Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 28, 2007 / 14 Elul, 5767

Is your Spiritual Portfolio in balance?

By Amy H. Lederman


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

It takes knowledge, discipline and personal awareness to properly manage ... that which matters most


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I grew up in a home where money was talked about openly and often. Not about how much money my dad made or about what other people earned, but about how to invest the money we had so that it would grow for our future.


"Most people make money with their hands, but if you're smart, you'll learn how to make money with you head," Dad would counsel me over chicken and green beans. And so, unlike other girls my age, I knew as much about stocks, bonds and price/earning ratios as I did about lip gloss, cheerleading and the Beatles. The net result was that I have invested in the stock market since the time I received my first paycheck.


Looking at my portfolio, especially at this time of year, reminds me of something that my father and I never discussed when I was young — whether my spiritual life is in order. Why the connection?


Because during the current Jewish month of Elul, that leads into Rosh Hashanah, we are challenged as Jews to evaluate our inner life and our outer commitments. This is the time of year when we take a hard look at our relationships, our obligations, our successes and our failings — to honestly assess if our "spiritual portfolio" needs to be rebalanced.


At Rosh Hashanah, we are required to ask ourselves questions like: What am I doing with my life? Am I satisfied with my goals, relationships and commitments? Do I give enough of myself? Where am I in my relationship with G-d? What do I want to change in the coming year? Can I be better person, a more compassionate friend, a more caring daughter, a more supportive spouse? This type of hard questioning is called a Cheshbon HaNefesh, which in Hebrew literally means "an accounting of the soul."


In financial matters, it takes knowledge, discipline and personal awareness to properly manage a portfolio. These are the identical qualities needed to balance our "spiritual portfolios."


We must seek out knowledge — about Jewish living and Jewish literacy from the many Jewish resources that surround us including our teachers, rabbis, family, friends and community. We need discipline — to monitor ourselves and make choices that will further our personal and spiritual goals, promises and commitments. And we must cultivate our personal awareness — of who we are today, who we want to become and what support we may need from family and community to move forward on our journey.


We are each unique in our efforts to renew our spiritual lives. As with investing, each person begins with a different degree of confidence, a different knowledge base, and different fears or aversions. Yet Rosh Hashanah levels the spiritual playing field in that it gives each one of us an annual opportunity to engage in meaningful questioning and introspection which can lead to personal renewal and spiritual rebalancing.


It is a beautiful reminder that we can always renew our commitment to live life with intention and purpose.

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Amy Hirshberg Lederman is a nationally syndicated columnist, educator, public speaker and attorney. Comment by clicking here.



ENJOYED THIS ESSAY? THEN ...

"To Life! Jewish Reflections on Everyday Living" will be a must-read.


Sales also help fund JWR.





© 2007, Amy Hirshberg Lederman