmann's admirable medical candor

07/12/11: Social Security's grave mistakes

07/08/11: Debt crisis need not be constitutional crisis

07/07/11: Startups entice new talent with kickball, treehouses

07/05/11: Stranded tourists get rare treat

06/30/11: The dollar Americans refuse to spend

06/27/11: The hangman doesn't cometh





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles