Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 12, 2004 / 25 Menachem-Av, 5764

Pursuing Terror's Financiers: Time to Get Serious About The Saudi Connection

By Neal M. Sher


The former Director of the Office of Special Investigation in the US Justice Department wants to know why we must wait for a Hamas inspired, Saudi rewarded catastrophe to hit at home before we truly take seriously the threat posed by Saudi backing of terrorism


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | There is no way to sugar coat it: Saudi Arabia has for years been engaged in a criminal conspiracy to give aid, comfort and material support to mass murderers. That is the only conclusion to be drawn from the highly publicized announcement by Attorney General Ashcroft that a Dallas-based "charity", the Holy Land Foundation and seven of its official had been indicted for supporting the Hamas terrorist organization. The Saudi government, our supposed ally, has in reality been the Holy Land Foundation's partner in crime.


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


With an elevated terror alert, more stringent security measures and election day approaching, one cannot avoid wondering whether we are on the brink of another disaster as horrific as 9/11 or worse. As we cope with the prospect of a repeat calamity, we would do well to remember that the sophisticated and complex hijacking operation of three years ago is not the only form of terrorism against which we must guard. Indeed, many experts have long been warning that the this country is dangerously vulnerable to the types of individual suicide bombings to which Israel has been subjected for years and which we now see on an almost daily basis in Iraq.


It is within this context that the Justice Department deserves much credit for Holy Land indictment. Echoing President Bush's post-9/11 declaration of an all out military, diplomatic and law enforcement war on terror, General Ashcroft warned that the Holy Land Foundation prosecution makes clear that "[t]here is no distinction between those who carry out terrorist attacks and those who knowingly finance terrorist attacks...the Unites States will ensure that both terrorists and their financiers meet the same, certain justice."


Moreover, it is well understood that terror networks have no geographical bounds; tactics of indiscriminate murder learned in the Middle East under the guidance of the likes of Hamas have the potential of visiting wholesale destruction and wreaking havoc anywhere and everywhere, including the U.S; those who support such activities are accomplices to mass murder.

Donate to JWR


A key element to the indictment is the charge of engaging in a criminal conspiracy to finance the outlawed Hamas by providing funds earmarked for the families of suicide murderers. Through such support, the indictment reads, the defendants "effectively rewarded past, and encouraged future suicide bombings and terrorist activities...." And so, our government seeks to put the Holy Land Foundation Seven away for a long, long time. While the outcome, of course, remains to be seen, it would be naive to think that these defendants are the only ones who have been giving aid and financial comfort to the relatives deadly terrorists. Far from it.


Before its demise, Saddam's Iraq proudly, although not surprisingly gave, $25,000 to the families of suicide bombers. He was not in that murderous boat alone. His partner in what our government considers to be a serious crime was none other than the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Not some rogue Saudis, not a fringe element seeking to destabilize the nation. No, the Saudi government itself. And how do we know this? How can we be sure that this is not just another of what the Saudis have in the past described as a spurious, dastardly attempt to undermine the good name of the House of Saud. The answer is simple. There is evidence. Iron clad, irrefutable evidence in the form of documentation captured in 2002 from Palestinian Headquarters by Israel.


This material leaves no doubt that under the auspices and control of the Saudi Ministry of Interior large sums of money were directed through Hamas to support families of terrorists known to have carried out suicide bombings. The same type of bombings that are possible right in our own neighborhoods. Indeed, the documents actually provide the names of those involved and the details of their murderous acts. The families of each "martyr" received 20,000 Riyal, which was approximately $5300. Moreover, among the beneficiaries of Saudi largesse, was at least one family of a terrorist who murdered an American.


As if to highlight the extent of Saudi support for Hamas, the documents contain what amounts to a formal protest by Arafat to authorities in Riyadh, complaining that the funds should instead be directed to the Palestinian Authority rather than Hamas and other radical groups affiliated with it. Some of the very same Hamas affiliated "charitable" committees with which the Saudis dealt are also identified in the Holy Land Foundation indictment as facilitators and accomplices in terror.


These distressing facts about our supposed "ally" in the all out fight against terror have been known to the intelligence and law enforcement communities for some time. Saudi duplicity has even prompted the bi-partisan introduction last year of The Saudi Arabia Accountability Act, designed in part to press Saudi Arabia to desist from providing support for the families of known terrorists. Not surprisingly, Saudi apologists and spinmeisters immediately went to work and the proposals have not progressed through the legislative process.


So far, it seems rather clear that under the very standards established by our government, the Saudi regime has gotten away with supporting and facilitating mass murder. No amount of high priced, smoothly delivered double talk can change those hard facts. Must we wait for a Hamas inspired, Saudi rewarded catastrophe to hit at home before we truly take seriously the threat posed by Saudi backing of terrorism? First, we must not be taken in by the disingenuous rhetoric from slick officials at the Saudi Embassy; they must know that we mean business, and not just oil business. The passage of a strengthened Saudi Arabia Accountability Act would be a good beginning.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Neal M. Sher, a New York based government relations consultant, is the former Director of the Office of Special Investigation in the US Justice Department. Comment by clicking here.





© 2004, Neal M. Sher