Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2010/ 29 Menachem-Av, 5770

It's ‘Only’ One Dead Nun

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It reads like a Hollywood script: one nun killed, two critically injured by an illegal alien driving drunk. Perpetrator Carlos A. Martinelly Montano has been here for several years. He has two prior drunk driving convictions, for which he received a 30-day jail sentence for the first--and served no time--and served only 20 days of an approximately one-year sentence for the second. He is turned over to federal immigration officials after the second conviction, but they release him twice while he's awaiting deportation hearings. So what's the major concern of pro-illegal alien types? Montano's uncle, Luis Ronald Montano, put it best: "He's getting used to crucify all the illegal aliens in the United States."

Sorry, but this is one American who couldn't give a rat's rear end about prosecuting law-breakers. Uncle Luis might have a scintilla of a point if this were nothing more than an isolated incident, but it's not--and every American knows it. According to FoxNews.com, "(N)early half of the 292,663 people deported or removed by ICE this year through July 22 were considered criminals."

And that number reflects only the illegals ICE caught, processed--and deported.

In fact, Montano's crime probably doesn't even make the Top Ten list of egregious crimes committed by illegals. That particular "honor" was likely snagged by one Rodolpho Godinez who, along with five other border-busters, attempted to execute four college students in Newark, NJ three years ago. Unfortunately for him, one of them, Natasha Aeriel, survived a gunshot wound to her face and fingered the killer. He was the first of the six gang-banging illegals convicted of that atrocity.

And make no mistake: atrocity is precisely the word. Prior to their murders, both women in the group were sexually molested. The perps also hacked their victims with machetes, or as murder victim Iofemi Hightower's great-uncle described it, "they cut my niece's face off. They cut her from cheek to cheek. They left her head hanging."

Still want to talk about crucifixion, uncle Luis?

The Obama administration's latest tack on the subject? With regard to Arizona, the FBI has just released statistics showing a "steady decline in crime" in all major metro areas of Arizona. Translation: things aren't as bad as people who support Arizona's get-tough law claim them to be.

Try selling that crap to the relatives of murdered rancher Robert Krentz or any of the other victims of the thousands of crimes committed every day by illegals. Try telling them that, for all intents and purposes, a "certain level" of violence or mayhem committed by people who shouldn't even be here is perfectly acceptable. Try telling them that it's acceptable for the federal government to ignore its Constitutionally-mandated requirement to "provide for the common defense."

Try telling them the government can't seal the border.

On the other hand, spare me the sob stories about our inability to deport the "11 million" illegals we hear so much about. First and foremost, how do we know that isn't a completely bogus number? How many of the hand-wringers--on both sides of the aisle--would be equally sanguine about amnesty if it concerned legalizing 30 or 40 million illegals?

Second, and equally bogus, is the scenario of "mass deportations." Solving that problem is a piece of cake: take away the incentive to be here, aka jobs, welfare, free education, free medical services, drivers' licenses etc., and illegal aliens will deport themselves. The timeline is completely irrelevant. Pretending they would all be forced to leave all at once on some giant bus caravan headed south is as intellectually dishonest as it gets.

But for the amnesty brigade, intellectual dishonesty is their stock in trade. Only such people could possibly contend that "illegal" and "legal" is an irrelevant distinction for classifying immigrants. Only such people could blithely ignore the reality that our current crisis is a direct consequence of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986--which promised exactly the same kind of "compromise" proposed by the open border crowd today: Grant amnesty first, and then we'll make sure that we enforce the laws regarding hiring, securing the border, etc.

The law enforcement part was an utter lie then, and it's still a lie today. But not because I say so. Because illegal immigrants themselves say so. The 1986 Act legalized approximately 2.7 million people. Today, using the low-end number, we're talking about granting the same amnesty to 11 million illegals. If the law enforcement provisions in '86 act had been implemented properly, a four-fold increase (again using the low-end number) in the number of illegals living in this country would have been impossible.

Bottom line: the overwhelming majority of Americans refused to be played for suckers by the ruling elites--again.

I am sick for the condition of our nation. There are substantial numbers of Americans for whom anything remotely resembling historical knowledge, intellectual consistency, emotional maturity or respect for our laws, traditions and culture have been trumped by an ideological rabidness that transcends common sense and common decency. It is a rabidness in which "anything goes as long as I agree with it," and anyone who doesn't is racist, homophobic, xenophobic, etc., etc. ad nauseam. It is the hallmark of people trapped in extended adolescence, most of whom couldn't make a cogent argument if their lives depended on it. It's unbridled emotion or nothing, and woe to those who dare to challenge their sacred worldview.

You're either with them--or you're mean-spirited and uncaring.

Such a worldview easily explains Immigration and Customs Enforcement head John Morton's statement last May that his agency "might not process" illegal aliens turned over to him by Arizona.

Translation: I don't like your law, you're not going to make me enforce it, so there--nah, nah, nah, nah-nah.

Once you toss serious arguments regarding illegal immigration in the garbage can, everything else becomes easy. It becomes easy to say illegals are "doing the jobs Americans won't do"--even in a country where fifteen million citizens are out of work. It becomes easy to say illegals are a "net plus" for our economy--until you realize, that even if it were true, you could make the same argument about convicted felons working on road gangs or pounding out license plates.

Would Americans be OK with greater numbers of murderers or rapists if they were a "net-plus" for the economy?

It become easy to say enforcing the law amounts to "racial profiling"--even as one ignores the reality that it isn't overwhelming numbers of Canadiens flooding over our northern border that's the problem, it's overwhelming numbers of Hispanics flowing over our southern border, but we're supposed to pretend it isn't. It becomes easy to say America should "open its arms to everyone who wants come here"--until you realize it's a complete mockery of the law and a big contributor to bankrupting the nation.

The real problem here is that America's elites--most of whom are leftists--insist on getting their way, irrespective of the wishes of ordinary Americans. Americans they consider terminally stupid for their failure to embrace the obviously superior values of American progressivism. The rule of law? A minor impediment to be tossed aside by their fellow travelers in the judiciary whenever necessary.

All for our own good, of course.

It isn't flying. The country is a boiling stew pot of resentment due almost exclusively to the recognition by most Americans that many of our institutions, including government, media, our schools and the economy have been hijacked by people for whom the "consent of the governed" is one of those quaint anachronisms that no longer applies. To them, most American are nothing more than lab rats to be manipulated by our betters. Betters for whom social engineering--leading directly to "social justice"--is a concept far better suited to running the country than such "messy" things as freedom, capitalism and individuality.

No one is more responsible for turning America into a nation of "us versus them" than our ruling elites. Let's put them out of our misery in November--and every other chance we get.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


08/06/10:
Incremental Tyranny
08/04/10: Ground Zero Mosque: Context Counts
08/02/10: The Arizona Ruling: a Gift for November
07/29/10: The United Cities of America
07/26/10: JournoList: ‘Coordinated’ Ideological Bankruptcy
07/20/10: Go For Broke Or Get Out of the Way
07/14/10: You're a Liberal/Progressive if You Believe…
07/12/10: $33-an-hour--For Sleeping On the Job
07/08/10: Extortionist Government
07/06/10: ‘Commerce Clause’ Totalitarians
07/01/10: Another Public School Travesty in MA
06/30/10: Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles