Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 18, 2013/ 11 Menachem-Av, 5773

The Lone Ranger and Tonto vent

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Do you remember where you were when you heard the news?

I can't recall where I was when I heard it, but I do remember what I thought when I heard that Johnny Depp was going to play Tonto in a new movie about the Lone Ranger.

I don't think I'm rewriting history here when I tell you that I thought it was the silliest casting in Hollywood history. It was wrong on so many levels.

Of course, somebody thought it was inspired casting, just like somebody thought that Tom Cruise was a perfect Jack Reacher.

If "The Lone Ranger" had been a runaway hit, and not a Western of mass destruction, Disney, producer Jerry Bruckheimer, director Gore Verbinski and Depp would be considered geniuses.

But it wasn't, and they're not.

Disney, which thought that "The Lone Ranger" was a sure thing because it was made by the same people who set sail on the "Pirates of the Caribbean" franchise, is going to take a nine-figure loss on "The Lone Ranger."

A nine-figure loss is not a laughing matter. Nobody at Disney is laughing. Nobody who paid to see "The Lone Ranger" is laughing.

As tempting as it is to kick a studio when it's down, I'm not that type of columnist. Therefore, I'll let someone else kick them when they're down.

In this case, I found some very impressive kickers. That's right; I was fortunate to track down the real Lone Ranger and Tonto, and they graciously agreed to stop chasing bad guys long enough to sit down with the Orange County Register to discuss the new movie.



ORANGE COUNTY REGISTER: What did you think when you heard that Johnny Depp was going to play Tonto?

LONE RANGER: I was just hoping that he wasn't going to wear that awful wig that he wore in the movie "Blow."

OCR: Really, that was your first thought?

TONTO: I didn't think it was funny. What happened to diversity in Hollywood? It was Mickey Rooney in "Breakfast at Tiffany's" all over again.

OCR: Other than the fact that Depp is not Native American, what did you think of his performance?

TONTO: He was too funny. I was never that funny. I had a good sense of humor, but we were fighting evil-doers. I don't remember a lot of clowning around in the Old West. Don't believe everything you saw in "Blazing Saddles." Mel Brooks made up a lot of that stuff.

LONE RANGER: I thought Johnny was too short. Tonto is a tall, proud Native American. Johnny is a short, skinny actor with a fake French accent. He looked like a Tonto bobblehead doll.

OCR: Do you give the filmmakers credit for making Tonto more of an equal partner and less of a sidekick?

LONE RANGER: What's wrong with being a sidekick? Where would Johnny Carson have been without Ed McMahon? Where would Han Solo be without Chewbacca? Where would Shrek be without Donkey?

TONTO: Now you're getting silly. Those are animated characters.

LONE RANGER: Do you hate being a sidekick that much?

TONTO: It was a little insulting.

LONE RANGER: Excuse me. I suppose you want to wear a mask, too?

TONTO: Why? Nobody wants to kill me. Everybody likes me.

OCR: What did you think of Armie Hammer playing you?

LONE RANGER: Tall, good-looking, all-American smile. What's not to like?

OCR: So you were happy with his portrayal of you?

LONE RANGER: I didn't say that. He was kind of a dweeb. I'm the Lone Ranger, and he made me look like one of those lame sitcom fathers from the 1950s. Tonto was too smart in the movie.

TONTO: Hey, I resent that. I'm pretty smart.

LONE RANGER: Of course you are, but I'm not as dumb as they made me look. I think they went overboard on being politically correct.

OCR: What did you think of the criminal Butch Cavendish?

TONTO: Who eats hearts in a family movie?

OCR: Some critics complained about an inconsistent tone in the movie.

LONE RANGER: Indian massacres in one scene, slapstick in the next scene. It seemed like they didn't know what kind of a movie they wanted to make.

TONTO: Either make a serious movie about the Lone Ranger or make a spoof. You can't have it both ways.

OCR: Well, at least they got the "William Tell Overture" right.

LONE RANGER: Yeah, but it took two hours to get there. I preferred the TV show, when they opened every show with the theme song.

TONTO: It was the best part of the movie and they buried it. I think they assumed people would still be watching the movie by then.

OCR: Any last thoughts on the movie?

LONE RANGER: Hi-Yo Silver, away.

TONTO: Good one, Kemosabe.

.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Imitation is the sincerest form of filmmaking
Zombie movies you should see before you re-animate
Real Google doesn’t mean real giggles
This summer features a lot of movies with surprise plot twists
Don't let this golden opportunity slip away
Blame the shark for summer-movie madness
Baby boomers still buy tickets
Biopics always have one scene too many
Sneaking into movies not as easy as in old days
Ben Affleck's life is still worth living
The black market for movie raves
The 10 worst movies of 2012
2012's most annoying celebrities
Lindsay Lohan needs to be ignored
Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull
Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast