Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 26, 2011 / 24 Tamuz, 5771

Dog Days for PETA

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, heck. I wasn't in Washington, D.C., a week ago and missed the Lettuce Ladies.

You see, July, according to the National Hot Dog and Sausage Council, is National Hot Dog Month.

It's when we pay homage to the 7 billion delicious dogs we'll eat between Memorial Day and Labor Day this year.

But People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) is none too happy about that.

Every July, PETA sends babes clad in bikinis made from lettuce leaves to Capitol Hill, where they promote vegetarian dogs.

As the bikini babes mesmerize congressional members and staffers, PETA folks chat them up.

According to peta.org, they're told that "pigs suffer on factory farms and that flesh-based hot dogs contain noses, toes, anuses, and other 'undesirable' body parts."

Sounds like a Harry Potter recipe.

Sounds mighty tasty, too -- so long as it's all ground up, stuffed into a sausage casing, grilled to perfection and washed down with ice-cold beer.

PETA says "meat not only causes life-threatening health conditions and animal suffering, but also greenhouse-gas emissions, water pollution, and land degradation."

And that "sexy vegetarians are living proof that kicking the meat habit is a great way to stay fit, trim, and energetic!"

That may be true, but another way to stay fit, trim and energetic is to stay a 21-year-old bikini babe.

Still, I have to give PETA credit for its strategy.

In the old days, PETA had a reputation as a nutty organization best known for extreme activities.

Though a spokesperson told me PETA never sponsored spray-painting of fur coats, bombing of animal-testing labs or throwing of tofu pies at public figures, PETA supporters were associated with such acts, and much of America viewed the lot of them as the nuts they were.

They've gotten smarter.

Instead of hammering away directly at their agenda -- to stop all meat eating, slaughter and animal research -- they've shifted their focus to something nearer and dearer to our hearts: impotence.

PETA says eating meat clogs arteries, which weakens all organs. It created billboards displaying a bikini babe holding a plate of sausages and saying, "I threw a party but the cattlemen couldn't ..."

In any event, though I missed the Lettuce Ladies this year, their annual outing seems to be losing its oomph.

This year's Lettuce Ladies included "Sexiest Vegetarian Next Door" winner Kate Veltkamp and runner-up Udara Perera -- attractive lasses, judging by their photos.

But the Lettuce Ladies I'd met included two former Playboy models, who generated lots more press.

I was smitten by the curvaceous Julie McCullough, a former Playmate of the Year, who said she'd do anything -- anything -- to discourage eating meat, including running naked down the street to raise funds for the effort.

A UPI photographer next to me nearly fainted -- a portly Reuters reporter began to shake -- but I maintained my composure.

I asked her if she took credit cards.

Perhaps it's a sign of our troubled times that fewer folks seem interested in PETA and its Lettuce Ladies this year -- media coverage was minimal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles