Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 18, 2011 / 18 Menachem-Av, 5771

Being unpleasant for fun, profit, promotion

By Dale McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Three distinguished university professors probably were unaware of what they started when they published their study, "Do Nice Guys -- and Gals -- Really Finish Last? The Joint Effects of Sex and Agreeableness on Income."

The answer is maybe not last but not a close second either, especially for men. You may want to run out and get your copy of the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. It may contain important career advice.

In a survey of 3,500 workers, men who described themselves as being nice, easy, cooperative and kind earned 18 percent less -- $9,770 a year -- than men who described themselves as disagreeable.

The professors were clever if they got workers to describe themselves as disagreeable. Filling out a test for your company generally entails trying to dope out what qualities the brass are looking for and tailoring the answers to fit. There's generally a category where you're asked to describe your worst quality. It should be one of the following: (a) I expect too much of myself and drive myself too hard. (b) I can't let go of a project until I'm sure it's perfect. (c) I care just too damn much about this company.

But co-author Timothy Judge of Notre Dame zeroes in on "agreeableness," one of psychology's Big Five dimensions in describing the human personality. "It generally refers to someone who is warm, sympathetic, kind and cooperative (in short, a 'nice' person), and is the most valued characteristic cited when people are asked to identify with whom they want to spend time."

I can see those qualities disqualifying someone from being a linebacker for the Pittsburgh Steelers or an enforcer for the Philadelphia Flyers. But aren't our workplaces supposed to be pleasant? Apparently not. Employers have decided that we can't have nice people cluttering up our cubicles, perhaps ruling out the entire state of Minnesota for employment on the grounds of excessive niceness.

The situation is not quite as bad for women but probably because they don't make that much in the first place. Disagreeable women make only 5 percent -- $1,828 a year -- more than their more pleasant sisters.

This is America so the Internet is full of self-help for people who want to be unpleasant at work, although my experience is they come by it naturally. But the evidence is there. Judge and his colleague, Beth Livingston of Cornell and Charlice Hurst of the University of Western Ontario (A Canadian? That means the situation really is bad) conclude, "Agreeableness is negatively related to income and earnings."

Some of the websites counsel insults like:

"I'll try being nicer if you'll try being smarter."

"Are you always this stupid or are you making a special effort today."

"He does the work of three men: Larry, Curly and Moe."

I knew a copy editor who, when confronted with a particularly impenetrable piece of reporting, would console the reporter, "Maybe it read better in the original Urdu."

Where Judge and company come in is conducting seminars on the fine line between being forceful in presentations, willing to buck the consensus of a meeting and howling with laughter when management says the staff has to do more with less and being so annoying to your coworkers you're afraid to get in the elevator with them.

Some of the telltale signs you may have crossed the line: The sandwich you left in the office refrigerator for lunch smells faintly of cat urine. You are regularly misinformed about meeting times. On your day off the sweet young intern is given your computer to write her church dinner story and every icon she touches leads to a porn site.

Maybe one of the reasons the agreeable people aren't paid as well is that they spent so much company time plotting against the disagreeable people.

I used to work at an adjoining desk with another reporter. We would schmooze as our shift came to an end and precisely when it did, he would abruptly stand up and announce "I'd stay and talk with you but I'm on my own time now."

I'm on my own time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

08/17/11 Time to prepare for the end game in Libya

08/16/11: ‘Super Committee’ starts facing reality

08/15/11: World's fastest plane disappears even faster

08/12/11: British cops track rioters through security cameras

08/11/11: Relax. There is no Death Star

08/10/11: House pages run final errands

08/09/11: U.S. treading water on job creation

08/08/11: Uncle Sam, the world's permanent guest

08/05/11: Most 9/11 victims not on federal death records

08/04/11: Russian PM calls U.S. a ‘parasite.’ He should be so lucky

08/03/11: Congress goes from one bind to another

08/02/11: D.B. Cooper may no longer be a mystery

08/01/11: Libya's latest weapon against NATO --- lawsuits

07/29/11: He'll always be known as Hot Wheels Handler

07/25/11: Recruiting children to save a dying town

07/22/11: Bachmann's admirable medical candor

07/12/11: Social Security's grave mistakes

07/08/11: Debt crisis need not be constitutional crisis

07/07/11: Startups entice new talent with kickball, treehouses

07/05/11: Stranded tourists get rare treat

06/30/11: The dollar Americans refuse to spend

06/27/11: The hangman doesn't cometh





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles