Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 26, 2005 / 21 Av, 5765

A RazzBerry for the BlueBerry

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I hate to be the one to break this to you, but blackberries and blueberries aren't just for pies and cobblers anymore.

The BlackBerry was one of the first PDAs (personal data assistants) that combined cell phone, walkie-talkie, e-mail and GPS technology with an electronic calendar all into one gizmo. BlackBerries were first used by spies and secret agent types, and then trickled down to wannabes with cash in their pockets.

Now comes the BlueBerry, the StrawBerry, and the GooseBerry, brightly colored simplified versions of the BlackBerry, marketed to 8- to12 year olds. Some kids consider them back-to-school necessities, right up there with glue sticks, safety scissors and a new tattoo.

I caught up with a kid hovering over a BlueBerry and asked what the deal was. ‘You seem young to be tracking your life on a BlueBerry, ’ I said. ‘Is that thing necessary? ’ The kid looked at me like I had asked if Harry Potter could do magic.

‘It is completely essential, ’ he said. ‘My mother used to keep track of my schedule when I was younger, but life was simple when I was 18 months old. Back then I only had Kiddie Gymboree, Guppie Swim Class, Mommy and Me Play Group, Nutty for Nature Symposium and Mon Genie French lessons. I really didn't need my own PDA until I was about 4. ’

‘What about when you were 2 and 3? ’

‘There was a lull in activity during the potty-training years. My Scooby Doo training pants phase was the last time I remember spending three consecutive days at home. ’

‘What happened once you were trained? ’

‘Scheduling picked up again. I entered the fine art phase. ’

‘You mean the art classes, dance lessons, piano lessons? ’

‘Yeah, theater auditions, museum tours, chorus groups. Would you excuse me, I have an incoming call. Yeah, OK . . . thanks Mom. ’

‘Your mother? ’

‘I have a 30-minute break tomorrow because my drum lesson was canceled, but she said not to plan anything as we'll use that time to have my teeth cleaned and finish the works of Shakespeare for my language arts class. Activities really pick up at my age. ’

‘And you're’

‘Eight, actually 8 and 1/2. ’

‘You have free time after school, don't you? ’

‘Take a look at my Thursdays, lady. I have student government before school, math enrichment after school, then SAT study session from 4 until 6. It's never too early to prepare for college. ’

‘When does your family have dinner together? ’

‘It's scheduled in here somewhere. Oh, here it is. We're doing family dinner the fourth Thursday in November. ’

‘Great. When do you get play time? ’

‘I play all the time. I play piano, I play drums, I play soccer. ’

‘No, I mean real play time. You know, just doing nothing, hanging out, riding bikes with your buddies? ’

Donate to JWR


‘I have 10 minutes free on Fridays between 5:55 and 6:05. I'll text message the kids on my contact list and see who is available. ’

The kid began scrolling through menus on his BlueBerry, then scrunched his face and gave me a funny look.

‘What's the matter? ’ I asked.

‘Lady, the time I spent talking to you just threw my schedule out of whack for the next three days. ’

‘Sorry, kid. Why don't I make it up to you with a blueberry pie? That's the best kind of blueberries — smothered with sugar and sandwiched between flaky crusts. ’

‘OK’ he said. ‘I've got some free time in February. ’

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2005, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles