Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 28, 2014 / 1 Menachem-Av, 5774

A letter to nation on area code birthday

By Mitch Albom




JewishWorldReview.com | Dear America:

We just had a birthday. Our 313th. It was a bit of a big deal here, but I am guessing it makes no sense to you. Many things from Detroit do not.

So let me explain. Our 313th was significant because 313 is our area code. Yes. Our area code. It has been since they invented area codes. The whole city of Detroit. Even some adjacent communities, like Dearborn, Gross Pointe and Inkster.

All 313.

It hasn't changed for nearly 70 years. If you had a Detroit phone line during the Korean War, you could still have the same number today.

Now, in places like New York, this may seem ridiculous. You get new area codes as often as new suits. In fact, there are so many area codes for New Yorkers, I just assume I'll get a recording when I dial one. ("We're sorry, the area code for that number has been changed ")

But that's you. And this is us. And lately there's been a lot of chatter about us. First it was about how downtrodden Detroit was. Broke. Unemployed. Decaying. Corrupt. Scandalous. Bankrupt. Deserted.

Then, more recently, the chatter has changed. Coming back. Upswing. Renewal. Investment opportunity .

The truth is, we're still the 313.

And we're somewhere in between.

OUR TRADITION, OUR PRIDE

We were never the frozen wasteland our harshest critics told you. Never as dangerous as urban legends warned, never as on fire as Devil's Night suggested.

And we are not as upright as some breathless media now claim. Yes, we have some revamped office buildings, some new places to eat, some young folks taking loft apartments and some plans for a glitzy hockey arena. But our schools remain a nightmare, there are few thriving neighborhoods, unemployment is high, we are wildly underpopulated, and we're technically still in the bankruptcy woods.

What we are — what we remain — is a place that celebrates things like its 313th birthday. A place that immortalizes an annual car cruise down Woodward Avenue. That treats Opening Day of the baseball season as a religious experience. That considers walking around new cars in tuxedos and black dresses the biggest party of the year.

We are resilient in our traditions. Fiercely proud of own. We act as if Tim Allen still walks down our streets and Bob Seger is releasing a top 10 song this week, as if Motown is a thriving business , not a museum, and Gordie Howe could lace them up and play a few shifts if he wanted to.

We cling to things, foolishly sometimes, even naively. We write stories about Paczki Day every year, as if it's a new tradition. We refer to some pro athletes who have long since left the area as "Birmingham Brother Rice graduate ..."

We are provincial in the eyes of others. Quaint. Even amusing. Rust Belt Romantics.

But that's what keeps us going.

And it's the part — unless you live here — that you will never understand.

HARD WORK AND HOPE



Some cities pulse with the new. In Los Angeles, billboards shout the latest blockbuster movie, and you can feel the town breathe harder on Fridays when they're released. In New York, it's big when shows "open" on Broadway, and tabloids gush about new celebrities occupying the latest multimillion-dollar penthouses.

That's not us. Like the assembly lines that once defined this city, Detroit pulses not with change but with continuity, another after another. It is our strength. Our underpinning. Maybe even our flaw.

We embrace our traditions. We don't like it because it's new; we like it because we're used to it. We celebrate TV anchors who have been here for years, not the hotshots who just arrive. We adore the captains and lifers — Steve Yzerman, Joe Dumars — not the free-agent rent-a-stars.

We may be slow to get out of our own way, sticking with cars over mass transport, manufacturing over technology . But we stay. We believe. And we foresee our future because it is our past, when Detroit was the kind of thriving place we — and many of you — now hope it will become.

So we celebrate a 313th birthday because it's ours. And what matters to us doesn't always matter to the rest of the nation. American cars. Physical labor. The middle class. Doing things our parents did.

Is it quaint to celebrate an area code birthday? Maybe. But this is Detroit. We know who we are. In a world of fake bodies, false advertising and anonymous bloggers, isn't that worth a few hundred candles? .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Mitch Albom Archives

© 2014, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS TRIBUNE CONTENT AGENCY, LLC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast