Education

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Does a mother's education matter? You better believe it!

By Gary And Joy Lundberg




Educated mothers find fulfillment as they use their skills in rearing their children. But it goes well beyond that


JewishWorldReview.com | Mothers who have at least some college education are better equipped to help their children achieve their life goals. Jenet Jacob Erickson, a university teacher, told of her summer experience in a mountain village in Guatemala teaching health and sanitation to schoolchildren. It didn't take her long to realize the real need. She said, "To improve the health and wellbeing of a community, the education of children is helpful. But the education of mothers — those who inculcate values and practices into the hearts and minds of the next generation—is vital."

We cannot fill the hearts and minds of children if we are not filled ourselves. A mother's education has a far reaching effect in the lives of her children. Following are reasons why it's so important. Testimonials are from mothers responding to my Facebook request.

1. Schools are not teaching important basics that matter to the overall education of our children.

If they are not learning it at school, where will they learn it? Peggy, a mother and grandmother wrote, "Well, let's see. Schools don't teach the American and world history I learned in school (and lived in my life), so I taught it to my sons and I am teaching it again to my grandkids. Schools don't teach grammar, so I teach it. Schools barely teach writing, let alone oration, so I teach it. Schools don't necessarily have kids read the classics, so I make sure they read them here so we can discuss them. Schools teach life skills, but I add to it: Cooking, sewing, setting a table, cleaning, laundry, gardening, etc."

Peggy went on to say that she graduated college with honors and has done post graduate studies. She has taught at universities and has had a successful business career; taking her children with her on occasions to see what she did. She wanted them to see, firsthand, some future career options for themselves. She said, "An uneducated mother hurts her children/grandchildren almost more than she hurts herself."

Grace wrote, "Nothing like a degree in English and a Masters in Literacy Education to help a mother figure out what her children are not being taught K-12. In the primary grades [my education] helped with everything from decoding to fluency. In secondary school, they had to be taught writing, spelling, rhetoric, literary analysis, and editing along with comprehension strategies for content area reading (especially Science.)"

2. It brings security to the family.

Karen wrote, "Getting an education has created a sense of security within the walls of our family. My course of study has taught me more about the anatomy of the body to facilitate health practices with my children. I am more equipped to take care of them without panic and racing to the emergency room, first. My children are now passing these health practices onto their children. Education is a beautiful thing! "

3. You may end up being the breadwinner for your family.

Rebecca wrote, "Never in my life did I think I would be a working mother. Not only was I working, but I was forced to become the family breadwinner. My husband had an accident at work and became disabled. This left him and me both devastated and concerned. I had attended only one semester at a community college and was unsure how I would get a job. Fortunately for me the Lord knew what was coming and had a plan. I was hired as an 8th grade para-professional. This will sound silly, but that 8th grade education taught me more than just reading and writing. I was able to learn new strategies to help my children learn in each of their special learning needs. I also learned to appreciate the importance of a good education. I learned to manage my time and set up a schedule and do many other beneficial things for my family."


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


4. You set an example for your children.

Susan wrote, "I have always stressed a good education to my children. I told them when they started college to never stop until you finish. Do not let a marriage or having children stop you because going back when you are raising a family of little ones or working full time is hard to do. The reason I stressed this was because I hadn't finished college yet. Currently, I am a senior majoring in Marriage and Family Professional. And I won't stop until I finish. My children are now grown and the corporate world changed. . . I realized now, all job applications are online and if future employers want a degree and you do not have one, the software filters will kick out your application and a human will never see it. The world has changed and now requires that college degree. It's that important!"

Marlene wrote, "Even though I was a stay-at-home mom, I've always sought educational opportunities for myself and my children. Because I had graduated from college, I could feel confident in encouraging my children to do the same. I began graduate school when our youngest two were in high school and they learned more self-sufficiency. I proudly displayed my A grades!"

5. You can help your family and others in ways you may never imagine until the need is there.

M'Lissa wrote, "The communication skills I have learned have greatly helped me communicate with my teenagers. Also, it expanded my views so that I could deal with hard family issues in sensitive ways without compromising what I believe."

Tonya wrote, "I never practiced my speech language pathology degree, but I've been able to help some friends recognize issues with their children that needed professional help that hadn't been noticed by annual checkups. I've been able to do simple therapies on my own children and friends' children to save oodles of moola, and it has helped me help my children learn how to read. . . So grateful for that background. I'm not sure how our family would've turned out without it!"

KEEP ON LEARNING

Mothers who keep on learning and expanding their education will find it of value not only to themselves and their family, but to society as a whole. So many people benefit from an educated mother.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Gary Lundberg is a licensed marriage and family therapist. Joy is a writer and lyricist. Together they present seminars and author books on relationships.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast