Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 8, 2011 / 8 Menachem-Av, 5771

Uncle Sam, the world's permanent guest

By Dale McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Iraq's debate over whether U.S. troops should stay is rising to the level of farce. Of course we're going to stay. We almost always do.

President Jalal Talabani and Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki have authorized the government, meaning themselves, to negotiate the terms of keeping U.S. troops there past the year-end deadline for their departure.

The Iraqis seem to think we find their politics as fascinating as they do -- endless palaver, endless cups of tea, endless inability to come to a conclusion.

But Adm. Mike Mullen, chairman of the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff, made it as clear as possible, at least in English. (Who knows what the Arab translation was?) He said: "You get to a point in time where you just can't turn back and all the troops must leave. That's why it's so important to make the decision absolutely as soon as possible."

That phrase "as soon as possible" seems to have a certain elasticity in the Mideast, which raises the spectacle of Talabani and Maliki on Dec. 31 sprinting down Iraq's Highway 8, sandals slapping on the pavement, and yelling, "Wait! Wait! Don't go. We really want you to stay. We need you to stay."

The convoy will laboriously turn around and head back to the outskirts of Baghdad, where the U.S. troops will be kept discreetly out of sight, as best that can be done with 10,000 soldiers and their full complement of war toys.

The troops will mostly be trainers for the Iraqi forces, but also on hand if Iran gets too meddlesome or the venomously anti-American Shiite leader Muqtada al-Sadr begins taking himself too seriously. He messed with U.S. troops once before and quickly decided that several years in religious seclusion in Iran was a better option.

How long will we stay? We've been in Japan and Germany for 66 years.

Japan's biggest objection is that the Marines in Okinawa make too much noise; the Japanese and U.S. governments have worked hard to find another base, but it's a small and crowded island. However, at least we're trying.

In 2003, when President George W. Bush and Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld were considering bringing some U.S. troops home from Germany and deploying others farther east to Poland and Ukraine, a delegation of mayors from German cities with U.S. troops came to Washington to ask the Pentagon to please, please let them stay.

There were, of course, economic reasons for the mayors wanting the troops to stay, but the upshot of their press conference was that they simply liked having them around.

The Korean War went into pause mode in 1953, and we're still there. It's not so much the attraction of Korean cuisine and culture as the 1 million heavily armed North Korean troops, poised on the border and led by a madman, who simmer with envy at the well-fed South Koreans, with their cars, flat-screen TVs and foreign travel, while the Northerners eat grass and wear unbelievably dowdy boiler suits.

We have troops in more than 140 foreign countries. It's just something to do. We might even still be in the Philippines after more than 100 years if a giant volcano eruption hadn't hurried our departure. After the Mexican-American War, we discovered that we liked northern Mexico so much that we stayed and are still there -- although we now call the area Texas, California, New Mexico and Arizona.

There's just something about the United States and its wars that when we find a place we like we tend to stay. Just ask the American Indians.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

08/05/11: Most 9/11 victims not on federal death records

08/04/11: Russian PM calls U.S. a ‘parasite.’ He should be so lucky

08/03/11: Congress goes from one bind to another

08/02/11: D.B. Cooper may no longer be a mystery

08/01/11: Libya's latest weapon against NATO --- lawsuits

07/29/11: He'll always be known as Hot Wheels Handler

07/25/11: Recruiting children to save a dying town

07/22/11: Bachmann's admirable medical candor

07/12/11: Social Security's grave mistakes

07/08/11: Debt crisis need not be constitutional crisis

07/07/11: Startups entice new talent with kickball, treehouses

07/05/11: Stranded tourists get rare treat

06/30/11: The dollar Americans refuse to spend

06/27/11: The hangman doesn't cometh





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles