Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 9, 2012/ 19 Tammuz, 5772

Enough with marriage Hollywood style

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If I were king of the world, I would insist on a moratorium for Hollywood marriages: no talking about them until their 10th anniversary. No photos. No magazine covers. No gossip page items. No selling the video rights.

Actors, rock stars, famous celebrities, reality TV show participants -- all would be forced to wed quietly and privately with no media attention whatsoever.

In other words, like most people's marriages.

You know what?

Few would bother.

In Hollywood, if you remove the attention, you remove much of the intention. From the days when movie studios conveniently arranged actors' romances, the sincerity of the Hollywood couple has been largely a sham.

Like publicity, in Hollywood, there's no such thing as a bad love affair -- as long as it gets coverage. What baffles me is how people keep falling for it. Come on. How many Charlie Sheens do you need?

This is why I would issue my moratorium. No talk shows. No jumping on Oprah's couch. No stories about canoodling at the Cannes film festival. No tweets or Facebook posts. No "People" covers.

Think of all the paper we would save!

All of this comes to mind in the wake of last week's news that Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes are divorcing. This is the same Tom Cruise who jumped on Oprah's furniture and insisted loudly, "I'm in love!" while the crowd roared as if he were throwing them mortgage payments.

This is the same Katie Holmes who, around the same time, gushed through a "W magazine" interview: "I've found the man of my dreams" and "It just felt like I'd known him forever" and "Tom and I will always be in our honeymoon phase."

For all that noise, you'd have thought they'd be in love for eternity. Instead, their marriage lasted six years. True, that's considerably longer than Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries (72 days), Dennis Rodman and Carmen Electra (nine days) or Britney Spears and Jason Alexander (three days) -- but it still falls short of a 10-year minimum.

Which means, in my wonderful make-believe world, we never would have heard about them. Never would have endured the breathless gushing over their "TomKat" love, never would have wasted verbal energy over his sexuality, or whether their daughter was truly his, or whether she liked Scientology. They would still be four years away from a single news story.

Oh, the bliss.

This is not to say some folks in Hollywood don't have true love or strong marriages. They do. Which is why, after 10 years, we could bring them into the light. Throw a party. Celebrate the longevity.

Until then, blackout. All three of Jennifer Lopez's marriages? Never heard of them. Both of Madonna's? No mention. Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston? Sorry. Fell five years short.

Pamela Anderson's three trips to the altar? Never heard a peep. Same for Drew Barrymore's. Only one of Elizabeth Taylor's eight marriages would make the cut, and only one of Zsa Zsa Gabor's nine.

A world where we didn't report on celebrity marriage and divorce would not only be quieter, it might be healthier. Watching the way a new Hollywood love affair is worshipped by our infatuated media can make regular folks wonder why they don't feel that way about their partner, who somehow lacks the youth, physique or cheekbones of the person they see on TV.

Likewise, when the split up occurs -- so quickly and so often with gushing sympathy -- it may make people question why they should bother sticking it out in their own relationships. Heck, we might wonder, if there's someone always out there for Woody Allen, isn't there someone for me, too?

If nothing else, think of the time we'd save. Six years ago, you couldn't go anywhere without the bombardment of Cruise and Holmes as Romeo and Juliet; now, for months to come, it will be the same over their split. And in the end, it's just another failed relationship -- where kids end up the victims.

Seems to me, if we're going to turn the bright lights on anything, it ought to be the successes. Which is why I offer my fantasy. Ten years. Minimum.

Until then, no attention.

And if celebrities are thinking, "Gee, that sounds like a long, tough challenge," congratulations. You've just had your first insight into what real marriage -- not the kind that lasts as long as a flashbulb -- is all about.



Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles