Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 30, 2010 / 19 Menachem-Av, 5770

When an upgrade perhaps isn't

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For most of the 27-plus years that I've reviewed computer products (going back to a 1983-vintage AT&T-branded desktop with, woo-hoo, a 10 Megabyte hard drive), it's been my operating philosophy that newer is generally better. If Microsoft Windows version 1.0, circa 1986, was interesting, then 2.0 had to improve, and so forth - until, of course, the late, non-lamented Windows Vista blew that theory away.

Comes now a wireless inkjet printer from Hewlett-Packard that should, by rights, be vastly better than its predecessors. It is very, very good, but it falls down on a couple of points.

The product is the HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless All-In-One Printer, which lists for $488 but can be found at retail for around $250. It's billed as a printer for sophisticated home-office or small business users, thanks to the duplex (double-sided) printing that's built in, a 50-sheet document feeder and print speeds which begin at 15 pages-per-minute for monochrome and 11 ppm for color printing. "Laser quality at an inkjet price" is the mantra here.

And, by and large, that mantra holds: the printing is very, very good, sharp and virtually indistinguishable from a laser printer's output. The printer's wireless 802.11g networking is quite fine, so far as it goes.

So why am I ambivalent? I have memories - and, sadly, only memories, of another HP printer reviewed in these pages about a year ago, the HP Photosmart C6380, definitely a consumer model, but at the time selling for around $150 retail - and now available at Amazon.com for roughly half that, or $79.99. This may rank as the bargain of the century, but more on that in a minute.

Not having the C6380 at hand - it was donated to charity when we moved homes recently - I can only speculate, but it seems, and quite strongly, that the scanning feature on that printer worked wirelessly, something that doesn't seem possible on the OfficeJet 8500. (A quick Internet search revealed other reports users scanning wirelessly via 802.11, or Wi-Fi, connections, so it appears I'm not going batty yet.)

No such luck with the 8500. And, granted, I haven't tried every possible configuration in order to make that work. But, then, with the C6380, wireless scanning worked out of the box.

Another feature that would be nice on the OfficeJet 8500 would be a little pass-through feeder for single, letter-sized envelopes. Other inkjets have had this feature, why not the 8500? Instead, opening the paper tray, removing the letter-sized paper, and setting up for envelope printing is a chore and, frankly, a pain.

On the plus sice, along with the C6380, the OfficeJet 8500 has both an LCD display screen for various menu functions, as well as card slots for various types of memory cards from which photos can be downloaded and printed without using a computer. I do wish the card reader would channel back to the computer wirelessly, but that's another matter.

To be fair, my wireless issues vis-a-vie scanning and the like could be solved were I to connect the printer to my desktop computer via a USB cable. Of course, that would also negate the "wireless" part of the product, wouldn't it?

So I'll confess to being at a bit of a crossroads. I want to like the HP OfficeJet 8500 more than I do, especially since its "street" price is about three times that of the still-on-sale HP Photosmart C6380. Then again, if further wireless tinkering doesn't avail, I'll either spring for a cable or perhaps fork over the now-bargain price of $79.99 to get the old Photosmart back.

Unless, of course, I find a better solution.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles