Education

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Repairing emotional flat tires

By Amy Maughan




Too many of us live with depression, anxiety, low self-esteem and other insecurities instead of doing everything we can to heal our souls. Here are five ways to repair emotional flat tires and get us back on the road to quality, happier living.


JewishWorldReview.com | If you’ve ever been stuck on the road with a flat tire you know the frustration that comes with it. Whether you were handy enough to slap on a spare tire yourself, or had to call a tow truck, you took action because if you hadn’t, your car would still be sitting there.

Likewise, when our bodies are sick, hurt, or broken, we allow doctors to poke, stitch, bandage, X-ray, medicate and anything else that will restore us to health so we can get on with living. We charge phones, iron clothes, plunge toilets, water lawns and when our grown out highlights leave us looking like a striped-legged okapi, you can bet we head to the salon.

Yet, this diligence with repair and upkeep doesn’t always transfer when it comes to our emotional well-being. Too often, we live with depression, anxiety, low self-esteem and other negatives that hold us back instead of doing all we can to fix them. For chemical imbalances and other clinical diagnoses, we may need professional help. But there are many ways to boost our general psychological health, so why not repair our emotional flat tires with the same vigilance and urgency we’d devote to a stranded car?

Here are five “patches” that can help get our souls back on the road to a quality, satisfying existence:

1. Reframe disappointing events. We can’t live a life without setbacks, difficulties, and loss, but we can change the way we look at them. Those who find meaning in life’s challenges, for example, are better able to cope with their adversities.

In a powerful TED talk on the science of happiness, Dan Gilbert referenced a study that tracked new lottery winners and recent paraplegics, only to find no difference in their level of happiness after one year's time. This challenges our preconceived notions of what makes us happy, and reassures us that our joy can survive even the hardest trials as we allow our “psychological immune system” to compensate.

2. Find someone else’s balloon. There’s a great object lesson on the Internet that describes a seminar of people who were given the task of finding the one balloon with their name on it in a room filled with everyone’s balloons. Chaos ensued and nobody was successful until the speaker changed the assignment. When they were told to instead pick up any balloon and return it to its owner, the room cleared out quickly and everyone ended up with the right balloon. This demonstrates the concept that you find happiness not while chasing after your own, but by helping others achieve it.

3. Understand what you’re up against. In sports and other competitive events, the better you know your competition, the more accurately you can predict his or her M.O., and plan accordingly to defeat his or her moves, plays and strategies. Your only true competitor in the game of life is you, but the concept still applies.

The more realistic you are about your strengths and your limitations, the more effectively you can battle against yourself. Make it your goal to surpass your own expectations, remembering that comparison to anyone else will only be self-defeating. Someone will always be better than you, but you can always be better than you were yesterday, and recognizing this will work wonders for your self-esteem.

4. Give and be grateful. Gratitude has been shown to be far more than a polite approach to life. It is a principle of power that entreats the universe to work in your favor. Some psychologists believe gratitude to be “one of the keenest predictors of high subjective well-being.”


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Similarly, the importance of giving cannot be overstated. In this study, participants reported greater joy in buying gifts for others than for themselves, confirming the ol' Bible adage that giving is better than receiving. It's not a new concept, but it's imperative to remember, and even more important to act on.

5. Let it go. Idina Menzel’s power ballad from the Disney movie "Frozen" has taken the Internet by ice storm. Because the phrase can mean almost anything, it resonates with each of us in different ways. As soon as we let go of whatever we need to let go of, we’ll be freed up for greater joy and peace of mind.

This can mean kicking unrealistic expectations and/or perfectionism to the curb (goodbye, Pinterest party); ditching bad habits, vices, or addictions; forgiving someone — including ourselves; letting go of failure or heartache; and overcoming grudges, prejudices and anything else that keeps our happiness tethered to the (icy) ground.

Ups and downs are a natural part of life, but staying down for too long can be just as debilitating in our life journey as a flat tire is on a road trip. Every effort put into repairing our insides can inflate our spirits and move us from stuck to unstoppable.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Amy Maughan is a graduate of Brigham Young University and an MFA student at Vermont College of Fine Arts. She lives in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., with Superman and five offspring.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.









© 2014, KSL

Quantcast