Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 30, 2013/ 23 Menachem-Av, 5773

The age(s) of happiness

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Get this: Happiness among human beings peaks at age 23, tanks at 55, then peaks again at 69.

So says a study by the Center for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics, as reported by the U.K.'s Daily Mail newspaper.

The findings make sense to me.

At 23, you are brimming with life. You are confident your future includes great riches and fame, a lovely wife and a perfect family and home.

As you move along, though, it doesn't take long for the disappointments to begin piling up. The study concludes that most 23-year-olds overestimate their future life satisfaction by about 10 percent — or considerably more than that.

Pretty soon, your life is filled with meanie bosses who are under pressure to turn a profit — that's if you are able to find a job in our stammering economy weighted down by government rules, penalties and costs.

Still, when you're young, you think you have lots of time to figure it out. But, as it turns out, you have way less time than you think.

One day, you're just out of college, trying to extend your active college social life. Pretty soon, your focus shifts to making something of yourself. You are either at work or school all the time.

Before you know it, you are 30. The college kids you were once among now view you as an old-timer. You don't feel old, though. You're still living in Mom and Dad's basement!


And while you try to find your way through your 30s — marriage and children and lots more debt — suddenly, you are 40. How did that happen?

For a few years, you remain calm. You are still somewhat young — still have your dreams to chase.

But as life — which involves speeding tickets, colds, high tax bills, unexpected household expenses and a dizzying mix of highs and lows — takes over, you realize you have little spare time.

And then, you are 50. Good G0D, a half-century? A half-century is supposed to be a long time — but it didn't take so long at all.

Your expectations for the future are not what they once were. You spend less time looking forward and more time looking back.

Your mistakes and regrets come into sharp focus. If only you had done this or that. If you are lucky enough to still have your parents, as I am, you are sad to see what age is doing to them.

You long for your childhood when they were young and strong — when times were simpler, and they surely were if you were lucky enough to grow up in the '70s. (I had a grand time writing and publishing a book about my experience, "Misadventures of a 1970s Childhood.")

You worry about the future more than you ever have. You are wiser and pay attention to the news. You are saddened, even angered, by our country's inability to address its core problems — spending, debt, deficit, money-printing.

You worry about the future that your children and grandchildren will know. Will they live in a country with fewer freedoms, lots more government rules and a perpetually stagnant economy, as is the case in Western Europe?

So it makes sense that one's happiness would tank at 55.

We celebrated my father's 80th birthday on Sunday. He told me that when he hit 50, time took off like a rocket. That makes me cranky, too.

It's going by too fast. I'm not accomplishing enough. My country is not accomplishing enough.

If I can hang on until I'm 69, will my happiness peak again?

I hope so. I hope our country comes to its senses and is able to unleash the ingenuity and prosperity we need to pay for all the promises we have made.

But at 51, I have my doubts, which is troubling — I still have four years to reach my peak crankiness.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2013, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast