Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

AT EASE

By Mordechai Schiller


Mordechai Schiller (R) and Dr. Arnold Rist at the Schiller engagement party



Back in November, JWR ran a profile of Dr. Arnold Rist, 65th Armored Infantry Battalion, 20th Armored Division, one of the liberators of the Dachau concentration camp. The article received an unprecedented amount of reader response. And if you didn't read it then, you should now by clicking HERE. (Letters for this living hero still encouraged and can be sent via the link at end of article).

Today, we offer a follow-up to the original article



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | DR. ARNOLD RIST - A.K.A. SERGEANT RIST - recently told me he won't be sounding taps anymore. He's nearing eighty-eight now, bless him.

A few months ago he missed a step and took a bad fall. The head injury he sustained prevents him from blowing the bugle. Unfortunately, they don't give Purple Hearts for head wounds received on the stairs at home.

The "sarge" may have hung up his bugle, but when I finally got to meet him a few weeks ago, I saluted. Then I broke rank and hugged and kissed him.

That happened at the engagement of my son Meir and his bride, Ariella Tendler. Here's how the sarge came to be there.

On November 9, 2011, honoring Veterans' Day, Brooklyn-based HaModia carried my article "Salute to a Liberator," telling the World War II story of Dr. Arnold Rist, then Sergeant Arnold Rist, 65th Armored Infantry Battalion, 20th Armored Division, one of the liberators of the Dachau concentration camp. It was a rare privilege to interview him, albeit over the telephone, and to have the opportunity to express long-overdue gratitude.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". In addition to INSPIRING stories, HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


After he read the first draft, Dr. Rist told me, "Please send me a copy when it's published. I want to send it to my grandchildren ... so they'll know what Grandpa has been doing." He was sent some copies, and the article was "reprinted" online, with permission. Even though the site is called Jewish World Review, it has a large Christian readership - mostly politically conservative supporters of Israel. I was delightfully surprised by the many e-mails I received in response to the article, most of them blessing Sergeant Rist. I printed them out and snail-mailed them to him.

Two of the messages in particular struck me.

A retired lieutenant colonel and professor wrote: This was a great article and I was touched very deeply. I forwarded it to my children and my grandchildren. I also forwarded it to the superintendent of schools in Torrance, California (where I live), and to the principal of our local high school. I urged them to circulate it to all of their staff who teach history, social studies, [and] current affairs.

This week I celebrate my eightieth birthday. I am particularly aware of the Holocaust and the tragic circumstances, including American Jewish inaction, during World War II. I am particularly distressed when Jewish liberals discount the [current] dangers to Jews and to Israel. I am attaching a brief of my experience (I am an Army veteran) and affiliations for your information, to help you evaluate the basis for my praise of this article and the author.

Thank you for writing it and thank you for publishing it. Another wrote: A long time ago a nation sent its strongest across the globe to fight evil where it existed, and won a great victory for humanity. I have taught my children this fact, but our public universities have changed the story on them. So Sergeant Rist's simple testimony takes on urgent importance.

Thank you, Sergeant Rist, for your service and that of your generation. And thank you, Mr. Schiller, for your gifted words.

I sent a note to Dr. Rist with the packet of e-mails, saying, "It was an honor and a privilege to write your story. May you continue to inspire future generations!

My wife and I would love to visit you. Perhaps we can arrange it for one Sunday soon."

A few months later I got a call from Dr. Rist, who told me about his fall and informed me that he would be moving soon from Nanuet, New York, to Florida. Could my wife and I come to see him before he left?

That was two weeks before Passover, and since my son was coming in that week from Jerusalem, where he's in rabbinical seminary, the timing just didn't work out.

After Passover my son became engaged, and the party was scheduled for the next week in Monsey, New York. In the middle of the delightful simchah (joyous) tumult, it hit me: Monsey is right near Nanuet. I searched for Dr. Rist's phone number. Sure enough, he was still in Nanuet.

When I arrived at the party, my future mechutan (in-law), Rabbi Mordechai Tendler, told me there was somebody looking for me. I turned and saw the "sarge" - out of uniform but with a small bugle pin tacked to his suit jacket. I told him it was a great honor for us that he came.

As they say, "One picture is worth a thousand words." I wouldn't have missed that moment for anything, and I am sure the readers share that sentiment.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Mordechai Schiller is a wordsmith and marketing consultant. He wrote this article for America's only daily Jewish newspaper, HaModia.

© 2012, Mordechai Schiller