Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

The Gift of Boredom

By Rabbi Yonason Goldson





When being bombarded by our children's complaints this summer, remember: Ironically, boredom is the warped expression of human ambition

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, the wonderful days of summer. The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, the bees are buzzing, and I can relax in the tranquility of unstructured hours, serenaded by the lilting voices of my children calling out to me, one after another, "Dad, I'm bored!"


One wonders why children look so eagerly forward to the end of the school year. Yes, there are those parents who can afford to send their children to eight weeks of summer camp, arts and crafts camp, sports camp, music lessons, water parks, beach clubs, summer abroad programs, and Russian space-tourism training sessions. Other parents dissolve their children in water on the first Monday after school ends and siphon them into the portals of computers, Play Stations and X-Boxes, abandoning them to video games, television shows, DVDs, Facebook, and endless IM exchanges of wassup? nmjc, ttyl.


Still other parents are fortunate enough to have jobs that keep them out of the house while their children bemoan the endless hours of summer monotony. But it is my sad fate as a teacher to share the house with a passel of enervated teenagers, even if somehow I remain immune to the contagion of boredom that afflicts them every year from mid-June through late August.


My wife and I offer our children endless suggestions. Go for a bike ride. It's too hot. Call up a friend. Nobody's home. Read a book. I've read them all. Do a puzzle. That's boring! You're bored anyway; what's there to lose. [A symphony of groans, sighs, muttering, and rolling eyes.]


From whence comes this plague of boredom? Do Eskimo children complain of boredom during the four months of winter darkness? Did the children of feudal Europe or Botany Bay or the Great Depression whine relentlessly that there was nothing to do?


In one of Aesop's most enduing fables, the ant works diligently to lay away food for the winter while the grasshopper fiddles in the spring, dozes through the summer, and dances in the fall. When winter arrives, the ant retreats to her well-stocked home while the grasshopper slowly starves to death. (In the modern, politically correct version, the grasshopper begs the ant to have mercy and save his life. The ant gives the grasshopper a lecture on planning for the future and personal responsibility, then allows him to eat from her cupboard.)


But for all the value of its lesson, the fable misses a more subtle point. Even according to the modern version, the ant might have shown greater kindness had she left the grasshopper to die. A life of unearned and unapologetic leisure is at best half a life and, for many, is worse than no life at all. For insects to live out their days without meaning or purpose is no great loss. For a human being, it is the greatest of tragedies.


Ironically, boredom is the warped expression of human ambition. This may be counterintuitive, but it is not difficult to understand. People who truly lack ambition are blissfully content to sit for hours doing nothing without a whisper of complaint. For them, inactivity is not a scourge but an ideal.


In truth, boredom results from the clash between ambition and laziness. Part of us wants to achieve, to savor the sweet taste of accomplishment and success, to change the world and leave our mark on the face of history. But that persona must contend against an alter ego that wants others to do the job for him, that wants freedom from the onus of responsibility even when he has nothing else to occupy his time. And today, when electronic gadgetry and entertainment provide every kind of sensory stimulation while demanding no effort whatsoever, our aversion to effort and exertion immobilizes us like a mind-numbing barbiturate. In the words of Leo Buscalia, the self-actualization guru of the late 1970s: "If you're bored, then you're boring!"


Boredom is the clarion call of our souls, the needling alarm that prods us to stir from our torpor, to take up the banner of a meaningful life, and to pursue the fulfillment of our potential. It is the stinging reminder that, deep within the recesses of our hearts, we have no real desire to indulge the sedentary siren song of laziness. Our spiritual essence rebels against inactivity and inertia, rousing us to action by tarnishing the tranquility of our languor with painful tedium.


The yearning of the lazy one will destroy him, observes King Solomon, for his hands refuse to labor; all his days he indulges his desire. It is neither poverty nor excess that is the cruelest fate of the terminally lazy, but the vain frustration of ambition throwing itself ineffectually against the prison walls of lethargy. He has created for himself a living hell and, even more tragically, condemns himself to an eternal life of regret and remorse over opportunities missed when he arrives in the World to Come.


All this is lost — along with much of life's wisdom — on the unimpeachable certitude of the teenage mind. But at least I can make them pause for a moment; when next they complain of boredom, I reply, "That's wonderful! Boredom is good for you."


A dozen years from now maybe they'll remember and ponder and understand. For now, of course, they simply look at me like I'm insane. But they're teenagers; they're going to do that anyway.

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Yonason Goldson teaches at Block Yeshiva High School in St. Louis, MO, where he also writes and lectures. Visit him at http://torahideals.wordpress.com .






© 2009, Rabbi Yonason Goldson