Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 15, 2008 / 14 Menachem-Av 5768

The end of operating systems?

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I often tell people that my experiences with every version of Microsoft Windows - going back to 1.0, which I purchased at the very first Staples store in Cambridge, Mass. - resembles my pre-marriage dating life.


Before I met Jean, I'd find myself dating this or that young woman. Things would go along well for a time, and then I'd hear those much-dreaded words: "It's not you, Mark, it's me."


The syntax is different, but just about every version of Microsoft Windows with which I've worked for 22 years has ultimately issued the same message.


A couple of recent developments, then, raise an interesting question: Is there finally to be an end to Windows as we know it? The answer: perhaps, and perhaps sooner than we think.


Recently, a gaggle of journalists, led by the very-well-sourced Mary-Jo Foley of ZDNet.com, have written about "Midori," code name for the "next" operating system planned by Microsoft, one that will have an architecture devoid of any Windows "legacy code." The details are sketchy, of course, since the project is housed in the firm's "skunk works" where only the most advanced - as in, "somewhere down the road" - projects lie. But the thought is that computing will more and more take place in the Internet "cloud," or network, and that we'll all collaborate and interoperate together, IM'ing "Kumbaya" to each other, perhaps, instead of singing aloud.


Ironically, that sort of collaboration is available right now, albeit on computers running some sort of operating system and a Web browser, due to a rather interesting collaboration in real life: a group of Israeli and Palestinian techies have formed G.ho.st, which offers a "virtual computer" online. Sign up, create a user profile (your i.d. and password), and you can log into this "Global Hosted Operating System" from anywhere and get your work done. Oh, and for good measure, the package includes 3 Gigabytes of e-mail storage.


The desktop in this thing is icon-rich, with pictures of files, functions and programs. I could, for example, upload an Excel spreadsheet from my work computer and open it up in G.ho.st, and the macros apparently worked. However, in printing, some of the headers were truncated, which made a normally nice-looking document appear sloppy. It's early days, however.


Part of the appeal of G.ho.st is its collaborative functions: you can work with others across boundaries and borders - penetrating "walls" as a real ghost does, but via the Internet. Right now, the collaboration extends to file sharing and instant messaging, but if everyone is in the same "cloud," it's not a bad setup.


And you can't beat the cost: G.ho.st is free to individual users. I imagine the firm will "monetize" its work, at least in part, by offering site licenses and customization to large enterprises.


Most of the commands are consistent with Windows commands, but some aren't: it seems a mouse click is the only way to close a window, not the Control-W that many of us are familiar with. Response time, for launching applications and for working within those apps, seems more than reasonable. The "Zoho Editor," or word processor, started in the blink of an eye; relatively fast typing on my part didn't overwhelm it.


I'm not sure I'd be ready to commit an enterprise to this system, not without a lot more testing and usage. There may be other reservations users will develop, given that everything is run from, admittedly, one of the more volatile parts of the world. But given the determination of its top two executives: Zvi Schreiber, an Israeli, and Palestinian Tareq Maayah, I wouldn't be surprised if this project has far more than a G.ho.st of a chance.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles