Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 4, 2009/ 14 Menachem-Av 5769

Au revoir, USA?

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Obama has been faltering of late, but I still hope he turns America into France.

I have been to Paris — ah, Grand Paree! I have sat for hours at sidewalk cafes sipping cafe au lait (that's milk and coffee, you uncultured Americans) and nodding approvingly as pretty women stroll by.

There is plenty of time to do such things in France.

The French know better than silly Americans what life is really about. It is about pleasant thoughts and sipping Courvoisier and knowing that no matter what happens, your government will take care of you.

French politicians made this promise during the 1970s. They massively expanded government entitlements of every kind in the process.

Unions are ultra-strong in France, where many people work for the government and everyone enjoys five weeks or more of paid vacation — and 22 paid holidays on top of that!

French employees need not worry about much. It is nearly impossible to be fired in France. Even if an employee screws up royally, he cannot be canned until an exhaustive and costly dismissal process is carried out.

Even now, months after the world economy has tanked and demand for products has crashed, French employers are still struggling to adjust their work force; French labor laws make it difficult to lay off employees.

Employers are wary of hiring for these reasons. Even when the world economy was booming, French unemployment rates were still hovering between 8 and 11 percent.

Sure, I know France's high taxes and high regulation have hampered economic growth for years — and growth and wealth generation are the only ways any government can meet its lofty promises.

I know, too, that the world has changed. Advances in technology have ushered in a truly global economy. Manufacturing plants and service centers can be set up and run efficiently almost anywhere in the world.

Every country is now in competition with almost every other, which doesn't bode well for France.

If you needed to build a plant, would you choose a place where the tax rates, regulations and costs are reasonable, or France, where you'll face burdens and obstacles of every kind?

It is true that most European nations know they are on an unsustainable path. They have begun to turn back government spending. They are reducing taxes to attract badly needed investment and growth.

I know it is odd that just as Europe turns away from big-spending policies that have proven not to work, Obama is rushing America toward the very same policies.

I know Americans should pay closer attention to what he is up to — and, if they don't like his proposals, be more active in stopping or shaping them before they become law.

But I hope he succeeds.

I hope he does cap carbon emissions — essentially taxing the bejeezus out of them — which will drive up the cost of utilities and everything that is manufactured and transported.

I hope he and Congress succeed in getting their mitts around the throat of our health care system — and borrow a trillion dollars more in the process.

I hope he succeeds in raising tax rates much higher — beyond those currently paid in many European countries.

Such measures will drive investment out of the United States. They will kill innovation and invention. They will damage our economy.

And then we can be more French!

Sure, I may find myself without gainful employment, but it will be OK. My government will take care of me.

Unlike the paltry payments unemployed Americans receive now, I will look forward to free health care, food, housing and generous stipends.

I'll have plenty enough money to sit at American sidewalk cafes sipping cafe au lait and nodding approvingly as pretty women stroll by.

America has already been on an unsustainable path. I know it cannot last. There is no way we can take on trillions more in debt to support European-style programs.

But I prefer not to worry about that. I prefer to live for the moment.

C'est la vie, America!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2009, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles