Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 31, 2014 / 4 Menachem-Av, 5774

Teach your children well .. . about business

By Reg Henry




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of my favorite institutions in American life is also the most humble and is a feature of the hot days of my fondest season: the summer lemonade stand.

Staffed by neighborhood kids, the stand usually consists of a small table and a few chairs, one of which is usually occupied by a supervising adult who guards against untrustworthy lemonade drinkers. Sadly, it seems even the most innocent scene these days needs a watchful eye to keep it innocent.

Just the other day, I was a patron at a stand run by local kids. Their dad, a friend who is a heart surgeon in his other life, was on this afternoon the lemonade stand overseer. He told his kids to give me a free lemonade, but, using the logic of heath care billing, charged me $50 for the cup.

(OK, so he didn't charge me for the cup, but jokes are as much appreciated in the lemonade trade as they are in the columnist trade.)

The greater point is that the lemonade stand is an American cultural icon for a reason. Lemonade stands are private enterprise with training wheels, which is why I love them. (Admittedly, the cuteness factor is also a selling point.)

Without small business, America's economy would not have grown so big. Those of you born here may take this for granted. But on the other side of the world where I grew up, a kid who set up a lemonade stand might have had rocks thrown at him.

The culture was just different. In America, President Calvin Coolidge once plausibly said, "The chief business of the American people is business." In Australia, a prime minister of my generation could have plausibly said, "The chief business of the Australian people is drinking beer, having barbecues, playing sports and complaining about work."

Yes, it sounds bloody good, but someone has to create the jobs. The system depends upon it. The reality of the system for many of us came not in our formal education, but in the board game Monopoly — the pastime of choice on wet afternoons at the shore.

Monopoly is a real estate game, not a job creation game, but even a dim bulb on a wet afternoon can see that if someone is a successful entrepreneur in real life he or she can soon own a hotel on Boardwalk. Entrepreneurship, that's the ticket.

The trouble is that being an entrepreneur is a special talent not all of us have — for example, me. The sadness is that I actually look a bit like the famous Monopoly character — except for lacking the top hat, the bow tie, the cane and the general air of opulence. I do have the white mustache and the bald head.

It might have been different had I an early lemonade stand or at least some practical training in high school about starting a business. I am a veritable volcano of marketable ideas, but I smolder to no effective purpose. Why can't schools teach practical things about business as well as traditional courses? As it turns out, some do.

Last Friday, I went to a downtown Pittsburgh expo sponsored by Entrepreneuring Youth, a nonprofit organization that designs programs to teach the real-life experience of business creation to middle schoolers and high schoolers.

It currently serves 240 children from economically fragile neighborhoods, many of them minorities but not all. Last week's occasion was a market set up at lunchtime for the Junior Woodchucks of business to sell their wares.

That is where I met Nehemiah Brazil, 12, whose company was called SocksMania. He was selling dyed sports socks for $10 and hopes to be an entrepreneur because he doesn't want to work for somebody else when he grows up. Me too.

I also met Gerelle Porter, 13, of Chef G's Granola, who was selling self-made peanut butter, granola and honey creations for $1.50. Making a business helps you succeed in life, he said.

Most memorably, I met Ashantaya Lee, just 10 — although she will be 11 in August — who was selling potholders for $2 and lipstick made from crayons for $3. How did she become an entrepreneur? "We were bored, so what could we do?" A lot worse, I reckon.

Jerry Cozewith, Entrepreneuring Youth's president and a social worker by background, says its program goes beyond the old adage about teaching a person to fish — it teaches how to set up a fish shop too. "It is the smartest anti-poverty program I have ever seen," he says.

Indeed, it is way beyond lemonade stands, but just as sweet.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Reg Henry is a columnist at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.



Previously:


Rue the day when kids are brought to work

Weather generates a torrent of talk

Don't nod off --- this is the Winter Olympics

Save us all by shunning your urge to selfie

Let us now commemorate anniversary fatigue

New diet juices juicer sales but is hard to swallow

His philosophy on bar fights? Kant win(s)

Andy Warhol's grave exceeds 15 minutes of fame

All the right stuff? Not when downsizing

It's hard to get behind law on saggy pants

What makes U.S. so unhappy anyway?

Talking points? Raise your voice in protest

Yahoo! I don't have to telecommute

A sequestration only a Sasquatch could love

A quote! My kingdom for a good quote!

Super Bowl leaves dark stain on U.S. image

A confession to sin of shopping omission

Undecided voters are clearly in the wrong

These words can be irritating? Really?

A father's message is something to laugh at

Dear Friends: Facebook is, like, so lame

High Tide: the detergent drug dealers dig

It's funny how scary side effects can be

Must we meet so much? It's transparent

Why America needs a proper curmudgeon

A new grandfather's coming-of-age story

America still shows the power of the individual



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles