Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 1, 2011 / 29 Sivan, 5771

New(er) realm of digital photography offers challenges, insights

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This was supposed to be a column about a personal triumph: finding a spot along Chocorua Lake, located in the east-central New Hampshire town of Tamworth, and snapping off some wonderful shots of this glistening lake and its reflection of the sky and nearby Mount Chocorua.

It wasn't to be. My shots were horribly overexposed. I might find a way to fix them, but I'm not holding my breath. A return trip to the White Mountain watershed area is, clearly, in order.

Or not: ironically, my wife's iPhone 4 caught a great shot. Go figure.

My Chocorua misadventure aside, I've enjoyed a lot of good photography during a swing through New England. From Newport, Rhode Island, up along the Massachusetts coastal towns aside Cape Ann, on through Ipswich and into New Hampshire. Caught some interesting sights with the camera, and I learned a few things.

First, I learned how well, generally, the photos produced by the Canon EOS Rebel T2i can turn out. I bought the Canon at the end of 2011, ending about eight years of Nikon loyalty. (Canon has since brought out the Rebel T3i, which adds an "articulating," or fold-out, LCD display panel, among other features.)

The "kit" I purchased has two lenses, 18-55 mm and 55-250 mm, giving a great range of zoom options for the rank amateur that I am, picture-wise. The camera is also very fast, up to 3.7 frames-per-second, which is great in situations where one wants to take a bunch of photos for a particular need. (Taking a whole bunch of pictures at, say, a speech or other public event, is a good way to ensure you end up with a range of usable shots from which to choose.) The camera shoots 18-megapixel images, at a resolution of 72 dots-per-inch. Though that latter number seems low, the image size this camera produces has been more than satisfactory for publication in a glossy-paper magazine.

For the money, about $749 at Amazon.com with just the 18-55 mm lens, the Rebel T2i represents an excellent value. If you really want the fold out LCD, spend an extra $100 and get the Rebel T3i. For now, Canon has won me over, something I expect to continue feeling as my studies in photography progress.

One important footnote: if you're going to do an extended amount of shooting, invest about $200 in an extra battery and the Canon BG-E8 Battery Grip, itself $133 at Amazon.com. The grip not only adds heft to the camera, it allows you to load two Canon batteries, and has a holder for eight "AA" size batteries if you're in a pinch. It's one of the most worthwhile accessories a dedicated photographer can have, in my opinion.

It also pays to have a good polarizing filter on your camera, especially when the sun is strong, the very helpful gentleman at the Camera Corner in Rockport, Mass., a charming fishing town still home to many lobstermen, said, and he was right. But not just any polarizer will do; the filter must be compatible with the optics and electronics of digital cameras. The Rodenstock HR Digital filter he suggested made an immediate difference in my shooting that sunny day, and even if the item retails for $135, it's worth it.

Once you've shot your pictures, Mac users will delight in Apple's iPhoto '11, the latest iteration of the firm's basic image manipulating and cataloging software, part of the iLife '11 suite, list price $49. iPhoto is supremely easy to use, has many editing tools as well as one-click features to allow you to quickly improve images, and offers uploading to Facebook, Flickr and MobileMe, the latter soon to become iCloud. This software has many likeable features, and is a good beginner's package.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2011, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles