Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 12, 2012/ 22 Tamuz, 5772

Grading the summer movies . . . so far

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) When you're a kid, the learning stops when the summer vacation begins.

When you're an adult, the learning never stops.

For instance, I've been in school since the beginning of May.

My classroom is a darkened movie theater, but it is a place of learning nonetheless.

Here is what I have learned from this summer movie season ... so far. Obviously, there will be more knowledge gained by the end of the summer movie season, and I'll check back with you then.

You probably should take notes; there might be a pop quiz.


  • There are TWO Hemsworth brothers: I know this isn't going to make me seem very bright, but I thought there was one spectacular Australian stud who was in every big movie of the year. As it turns out, there are two distinct actors, Chris and Liam Hemsworth. I'm not quite as impressed now that I know one guy isn't doing all the work, but each brother has built an impressive portfolio in his own right. This year alone, Chris was in the horror flick "The Cabin in the Woods," reprised his Thor character in the third-biggest-movie of all time, "The Avengers," and now is in the big hit "Snow White and the Huntsman." His younger brother Liam got off to a monstrous start in "The Hunger Games," and next will be seen with Sylvester Stallone and Bruce Willis in "The Expendables 2." Both brothers have a long list of other movies lined up, but you can be assured of one thing — the money has to be divided between TWO people so it won't be as impressive as you think.

  • Sometimes, a dumb-sounding idea really is a dumb idea: I don't know about you, but when I heard that someone was going to make a movie based on the board game "Battleship," I thought it was a joke. You know, like when people talk of a "Titanic" sequel or a musical version of "The Silence of the Lambs." I couldn't figure out how they were going to tie the game to a movie, and sure enough, they couldn't. While the movie made some money in other countries, it sunk in domestic waters.

  • Even Brooklyn Decker can't save bad movies: The Sports Illustrated swimsuit model might not be the next Meryl Streep, but she's certainly fun to look at, particularly if you are of the guy persuasion. Brooklyn appeared in two movies that opened on the same weekend — the aforementioned "Battleship" and the painful "What to Expect When You're Expecting" — and neither yielded impressive numbers. But neither failure was Brooklyn's fault, and I sincerely hope that Hollywood continues to cast her in movies. That is, unless a better-looking supermodel comes along.

  • Never underestimate the expanding Marvel universe: Did we mention that "The Avengers" hit the $1 billion mark in less than two weeks? Five years from now, I'll be saying the same thing about "The Avengers 3."

  • Two rights occasionally make a wrong: To be honest, I wasn't a big fan of the gothic soap opera "Dark Shadows" when it ran on TV in the late 1960s and early 1970s. However, when I heard that Johnny Depp was going to play vampire Barnabas Collins, and the weirdly original filmmaker Tim Burton was going to direct the movie, I got excited. It was going to open the second weekend of the summer, right after "The Avengers," and I thought it might have a chance to separate itself from the pack. I figured "The Avengers" would fade quickly (I also give stock tips for a small fee), and then "Dark Shadows" would take over the box office. I forgot lessons learned in previous summer movie schools — never assume a hit. While the movie started off well, two hours later we were left with a bloodless corpse. It was disappointing in the end.

  • It's never too late to make money: It had been 10 years since the second "Men in Black" movie, and one would have been hard-pressed to find anyone who believed that a third film would ever be made. In 10 years, cast members scatter (or get too expensive), public tastes change and studios go bankrupt. "Men in Black 3" is underperforming compared to "The Hunger Games" and "The Avengers," but with receipts from the international box office, it should make a hefty profit.

  • There is room for Judi Dench in the summer: Everyone assumes that the summer movie season is just one loud kid movie after another, but filmmakers have dared to throw a few quieter, adult-themed films into the summer blender. And the strategy of "counter-programming" is working, most notably with the film "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel," which is holding its own among the blockbusters. And Dench didn't once have to don a superhero costume.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles