Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 8, 2013/ 30 Tamuz, 5773

Hope amid the noise

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I made the mistake of walking away from my computer after hitting "play" on a Youtube video. All of a sudden, the room was filled with hails to ... Satan. This was the comeback from some Wendy Davis fans outside the Texas statehouse to opponents of the Texas legislator's attempts to kill a bill that would restrict some abortions (20 weeks and later) in the state. Given that Davis has become a heroine of our slouch -- if not plunge -- toward a culture comfortable with infanticide denial, the scene was fitting, and, I hope, jarring.

It came during a week that had begun, as they frequently seem to, with unholy exchanges on the Sunday morning talking-heads shows. In between praise to Davis on the various channels, a host asked a congressman how exactly a marriage between a man and a man and a man and a woman would make any difference to a child. Men and women are actually different. And yet we deny it.

These issues we debate are about the most intimate of issues, and we pretend they can somehow be solved by just the right politician or ruling. But there are also some basics we've lost sight of, or have decided that we have to dismiss -- even suppress. We do this as we embrace the pursuit of individual gratification, sometimes at the expense of life and liberty.

Another "hit play" moment came with the latest video from Live Action, a pro-life group that does undercover investigations in abortion clinics. In this video, a doctor explains how they induce labor in a late-term abortion -- "so you will deliver, a stillbirth." An "injection ... stops the heartbeat of the fetus. The doctor calls the multi-day process "hard."

"It's like you're having a baby, basically," the investigator posing as a prospective patient asks.

"Yeah," the doctor replies. "It's intense."



A counselor at the same Albuquerque clinic explains that if the woman doesn't make it back to the clinic in time -- "If we can't catch it early enough, which has happened," she'll want to call the clinic on her cell and "just sit on the toilet. You don't have to look at anything."

That's probably good advice to a woman who is being advised to deliver her dead baby into a toilet. But this isn't something the rest of us can afford to look away from. Whether it's a motel bathroom or a state-of-the-art women's clinic, this is a gravely miserable state of affairs, as we drown in euphemisms about women and health and freedom. Does anyone really think this is healthy?

We can bear these open windows into the grim realities of 40 years of legal, largely unrestricted abortion in the United States because we are also a nation filled with maternity home workers and crisis-pregnancy angels who just want to help women be the mothers they already are.

And we have hope, because people have not quit working to build a culture of life in society and politics. One of the most important events of this year happened under the radar in Rome this past month. Presided over by Pope Francis, young people in Rome prayed for mercy and peace for those touched by abortion, and for the grace to build something better.

Women have a tremendous power. Men and women together do, too. They can create life together, build families together and help societies make sense.

Today, we face a choice between talking about a Texas state senator's pink sneakers or confronting the misery felt by so many of our neighbors. Whatever we believe about religious faith or party politics or even abortion and same-sex marriage, there are alternatives to pretending that there isn't a natural order that can help us make sense of our lives, with, perhaps, a welcome supernatural element, helping make something better plausible.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2013, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast