Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 1, 2005 / 25 Tammuz, 5765

The Catholic Thing

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some critics question whether John Roberts should be confirmed to the Supreme Court because he is Catholic. He should be confirmed BECAUSE he is Catholic.

Like Roberts, I went to Catholic school as a lad — or, to be more precise, I survived it. I fondly remember how my 2nd grade nun, Sister Mary Brass Knuckles, swatted my hands with a steel ruler every time my homework was incomplete.

I doubt Roberts ever came to school without his homework complete, but he surely witnessed daily torture and humiliation at the hands of unbridled power. You'd think his experience with the nuns would ingratiate him with liberals, as it could make him more sensitive to the plight of detainees at Guantanamo Bay.

Like all Catholics, Roberts has surely been to Confession. This sacrament forces a man to look inside his own heart. There is nothing more humbling than kneeling down before another human being and saying out loud ALL the stupid things you've done.

Not only can this take some time — I usually hand out sandwiches and refreshments to the folks waiting behind me — but it also results in penance. Usually the penance involves a prayer or a charitable deed, though I think it was over the top that father made me purchase a fleet of Acuras for the sisters. I also think that particular sin was worth it.

In any event, Roberts surely learned important lessons from going to Confession. He learned humility, that there is an overriding truth, and that it is his job as a human to root out his own conceits so that he may better understand and align himself with that truth.

Isn't such humility the most important quality we'd want in any justice? Don't we all want a justice who will use his position not to advance his own agenda, but to understand the meaning of our laws?

Roberts is said to be a witty fellow, and this may also be attributed to his faith. Catholics tend to have a good sense of humor. We love jokes, such as the one about the nun who bumps into an old student after many years.

"So what are you doing with your life, Susie?" says the nun. "Sister, you will not like this but I must tell you the truth. I am a prostitute."

The sister becomes very angry and lectures the young woman on her poor decision. As the girl attempts to defend herself, the nun becomes greatly relieved.

"Prostitute!" says the nun, "I thought you said Protestant!"

A sense of humor is badly needed in Washington, D.C., particularly at a time when so many folks are taking themselves so seriously. A lack of a sense of humor can blind a person, make him get lost in the narrowness of his own ideas.

Where there is humor, there is honesty and humility, and where there is honesty and humility you'll find people who seek to understand other people's ideas, not impose their own.

There are numerous reasons why being Catholic is excellent preparation for serving on the Supreme Court. A devoted Catholic is someone who works hard to avoid all the sins common to mankind in general (pride, envy, gluttony, lust, anger, greed, sloth) and Teddy Kennedy in particular.

Donate to JWR


A devoted Catholic is someone who prays and fasts and listens, someone who hopes to attain grace. Grace is what opens up his heart and mind, so that he may be more courageous, prudent and just.

Some critics worry that a devoted Catholic could take a narrow-minded approach to issues such as abortion and gay marriage, but I'll bet he'd go the opposite direction.

I'll bet he'd be more likely to serve humbly to advance something greater than himself, the law itself. I'll bet he'd be less likely to twist and contort the law to achieve a desired outcome.

If he tried such a thing, one of his old nuns will track him down and whack him on the knuckles with a ruler.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles