Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 5, 2012/ 15 Tamuz, 5772

Readers are angry about TV network practices, too

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) No truer words were ever spoken than those of Ralph Gatto.

"It must be nice to have a column with which to vent your frustrations; the rest of us just have to sit and fume," he wrote after my rant last week against TV networks and their practice of canceling shows before resolving the questions, mysteries and plot points raised when the show debuted.

This week, it's your turn to vent. The response to the column was huge, and here are excerpts:

First, more from Ralph:

"For me, the worst example of a show that left me hanging was "Lost." I feel that show cost me six years of my life. The final outcome was a storyline that the producers denied over the years. Plus, the show left several of the supporting events and storylines completely unexplained. I think they were making it up as they were going along."

Brenda Julian: "Thank you for your article highlighting one of the most annoying aspects of TV watching. This has happened so many times to shows I have really enjoyed. I have fond — NOT! — memories of the show "Las Vegas" being canceled with a major cliff left hanging. Same way with the old shows "Invasion" and "Surface." Canceled after their 1st season; both with cliffhangers (although I got my revenge when a couple in Costco was going to buy the DVD of "Invasion."I told them not to bother as it had no ending and they didn't)."

Callie Smith: "You absolutely hit it on this. My frustration is with the new program that suckers you in ("Revenge," "Lost," etc.) and then without notice goes on hiatus. When "Lost" was on, I completely stopped watching until the final 2 episodes out of frustration for being jerked around for years. Is this the new format? Why then get involved? By the way, we wondered where "Alcatraz" went?"

Ed Smith: "Thanks for venting some of my same sentiments. "A Gifted Man" — gone. "Awake" — canceled. "Unforgettable" — canceled. "Harry's Law" — supposedly canceled last year but resurrected, only to be canceled this year? Time to turn off the TV and start watching movies?"

Mike Gibson: "Another column I can agree with. I started "Missing" with Ashley Judd and when she kicked the crap out of all the guys, I thought this would be a show I would love. Instead, after the second episode I realized she would be looking for her son each week and would not find him until the end of the season. Never watched it again. I liked "Alcatraz" for one or two episodes only because I just visited the island last month. Stopped that one after two episodes too. "Awake" only lasted one week with me. Never saw "The River" but really liked "Unforgettable." "

Terry Crow: "Your points about TV shows being canceled without notice, leaving its viewers up in the air, are very well taken. There are TV shows which play its audience as suckers, the most glaring example is "Lost." I always had the feeling that the writers of that show had no resolution in mind, just wanted to keep working. I kept expecting the "Killer Klowns From Outer Space" to show up. It is especially egregious that (the cancellation of "Unforgettable") was done by CBS, which I am sure has the overall ratings to absorb any show which is not performing up to expectations without really affecting its bottom line."

Reggie: "That is the reason I do not watch network TV. I watch TV series on Netflix, if the series completes its plot. I check the Internet comments to check if other viewers were satisfied. Otherwise, I don't even watch the series on Netflix. And you wonder why people are dropping out of broadcast networks."

Mrs. Geggie: "I join you in the "obscene gestures" club. Almost all of those TV shows you listed were my favorites. Love Poppy Montgomery in any role, so who killed her sis, and why? For "Awake", like you, I think he's in a coma but I think his wife and son are both alive, not dead, and (are) trying to "reach" him (the eternal optimist in me)."

AJ Aguilar: "Barry, Barry, Barry! Boy, did you hit the nail on the head! When I heard about the cancellation of three of the shows you mentioned — "Missing," "The River" and "Unforgettable" — various family members ran into the room wondering why I was literally screaming 'Noooooooo!' at my computer screen."

Jan and Skip Parenteau: "My husband and I have had this conversation so many times. We DVR a lot of shows and have noticed that as time goes by we are taping less and less network shows. Of course, the reason being is we have so often been disappointed when quality shows are dropped in favor of shows that are to put it lightly "just plain dumb." Two of the better quality shows that were axed in recent years were "Detroit 1-8-7" and "The Chicago Code." We were very vested in both of those shows to be oh so disappointed at their demise. At some point, I feel that we will only be watching cable as their requirements for keeping a show on the air are much less and they always seem to "wrap" their shows when they end."

Duane J.: "You're not the only one who hates that when one gets involved in a continuing story, it ends before it can be completed. At least the TV (network could) tell the producers a few weeks before so they can rewrite the ending. I know they tape in advance but they would still be taping the last few episodes."

William Hepner: "Enjoyed reading your article. However, the article does not explain the reasoning behind their actions. I talked with an executive whom will remain nameless a couple of years ago about their actions. Here in a nutshell is his explanation. 'As a business, we must go for the money. We hire TV audience polling people and they report back how many watchers we have that comprises the age group of the buying population that spends the most money and that means the under 30 group.' The under 30 group does not wish to be entertained but kept up on gossip about everything that happens. They also are into the shows like "American Idol," "Real Housewives of New Jersey" and the like. They are the ones who are most guided by the Internet and rumors.'"

Marti Switzler: "What about "The Finder?" I liked that show, which left us with every character hanging off a cliff."

Delaura Kurkowski: "I couldn't agree with you more! In fact I was so mad, I actually wrote an email to NBC today before I read your article and it's creepy how my letter mirrored your article. Just wish it could make a difference."

Jon Holmberg: "Wow, you were right on in your column today. First of all, my wife and I were a bit ticked off that 'Unforgettable' was canceled as it was one of our favorite shows, and then to read that 'Awake' was also canceled encouraged a couple of obscene gestures from us! We both agree that it is really upsetting when you don't get closure on a show and we could only assume that both of these counted on being renewed for next year. This isn't the first time this kind of thing has happened, and I'm sure it probably won't be the last but it really does tend to leave a bad feeling about how the television folks run their business."

Doranna Cooper: "This has to be one of the best articles I have ever read. The problem is that some of next year's new shows will not be any better than the ones they have canceled this year. I thought that (NCIS: Los Angeles") took a long time to get off the ground, and there were even choppy parts to "Hawaii Five-O." Apparently, the creators of those shows were allowed some time to build."

Michele Cruz: "So loved your article, and totally agree with you. I'm giving them the obscene gesture right now. They are idiots. Would you please pass that along to them for me?"

Consider it done.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles