Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 4, 2011/ 2 Tamuz, 5771

My Father's Flag

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We got my father a tall flagpole for his birthday a decade or more ago, shortly after he and my mother moved into a new house.

He mounted the pole in concrete in the center of his front yard. It proudly displays the American flag every year as I pull into his driveway on July 4.

My father has always taken the flag seriously.

He is going to be 78 this month. He was born during the Great Depression. As a boy, he was immersed in patriotism as our country rallied to defeat mighty foes during World War II.

He was drafted at the tail end of the Korean War and served for two years. When he returned home, America was an optimistic place.

He and my mother would marry and have six children. He would work very hard and watch his country, and his family, blossom -- blossom in a manner beyond his wildest dreams.

His country flourished so well that he, a "phone-company" employee, was able to retire at 59. He's enjoyed retirement for nearly 20 years now.

Inherent in the affection and seriousness my father holds for the American flag is the sense that our country has been like no other.

It truly has been a place when any man can make of himself almost anything.

It took only a few hundred years for our principles of individual liberty and free enterprise to produce the most prosperous and successful country in history.

Our freedoms have unleashed massive creativity and innovation that have made our daily lives so much better and easier.

So successful has our exceptional country been that many have had the luxury of taking for granted the origin of our wealth and success -- liberty.

That is what the Fourth of July is all about. Some truly enlightened people risked everything they had to fight for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

Liberty sure has worked out well for us -- maybe too well?

Have we become so wealthy, our current economic mess notwithstanding, that millions have no sense at all how of exceptional our country has been or how hard it is to maintain the freedoms that are essential to our continued prosperity?

At baseball games when my father was young, most everybody stood at attention when the national anthem was played. Hats came off and right hands covered hearts as every person in the stadium turned with gratitude and respect toward the American flag.

What do you see now?

Way too many people giggling and yapping on their cell phones. The serious affection that my father, and so many of his generation, hold for the flag and for the national anthem has been waning for a long time.

Is this not a reflection of too many lacking serious affection for their country?

The Declaration of Independence says: "Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers from the Consent of the Governed …"

If the governed are lazy and sloppy and unserious, won't they produce a government that is lazy and sloppy and unserious?

Isn't that the government we have right now?

How on Earth we are going to get our spending under control and stave off a real catastrophe is keeping me up nights. It is worrying my father, too -- he wonders what kind of country his kids and grandkids will be left with.

It consoles me to know that his flag will be hanging majestically above his front yard as I pull into his driveway on the Fourth every year.

It fills me with hope that, despite our challenges, we will find our way forward yet again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles